

Company Name:

Lead Form # as it appears in SERFF:

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.

		Cription of Provisions for Personal Auto Filings ance (TOI) codes applicable to 19.0 and 30.0	
Review Requirements	Reference	Comments	Location in Contract (page and section #) If Applicable

	Filing Requirements			
Filing Fees	<u>374.230 (6) RSMo</u>	Filings can now be funded through EFT. The general filing fee is \$150.00 per line, for each company. As long as the filing is still open, EFT payment can be submitted.		
Applications	20CSR500-2.100(1) & <u>303.190(6)(4)</u> <u>RSMo</u>	All applications for insurance are extensions of the contract and must be filed		
Required Policy Reporting—Fines Assessed	<u>303.026 RSMo.</u>	Insurers must report policy information once a month to the <u>Dept. of Revenue</u>		

Forms

		FOILIS	
Application	20CSR500-2.300 375.936 RSMo 375.007 RSMo	Prohibits insurers asking applicants if they have ever been cancelled or non-renewed by prior insurer	
Cancel/non- renew/refusal to write—Mailing requirement	<u>379.118 RSMo</u>	Notice of cancellation/non-renewals must be mailed by certificate of mailing; notices or refusal to write must be mailed by certified mail or certificate of mailing	
Cancel/non- renew/refusal to write—Notice of	<u>379.118 RSMo</u> & <u>379.120 RSMo</u>	Company must give 30 day notice	
Cancel/non- renew/refusal to write—Reasons	379.118 RSMo & 379.120 RSMo	Reasons for the cancellation/nonrenewal shall be clear and specific	
Cancel/non- renew—Grounds for	<u>379.114 RSMo</u>	Insurer may only cancel for nonpayment of premium or if driver's license is suspended or revoked	
	<u>379.116 RSMo</u>	Insurers are allowed to cancel or refuse to write those insureds/applicants with suspended or revoked licenses	

SERFF TOI codes 19.0 and 30.0

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



http://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/AutoPersChklist.php

Cancel/refuse to			
insure—			
Suspended license			
Renewal –	379.118 RSMo	Company must give notice at least 15 days prior to the	
Reduction of	<u>379.110 KSIMO</u>	effective date of new policy	
Coverage			
Unfair	375,936(11)(c)(d)(e)(f)	Cannot refuse to issue, refuse to renew, cancel or limit	
Discrimination	RSMo	the amount of insurance due to geographic location,	
Biooninination		age of residential property, gender or marital status of	
		the individual, or because another insurer has refused	
		to issue a policy or has cancelled an existing policy	
Claim Reporting	20 CSR 100-	Insurer cannot deny claim for failure of insured to	
	1.020(1)(D)	provide notice of claim within a specified time frame	
Driver Exclusions	303.190(3) RSMo	Members of the insured's household may be excluded	
	<u>303.190(3) IX300</u>	members of the insured's nousehold may be excluded	
Form filings—	20 CSR 500-4.100	Filings must be received by MDI within 10 days of the	
effective date		effective date	
Forms filings—	375.920 RSMo	Form filings are deemed approved when received,	
deemer		MDI has 60 days to review	
Geographical	20 CSR 500-2.100(E)	All policies must cover not less than the United States	
coverage		of America, its territories and possessions and	
		Canada	
Insurance	<u>303.024 RSMo</u>	Insurers are required to furnish ID cards to their	
Identification cards		insureds; statute explains what information must be	
		contained on the ID cards, ID cards should be filed	
A set a set a la la la		with our Department	
Automobile Insurance Plan	20 CSR 500-2.300(6)	When an insurer cancels/non-renews/refuses to write	
	& <u>379.118 RSMo</u>	an auto policy they must give notice to the consumer of possible coverage through the <u>Automobile</u>	
		Insurance Plan	
Mandatory	375.924(1) RSMo	Requires policies to contain the name, address and	
Endorsement		telephone number of the insurer	
(name, address,			
phone)			
Medical payments	20 CSR 500-2.100	Coverage may not be excess over any other coverage	
coverage		unless specifically provided for under policy and rated	
		accordingly	
	303.190.2(2)RSMo	BI \$25,000/person, \$50,000/accident PD	
limit requirements		\$25,000/accident	
Minimum policy	<u>303.175 RSMo</u>	Personal auto liability policies are to be written for a	
term		minimum period of 3 months and the insurer must	
		collect at least 1 month's premium up front	
Missouri Property	<u>375.772 RSMo</u>	Requires policy to contain the guaranty fund	
& Casualty Guaranty		endorsement	
Association			
Motorcycle	Case lawAmerican	Guest passenger liability mandatory	
passenger liability	Standard Insurance		
	Company v. Dolphin,		
	801 S.W.2d 413 (Mo.		
	Banc 1990)		
	'		

2

SERFF TOI codes 19.0 and 30.0

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions</u>. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



http://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/AutoPersChklist.php

Newly Acquired vehicles	20 CSR 500-2.100 & Case law—Magruder v. Shelter Insurance Company, 985 S.W.2d 869	Must give insured 30 days to report new vehicle and provide coverage unless insurer does not insure all owned vehicles	
Policy defined	<u>20CSR500-</u> <u>2.300(3)(A)</u>	A policy shall be considered a 6-month period even if issued for less than 6 months. Any insurer who terminates the policy before this anniversary date is canceling the policy and must follow 379.110-120 RSMo.	
Refusal to Issue- Armed Services Personnel	<u>379.121 RSMo</u>	Insurers cannot refuse to write or surcharge solely because an armed services applicant has no prior insurance	
Renewal Certificates	20CSR500-2.100(3)	Must contain the original policy number, name of the insured, the and coverage afforded	
Renewal notices	379.118(2) RSMo	Must be sent at least 15 days prior to policy expiration	
SR-22 Filings— Premium	20CSR500- 2.300(4)(B)	Premiums charged for SR-22s shall be reasonable	
SR-26 Filings- Cancellations	303.210 RSMo & 20CSR500- 2.300(4)(5)	Requires an additional 10 days of coverage after the notice of cancellation is filed with the Department of Revenue	
Theft rental coverage	20 CSR 500-2.100	Minimum coverage requirement \$10 day/\$300 max.	
Electronic Delivery of Insurance Documents	<u>379.011 RSMo</u>	Insurers sending notices or documents electronically shall obtain recipient's consent to be sent electronically.	

