

Company Name:

Lead Form # as it appears in SERFF:

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.

	Commercial	of Provisions for General Liability II) codes applicable to 17.0	
Review Requirements	Reference	Comments	Location in Contract (page and section #) If Applicable

Filing Requirements			
Filing Fees	<u>374.230 (6) RSMo</u>	Filings can now be funded through EFT. The general filing fee is \$150.00 per line, for each company. As long as the filing is still open, EFT payment can be submitted.	
Withdraw from an entire line of insurance	<u>379.886 RSMo</u>	Requires insurers to notify Director 90 days in advance of canceling or non- renewing a line of business	

Forms		
Application	<u>375.936 RSMo</u>	Prohibits insurers from asking applicants if they have ever been cancelled or non- renewed by prior insurer
Form filings – effective date	<u>379.321RSMo</u> 20CSR 500-4.100	Filings must be received by the Department within 10 days of the effective date
Cancellation Notice	379.883 RSMo	60 days prior to the effective date of cancellation
Nonrenewal-Notice of	<u>379.883</u> <u>RSMo</u>	60 days prior to the effective date of nonrenewal

1

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions</u>. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



Missouri Department of Commerce & Insurance Insurance Market Regulation Division Property and Casualty Section <u>https://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/documents/CommercialCasualtyF</u> ilingChecklist10-2018.pdf

Cancellation/	379.883(3) RSMo	Insurer's actual reason to be sufficiently	
Nonrenewal –		clean and specific. An assignment or	
Reasons for		transfer among affiliated insurers within	
		a group is not considered a	
		cancellation/nonrenewal	
Cancellation/	379.884 RSMo	Within 30 days of a written request, the	
Nonrenewal –		insurer shall provide to the insured a	
Policyholder right to		statement of claims history for 3 years	
claims history		prior to the date of cancellation; or total	
cialitis filstory		claims history if policy has been in effect	
		less than 3 years	
Cancellation/	379.885 RSMo	Proof of mailing to the named insured at	
		his last known address	
Nonrenewal – Mailing		his last known address	
requirement	275 024(4) DOMa	Deguizes policies to provide the news	
Mandatory	<u>375.924(1) RSMo</u>	Requires policies to provide the name,	
endorsement (name,		address and telephone number of the	
address, phone)		insurer for easy access by insured.	
Missouri Property &	<u>375.772 RSMo</u>	Requires policies to include a guaranty	
Casualty Guaranty		fund endorsement.	
Association			
Claim Reporting	20 CSR 100-1.020(1)(D)	Insurer cannot deny claim for failure of	
_		insured to provide notice of claim within	
		a specified time frame	
Claims Made	20 CSR 500-1.800	Retroactive date not <i>required</i> at policy	
		issue. However, once a retroactive date	
		is established, it may not be changed	
		after policy inception except as required	
		or requested by the insured.	
Electronic Delivery of	379.011 RSMo	Insurers sending notices or documents	
Insurance Documents		electronically shall obtain recipient's consent	
		to be sent electronically.	
Reduction of Coverage	<u>379.321.6(8)</u>	10 day notice for material restriction or	
		reduction in coverage not specifically	
		requested by the insured, required by law or	
		based on the altered nature or extent of the	
		risk insured.	

Loss Settlement Provisions

Acknowledging	<u>375.1000</u> - <u>1007 RSMo</u> &	Misrepresentation of policy
claims/settlement	20 CSR 100-1.020-	provisions, failure to acknowledge
provisions	<u>1.050</u>	pertinent communications, standards
		for prompt investigation of claims,
		standards for prompt, fair and
		equitable settlement of claims;
		insurers cannot deny coverage if a
		claim is not reported within a specific
		time period.

2

<u>SERFF TOI codes 17.0</u> <u>Commercial General Liability Filings</u> **UPDATED August 2019**

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



Missouri Department of Commerce & Insurance Insurance Market Regulation Division Property and Casualty Section https://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/documents/CommercialCasualtyF ilingChecklist10-2018.pdf

Appraisal	20 CSR 500-1.100	When the insured and company fail to agree on the ACV or the amount of a loss, then, on written demand of either, each shall select a competent appraiser.	
Arbitration	435.350 RSMo & Case Law – Standard Sec. Life Ins. Co. v. West 127 F.Supp.2d 1064 W.D. MO.,2000	Arbitration hearing to be held in county where adverse party resides or has a place of business.	
Statute of limitation	516.110 RSMo	10 years	

		Rate	
Rate filings	<u>379.321 RSMo</u>	Rate, rate plans, modifications and manuals of classifications shall be filed with the Department for informational purposes only; however, the Director retains authority over excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory	
Rate, rate plan and rate system	<u>379.890 RSMo &</u> 20 CSR 500-4.100	rates Sets forth standards for filing a commercial casualty insurance rate, rating plan or rating system; supporting actuarial data requirement.	
Rate standard	<u>379.470 RSMo</u>	Rates shall not be excessive, inadequate, or unfairly discriminatory.	
Consent to Rate – (A Rate)	<u>379.888.1(1) RSMo</u>	Defines "A Rates" as being those rates individually determined based on judgment because neither a rate service organization nor the insurer has established a manual rates	
Consent to Rate – (A Rate)	20CSR500-4.300	Sets out standards for using "Consent to Rate"	
Deviation from rating organization	<u>379.326 RSMo</u>	Deviations from rating organizations shall be filed with the director and are effective upon the date of filing.	
Fees	379.356 RSMo 375.052 RSMo	Incidental fees for premium installments, late payments, policy reinstatement, or other similar services specifically provided for by law or regulation are allowed.	
Rating organization filings	20 CSR 500-4.200(4)	Insurers adopting loss costs filed by a rating organization must file Exhibit A, B & C	

Commercial General Liability Filings

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



Missouri Department of Commerce & Insurance Insurance Market Regulation Division Property and Casualty Section <u>https://insurance.mo.gov/industry/filings/checklists/documents/CommercialCasualtyF</u> <u>ilingChecklist10-2018.pdf</u>

Schedule Rating	<u>20 CSR 500-4.100</u>	Rating plans are prohibited to have a credit/debit greater than 25% based on risk characteristics
Premium notification	<u>379.321.6(6) RSMo</u>	Requires insurers to send a notice to the agent of record and insured 60 days prior to the expiration date of a policy when the insurer will only renew the policy with a premium increase of 25% or more.

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for</u> <u>exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.</u>