Any individual or entity performing, offering to perform or advertising any service as a navigator in this state, or receiving navigator funding from the state or an exchange must be licensed as a navigator by the department per section 376.2002 RSMo.

To qualify for an individual navigator license, you must satisfy these requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Reside in Missouri or maintain a principal place of business in Missouri.
  • Not be disqualified for having committed any act that would be grounds for refusal to issue, renew, suspend or revoke an insurance producer license.
  • Successfully pass the examination. The candidate handbook and course content may be found on this same website and may be used to prepare for the exam.
  • When applicable, have the written consent of the director of the Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance under 18 U.S.C. ยง1033 or any successor statute regulating crimes by or affecting persons engaged in the business of insurance whose activities affect interstate commerce.
  • Have identified the entity with which he or she is affiliated and supervised.
  • Have paid the fees prescribed by the director.

Apply or Renew Your Individual or Entity License

Verify and Print Your License

To check the license of a navigator or a producer, click here.

Some tips on using the Licensee Look-up Database

  • Select individual or entity in the "Licensee Type" pull-down menu.
  • Enter the name of the navigator or agent or name of the business entity in the corresponding fields.
  • Use the "License Type" pull-down to select "navigator" or "producer" for an insurance agent.
  • Click "submit" as the bottom of the screen to generate your search results.

Navigator Continuing Education Requirements

  • Federal Certified Marketplace Navigator or equivalent (Certified Application Counselor, In-Person Assister or Health Center Outreach and Enrollment Assistance Worker)+3 hours of ethics per 20CSR 400-11.120(2)(C)and(D)
  • 12 hours of instruction, 3 of which must be ethics per 20 CSR 400-11.120(2)(A) and (B)

Navigator Continuing Education Forms

Navigator Continuing Education Courses (by provider):

A.D. Banker
-- go to
-- click on “Continuing Education” in the header
-- under “Choose your state:”, select Missouri
-- under “Choose your method of study:”, you may choose any of the methods.
-- choose any courses with Navigator in the "type" column.
If you have questions, please contact A.D. Banker at 1-800-866-2468.

Navigator Continuing Education courses that may be taken towards the ethics and Missouri law requirement can be found using the Continuing Education Provider Lookup (Click on Approved Courses Inquiry)
-- choose “Ethics/Suitability, Missouri Law, Duties/Obligations to the Department (EL)”
-- choose the type of method of training wanted (Note: ethics courses are not available in every type of method)
-- click the “Search” button
-- the list of on-screen providers will contain links to their approved ethics courses on the far right
-- a licensee will need to contact the provider to schedule taking a particular course

Navigator Licensing Laws

Section 376.2000-2014 RSMo

Navigator Regulations