Uninsured/Under-Insured Motorist

Arbitration	20 CSR 500-1.600	No forced arbitration is allowed in Uninsured Motorist	
provisions		coverage	
Government vehicles	Case Law – Martin v. State Farm Mutual Insurance Company, 755 S. W. 2d 638 (Mo. Banc 1988)	May not exclude under the Uninsured Motorist coverage	
Medical Payments/Workers' Compensation Payments	<u>20CSR500-</u> <u>1.200(2)(G)1</u>	Uninsured Motorist coverage shall not permit the off- set of med. pay or wc payments	
Stacking Uninsured Motorist limits	Case law—Cameron Mutual Insurance Company v. Madden, 533 S.W.2d 538 (Mo. Banc 1976	Mandatory on every vehicle insured in Missouri	

3

SERFF TOI codes 19.0 and 30.0

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



http://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/AutoPersChklist.php

Underinsured Motorist Limits reduction	<u>379.204 RSMo</u>	Underinsured motorist coverage at limits less than 50/100 shall be paid as excess of the liability of any underinsured motor vehicle	
Uninsured Motorist coverage	379.203 RSMo	Mandatory with minimum Uninsured Motorist 25/50 limits	
Uninsured Motorist coverage exception	<u>379.203 RSMo</u>	Uninsured Motorist coverage must be provided on all motor vehicles except those employers who have a fleet of 5 or more, –Uninsured Motorist coverage must only be offered for this exception	

Rate

Comp/Uninsured	20 CSR 500-2.700	Insurers may not modify the rates for these coverages	
Motorist/Fire/Theft		due to accidents or violations	
Consent to rate (A-	20 CSR 500-4.300	Sets out standards for using Consent to Rate filings	
Rates)			
Fees	375.052 RSMo &	Incidental fees to premium installments, late	
	379.356 RSMo	payments, policy reinstatements or other similar	
		services specifically provided for by law or regulation are allowed	
Rate increases	20CSR500-2.600(3)	Insurers cannot increase premiums for not at fault	
prohibited		accidents	
Rate Standards	379.318 RSMo	Rates may not be excessive, inadequate or	
		discriminatory; actuarial justification	
Rebates	379.356 RSMo	Prohibits rebating	
Rating organization	20CSR500-4.200(4)	Insurers adopting to use loss costs filed by a rating	
filings		organization must file Exhibit A, B & C	
Required filings	20CSR500-	All rates, rating plans, manual rules, policies and	
	<u>4.100</u>	forms shall be filed within ten (10) calendar days after	
		their effective date	
Rate Stabilization	Bulletin 16-05	Insurers use rate stability rules to moderate rate and	
		premium fluctuations that may occur due to the	
		acquisition of new business or changes in rating plans	
		for existing policyholders.	
Price Optimization	Bulletin 16-02	Considered to be the use of factors to help determine	
		or to adjust the insured's premium that are not	
		specifically related to the insured's risk or hazard.	

Loss Settlement Provisions

Acknowledging claims/settlement provisions	375.1000 RSMo. & 20CSR100-1.020-1.050	Misrepresentation of policy provisions, failure to acknowledge pertinent communications, standards for prompt investigation of claims, standards for prompt, fair and equitable settlement of claims	
Arbitration	20CSR500-1.600(1)	Precludes insurers from issuing policies that contain compulsory arbitration provisions	
Arbitration	435.350 RSMo	Arbitration statutes do not apply to insurance contracts	

4

SERFF TOI codes 19.0 and 30.0

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and</u> regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



http://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/AutoPersChklist.php

Loss Settlement	<u>375.1000-1007 RSMo</u>	Improper or unfair claims settlement practices definitions	
Intentional acts	<u>375.1312 RSMo</u>	Domestic violence, innocent coinsured statute	
Pre-judgment interest	408.040 RSMo	Defines requirements on pre-judgment interest	
Standards for Auto Claims	20 CSR 100-1.050(2)	Explains about estimates, subrogation, after-market parts, depreciation	
Statute of Limitations	516.110 RSMo	10 years	
Underinsured Motorist claims	<u>379.204 RSMo</u>	Insurers may not reduce payments for this coverage if the limits are less than 50/100	

Misc. Related Lines

GAP(Guaranteed Auto Protection)	We will follow the OCC's opinion in that as long as the credit provider indemnifies the debt cancellation agreement, it will not be regulated as insurance. However, any policies purchased by the credit provider to cover its obligations are considered to be insurance and will be regulated as such.	
VSC(Vehicle Service Contracts)	We consider anything other than the manufacturer or seller warranting its own product to be the business of insurance and regulate it as such	
TNC – Transportation Network Company Insurance	<u>379.1700</u> – Definitions <u>379.1702</u> – Primary insurance maintained <u>379.1708</u> – Exclusions and limitations	

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.</u>

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions</u>. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.