Resident Agent/Producer Licensing
- License Application & Requirements
- Maintaining your new resident license
- Types of Licenses
- Examination Information
In order to qualify as a Missouri resident insurance producer, you must satisfy the following requirements:
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License in one of two ways:
- Pass the appropriate license examination.
- If the applicant has held a resident insurance producer’s license in another state within the past 90 days, the producer’s examination may be waived. Contact MO DIFP - Insurance for details.
- Each resident producer may renew the biennial license within 60 days of the current expiration date.
- Resident producers must submit proof of continuing education (go to 4.A.1) by the expiration date.
Repirements for maintaining your resident insurance producer license in Missouri:
- You must satisfy continuing education requirements.(go to 4.A.1)
- You must notify MO DIFP - Insurance of an address change, (go 3.A) etc. within 30 days of such change.
- Sections 375.141.6 and 375.141.7, RSMo Cum. Supp. 2005, require that insurance producers licensed in this state report to the director within thirty (30) days any administrative action taken against the producer in another jurisdiction or by another governmental agency in this state, or any criminal prosecution for a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude taken in any jurisdiction. The report shall include a copy of the indictment or information filed, the order resulting from the hearing and any other relevant legal documents.
Missouri DIFP - Insurance grants the following types of licenses. Choose the examinations that will qualify you for the licenses you desire.
Licenses Requiring an Examination:
- Life *
- Accident and Health *
- Property *
- Casualty *
- Personal Lines *
- Crop Only
- Title Only
- Prepaid Legal
Licenses Not Requiring an Examination:
- Variable Contracts
- Restricted to Credit
*May be taken as individual examinations or in combined examinations of Life, Accident and Health, or Property, Casualty and Allied Lines.
Variable contracts producers must have a life producer license, but no separate exam is required.
- Candidate Handbook - The Candidate Handbook is available online from the Pearson Vue website at: http://www.pearsonvue.com/
- Content Outline - The examination content outlines are available online from the Pearson Vue website at: http://www.pearsonvue.com/
- Exam Fees - Major line combination exams will cost $51 and Limited Line/Single exams will cost $41.
- Exam Registration and Scheduling - To register or schedule an examination, candidates should:
- Online Exam Registrations - access the Pearson Vue website http://www.pearsonvue.com/ 24 hours a day
- Fax Registration Forms - fax registration forms to 888-204-6291
- Contact Pearson Vue staff - call 888-274-4740
- Exam Administrations - Examinations will be given in various locations throughout Missouri as well as the country as described on the Pearson Vue website at:http://www.pearsonvue.com/
Normal Pearson Vue policies and procedures including exam cancellation and rescheduling timelines will apply. Please consult the Pearson Vue website at: http://www.pearsonvue.com/ for the official Candidate Handbook and the most up-to-date information of this program implementation.
Examination Study Materials/Schools
The Examination Content Outlines are the basis for the examinations.
NOTE: Missouri does not have a pre-licensing education requirement. Neither Missouri DIFP – Insurance nor Pearson Vue specifically endorses any particular study material or school.
Submit the Producer renewal in one of two ways: