April 11, 2018

Missouri insurance regulator recognized with national IRES Award

Angela Nelson named 2018 Paul DeAngelo Memorial Teaching Award Recipient

Jefferson City, Mo – The Missouri Department of Insurance announced that Angela Nelson, director of the Division of Market Regulation and Chief Industry Liaison, is the 2018 recipient of the Paul DeAngelo Memorial Teaching Award given by the Insurance Regulatory Examiners Society (IRES) Foundation.

"This award is reserved for the top insurance regulators in the country," said Department Director Chlora Lindley-Myers. "Market conduct activities provide important consumer protections and are essential to maintaining a competitive insurance market. Angela’s knowledge and expertise in market conduct are a true asset to our department and our state, as is her support of ongoing education. We are pleased she has received this national recognition."

The Paul L. DeAngelo Memorial Teaching Award in Recognition of Excellence in Insurance Education was created by the IRES Foundation and presented to the family of Mr. DeAngelo in 2001. The IRES Foundation bestows this award annually in memory of Mr. DeAngelo to honor an insurance regulator or former regulator who has distinguished himself/herself in the field of insurance education and training.

Nelson has been a member of IRES since 2014 and is an active faculty presenter for the IRES Foundation School and IRES CDS and webinars, as well as other insurance organizations. She holds an MBA, AMCM and FHIAS.

She started with Department of Insurance in 2002 and became the Director of Market Regulation in 2012. Nelson led her division’s recovery efforts following the Joplin tornado and, through those efforts, recovered an additional $19.2 million in 2011, a record amount.

IRES was established in 1987 as a nonprofit organization of professional insurance regulators, who are dedicated to consumer protection. It works to enhance the efforts of insurance regulators by ensuring professionalism and integrity among the men and women who serve with state or federal insurance regulatory bodies.