

Missouri Department of Commerce & Insurance Insurance Market Regulation Division Property and Casualty Section <u>https://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/documents/CommercialProperty</u> <u>FilingsChecklist10-2018.pdf</u>

Company Name:

Lead Form # as it appears in SERFF:

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.

Description of Provisions for Commercial Property Type of Insurance (TOI) codes applicable to 1.0, 9.0 and 27.0			
Review Requirements	Reference	Comments	Location in Contract (page and section #) If Applicable

Filing Requirements		
Filing Fees	<u>374.230 (6) RSMo</u>	Filings can now be funded through EFT. The general filing fee is \$150.00 per line, for each company. As long as the filing is still open, EFT payment can be submitted.
Withdraw from an entire line of insurance	<u>379.886 RSMo</u>	Requires insurers to notify Director 90 days in advance of canceling or non-renewing a line of business

Forms			
Application	<u>375.936 RSMo</u>	Prohibits insurers from asking applicants if they have ever been cancelled or non- renewed by prior insurer	
Form filings – effective date	20CSR 500-4.100	Filings must be received by the Department within 10 days of the effective date	Form filings – effective date
Cancellation/ Nonrenewal	20 CSR 500-1.100	10 days for nonpayment of premium, otherwise 30 day notice is required	
Mandatory endorsement (name, address, phone)	<u>375.924(1) RSMo</u>	Requires policies to provide the name, address and telephone number of the insurer	
Missouri Property & Casualty Guaranty Association	<u>375.772 RSMo</u>	Requires policies to include a guaranty fund endorsement.	
Claim Reporting	20 CSR 100-1.020(1)(D)	Insurer cannot deny claim for failure of insured to provide notice of claim within a specified time frame	

SERFF TOI codes 1.0, 9.0 and 27.0 Commercial Property Filings **UPDATED August 2019**

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions</u>. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



Missouri Department of Commerce & Insurance Insurance Market Regulation Division Property and Casualty Section

https://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/documents/CommercialProperty FilingsChecklist10-2018.pdf

Loss Settlement Provisions

[
Acknowledging	<u>375.1000</u> - <u>1007 RSMo</u> &	Misrepresentation of policy provisions,
claims/settlement	20 CSR 100-1.020-1.050	failure to acknowledge pertinent
provisions		communications, standards for prompt
		investigation of claims, standards for
		prompt, fair and equitable settlement of
		claims
Appraisal	20 CSR 500-1.100	When the insured and company fail to
		agree on the ACV or the amount of a
		loss, then, on written demand of either,
		each shall select a competent appraiser.
Arbitration	435.350 RSMo	Mandatory binding arbitration prohibited
	& Case Law – Standard	in contracts of insurance.
	Sec. Life Ins. Co. v. West	
	127 F.Supp.2d 1064 W.D.	
	MO.,2000	
Statute of limitation	516.110 RSMo	10 years
Electronic Delivery of	<u>379.011 RSMo</u>	Insurers sending notices or documents
Insurance Documents		electronically shall obtain recipient's
		consent to be sent electronically.
Reduction of Coverage	<u>379.321.6(8)</u>	10 day notice for material restriction or
		reduction in coverage not specifically
		requested by the insured, required by
		law or based on the altered nature or
		extent of the risk insured.
		л

Rate		
Rate filings	<u>379.321 RSMo</u>	Rate, rate plans, modifications and manuals of classifications shall be filed with the Department for informational purposes only; however, the Director retains authority over excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory rates
Rate standard	<u>379.470 RSMo</u>	Rates shall not be excessive, inadequate, or unfairly discriminatory.
Consent to Rate – (A Rate)	<u>379.888.1(1) RSMo</u>	Defines "A Rates" as being those rates individually determined based on judgment because neither a rate service organization nor the insurer has established a manual rates
Consent to Rate – (A Rate)	20CSR500-4.300	Sets out standards for using "Consent to Rate"
Deviation from rating organization	<u>379.326 RSMo</u>	Deviations from rating organizations shall be filed with the director and are effective upon the date of filing
Fees	<u>379.356 RSMo</u> & <u>375.052</u> <u>RSMo</u>	Incidental fees for premium installments, late payments, policy reinstatement, or other similar services specifically

2

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions</u>. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



Missouri Department of Commerce & Insurance Insurance Market Regulation Division Property and Casualty Section <u>https://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/documents/CommercialProperty</u>

FilingsChecklist10-2018.pdf

		provided for by law or regulation are allowed
Rating organization filings	20 CSR 500-4.200(4)	Insurers adopting loss costs filed by a rating organization must file Exhibit A, B & C
Rebates	<u>379.356 RSMo</u>	Prohibits rebating
Schedule Rating	<u>20 CSR 500-4.100</u>	Rating plans are prohibited to have a credit/debit greater than 25% based on risk characteristics
Premium notification	<u>379.321.6(6) RSMo</u>	Requires insurers to send a notice to the agent of record and insured 60 days prior to the expiration date of a policy when the premium will only be renewed with an increase of 25% or more

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.