Cancellation or non-renewal of your policy
Missouri law provides that any private passenger automobile policy that has been in effect for 60 days must be continued for the duration of the policy, without being canceled, except for the following reasons:
- Suspension or revocation of the driver's license of the person named in the policy, unless there is more than one named insured in the policy.
- Non-payment of premium.
- The law also provides that you must receive written notice and an explanation 30 days before your policy is canceled or not renewed.
If you are refused automobile insurance, you must be sent a written explanation. Such notice must also provide information about the availability of the Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan and its coverage for drivers/commercial who cannot find regular coverage.
Any premium refund due you must be paid promptly by the company.
Note: Missouri law requires that insurance companies or their agents may not ask you:
- If you have been cancelled by an automobile insurance company previously.
- If you have previously been refused automobile insurance.
- If your automobile insurance has not been renewed previously.