Non-Resident Producer Licensing Application & Requirements
To qualify as a Missouri nonresident insurance agent, you must satisfy the following requirements:
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License in one of two ways:
- Application for 1033 waiver
- If applying by mail, submit a $100 application fee. Fee may be paid by check or money order, made payable to DIFP – Insurance.
- A Certification Letter from the producer’s home state is not required. License status will be verified through PDB.
- Applicants who currently hold a resident license in Missouri need to notify our office of a change of address on the Change of Producer Status form. A new application and fee are not necessary.
Veterans reimbursement for licensing exams
Veterans taking a state licensing examination required by the department can be reimbursed for the cost of the exam. Click here to learn more about exam reimbursement for veterans.
- Each nonresident producer may renew the license biennially within 90 days of their current expiration date.
- Nonresident producers must send a $100 biennial license fee by the expiration date. A Certification Letter from the agent’s home state is not required. License status will be verified through PDB as proof of continuing education compliance (PDB Participating State Report at https://www.nipr.com/html/nrlHomeStates.html).