Insurance Bail Bond / Surety Recovery Licensing FAQs

How can I determine if I am qualified to apply for a bail bond, general bail bond, or surety recovery agent license?

Pages 3-5 of the bail bond / surety recovery agent application (MO375-0112) provides qualification information.

Can I still get a license if I have a criminal conviction?

You are not automatically disqualified from obtaining a license if you have a criminal
record. On the application for a license, there are specific instructions about the information to provide about your criminal record on the conviction.

How do I schedule the 24 hours of initial basic training?

Contact one of the Insurance-approved initial basic training providers. You must submit an application to Insurance to apply for your license within one year of completing the initial basic training.

How do I apply to take an examination?

Contact Pearson VUE for the Licensing Information Bulletin, which contains step-by-step instructions and an outline of the examination.

Pearson VUE
Missouri Insurance
P.O. Box 8588
Philadelphia, PA 19101-8588
866-274-4740

pearsonvue.com

Pearson VUE will notify the department of your examination results.You must apply for for your license to Insurance within one year of passing the examination. The exam scores are not valid after one year.

As a veteran, can I be reimbursed for the cost of a licensing exam required by the department?

Yes. Veterans taking a state licensing examination required by the department can be reimbursed for the cost of the exam. Click here to learn more and see which licensing exams are eligible for reimbursement.

I have a license in another state. As a non-resident, can I apply for a bail bond or surety recovery agent license in Missouri?

Pages 3 – 5 of the bail bond / surety recovery application provides non-resident qualification information. You may contact the Licensing Section for additional information.

Must I be fingerprinted prior to applying for a license?

Yes. 3M/Cogent is the current contracted vendor for fingerprinting as of July 1, 2012. All applicants needing to be fingerprinted with 3M/Cogent must first register with the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) Fingerprint Portal at machs.mo.gov. To ensure that you are properly fingerprinted, you must refer to DIFP's insurance registration number 2955.

I am applying for a bail bond agent license. Must I work under the authority of a Missouri licensed general bail bond agent?

Yes. You must provide the name, license number, and signature of the general bail bond agent under whose authority you will be working on your application.

When I am licensed as a bail bond agent, will I be authorized to write bonds and engage in fugitive recovery (bounty hunting)?

Yes.

I am applying for a surety recovery agent license. Must I work under the authority of a Missouri licensed general bail bond agent?

No. 

When I am licensed as a surety recovery agent, will I be authorized to write bail bonds and engage in fugitive recovery (bounty hunting)?

No. As a licensed surety recovery agent, you will be authorized to engage in fugitive recovery only. You will not be authorized to write bail bonds.

How do I renew my license?

Insurance will send a renewal notice to you about 60 days before your bail bond, general bail bond, or surety recovery agent license expires. The renewal notice will provide instructions for completing a renewal application and continuing education. Your renewal is due on or before the expiration of your license. Licenses will terminate if complete renewal documents are not received by the expiration date.

How do I renew my license after it has expired?

You may late renew your license by completing the renewal application, complying with all instructions found on pages 2 and 3 of the application, completing and reporting eight hours of continuing education, and paying a $25 per month late fee, in addition to your $150 renewal fee. Fee may be paid by check or money order made payable to DIFP Insurance.

How do I meet my continuing education requirements?

All resident and non-resident bail bond, general bail bond, and surety recovery agents are required to complete and report 8 hours of continuing education at the time of their biennial renewal. The continuing education hours must be reported on a Bail Bond Agent, General Bail Bond Agent and Surety Recovery Agent Continuing Education Certification Summary form.

My name or address changed.  What do I need to do?

All changes or corrections to your name, address, or SSN must be submitted by the bail bond, general bail bond, or surety recovery agent in writing. Changes must be reported to Insurance within 30 days on the proper change of status form.

My license got destroyed.  How do I get a new copy?

If your license is lost or destroyed, or if you need a corrected license, you must make a written request (please include your name, residential address, mail address, SSN or license number, signature, and a postage-paid envelope) and submit a $10 fee. Fee may be paid by check or money order made payable to DIFP Insurance.

How do I pay my fees?

You may pay your fees with either:

Fee may be paid by check or money order made payable to DIFP Insurance.

How do I contact the Licensing Section?

First-class mail:

Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration
P.O. Box 690 (or P.O. Box 4001 for correspondence with fees)
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Legal address:
301 W. High St., Room 530
Jefferson City, MO 65101

573-751-3518

E-mail us