

Company Name:

Lead Form # as it appears in SERFF:

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.

Description of Provisions for Commercial Auto Type of Insurance (TOI) codes applicable to 20.0			
Review Requirements	Reference	Comments	Location in Contract (page and section #) If Applicable

Filing Requirements			
Filing Fees	<u>374.230 (6) RSMo</u>	Filings can now be funded through EFT. The general filing fee is \$150.00 per line, for each company. As long as the filing is still open, EFT payment can be submitted.	
Withdraw from an entire line of insurance	<u>379.886 RSMo</u>	Requires insurers to notify Director 90 days in advance of canceling or non- renewing a line of business	

	Forms		
Applications	<u>303.190(4) RSMo</u>	Applications for insurance are extensions of the contract and must be filed	
Application	<u>375.936 RSMo</u>	Prohibits insurers from asking applicants if they have ever been cancelled or non- renewed by prior insurer	
Form filings- effective date	<u>20 CSR 500-4.100</u>	Filings must be received by our Department within 10 days of the effective date	
Cancellation Notice	<u>379.883</u> <u>RSMo</u>	60 days prior to the effective date except for nonpayment of premium, fraud, changes in conditions after the	

1

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions</u>. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



		effective date, insolvency of the insurer	
		or if the insurer involuntarily loses	
		reinsurance for the policy	
Nonrenewal—Notice	<u>379.883 RSMo</u>	60 days prior to the effective date of	
of		nonrenewal	
Cancellation/	<u>379.883</u>	Insurer's actual reason to be sufficiently	
Nonrenewal—	<u>RSMo</u>	clear and specific. An assignment or	
Reasons for		transfer among affiliated insurers within	
		a group is not considered a	
		cancellation/nonrenewal	
Cancellation/	<u>379.884 RSMo</u>	Within 30 days of a written request, the	
Nonrenewal—		insured shall provide to the insured	
Policyholder right to		receive a statement of claims history for	
claims history		the 3 years prior to the date of	
		cancellation; or total claims history if	
		policy has been in effect less than 3	
		years	
Cancellation/	<u>379.885 RSMo</u>	Proof of mailing to the named insured at	
Nonrenewal—Mailing		his last known address	
Requirement			
Mandatory	<u>375.924(1) RSMo</u>	Requires policies to provide the name,	
endorsement (name,		address and telephone number of the	
address, phone)		insurer	
Missouri Property &	<u>375.772 RSMo</u>	Requires policies to include the	
Casualty Guaranty		guaranty fund endorsement.	
Association			
Claim Reporting	20 CSR 100-1.020(1)(D)	Insurer cannot deny claim for failure of	
		insured to provide notice of claim within	
<u> </u>		a specified time frame	
Driver Exclusions	<u>303.190.2(3) RSMo</u>	Policies issued to corporations and	
		partnerships cannot exclude drivers;	
		commercial policies that list a "natural	
		person" as a named insured may	
E	070 070 DOM:	exclude a household member	
Form filings—	<u>379.978 RSMo</u>	Requires insurers who write earthquake	
effective date		to prepare and retain a written disaster	
		plan covering earthquakes	
Insurance	303.024 RSMo	Insurers are required to furnish ID cards	
Identification cards		to their insureds; statute explains what	
		specifies information must to be	
		contained included on the ID cards; ID	
		cards should be filed with the	
		Department	
Insureds Driving in		Canada requires a PAU filing for all	
Canada		carriers who provide liability coverage to	
		drivers entering into Canada	

UPDATED August 2019

SERFF TOI Codes 20.0 Commercial Auto Filings



Automobile Insurance	20 CSR 500-2.300(6) &	When an insurer cancels/non-renews an
Plan	379.120 RSMo	auto policy, they must give notice to the
		consumer of possible coverage through
		the Automobile Insurance Plan
Minimum liability limit	303.190.2(2) RSMo	BI \$25,000/person, \$50,000/accident PD
requirements		\$25,000/accident
SR-22 filings-	20 CSR 500-2.300(4)(B)	Premiums charged for SR-22s shall be
Premium		reasonable
SR-26 filings—	20 CSR 500-2.300(4)(5) &	Requires an additional 10 days of
Cancellations	<u>303.210 RSMo</u>	coverage after the notice of cancellation
		if filed with the Department of Revenue
	<u>379.011 RSMo</u>	Insurers sending notices or documents
Insurance Documents		electronically shall obtain recipient's consent
		to be sent electronically.
Reduction of Coverage	<u>379.321.6(8)</u>	10 day notice for material restriction or
		reduction in coverage not specifically
		requested by the insured, required by law or
		based on the altered nature or extent of the
		risk insured.

Uninsured/Under-insured Motorists

Arbitration	435.350 RSMo	Mandatory binding arbitration prohibited in contracts of insurance.	
Government vehicles	Case LawMartin v. State Farm Mutual Insurance Company, 755 S.W. 2d 638 (Mo. Banc. 1988)	May not be excluded for Uninsured Motorist coverage	
Medical Payments/Workers' Compensation Payments	20CSR500 2.100(2)(G)1	Uninsured Motorist coverage shall not permit the off-set of med. pay or workers' compensation payments	
Stacking Uninsured Motorist limits	Case Law—Cameron Mutual Insurance Company v. Madden, 533 S.W.2d 538 (MO. Banc 1976)	Mandatory on every vehicle insured in Missouri	
Underinsured Motorist Limits Reduction	<u>379.204 RSMo</u>	Underinsured Motorist coverage at limits less than 50/100 shall be paid as excess of the liability of any uninsured motor vehicle	
Underinsured Motorist Limits reduction	<u>379.204 RSMo</u>	Underinsured motorist coverage at limits less than 50/100 shall be paid over and above the other drivers liability limits, no limits to limits reductions	

UPDATED August 2019

SERFF TOI Codes 20.0 Commercial Auto Filings



Uninsured Motorist	379.203 RSMo	Mandatory with minimum 25/50
coverage		Uninsured Motorist limits
Uninsured Motorist	<u>379.203 RSMo</u>	Uninsured Motorist coverage is
coverage exception		required on all motor vehicles except
		for employers who have a fleet of 5
		or more, or 8 + passenger
		commercial vehicles. In those cases,
		Uninsured Motorist coverage must
		only be offered.
	Loss Settlen	nent Provisions
Acknowledging	<u>375.1000</u> - <u>1007 RSMo</u> &	Misrepresentation of policy
claims/settlement	20CSR100-1.020-1.050	provisions, failure to acknowledge
provisions		pertinent communications, standards
		for prompt investigation of claims,
		standards for prompt, fair and
		equitable settlement of claims
Arbitration	435.435 RSMo & Case	Arbitration statutes do not apply to
	Law—Standard Sec.	insurance contracts
	Life Ins. Co. v. West 127	
	F.Sup.2d 1064 W.D.	
	MO., 200	
Arbitration	20CSR500-1.600(1)	Precludes insurers from issuing
		policies that include compulsory
		arbitration provisions
Statute of limitations	516.110 RSMo	10 years
Intentional Acts	<u>375.1312 RSMo</u>	Domestic violence, innocent
		coinsured statute
Pre-judgment Interest	408.040 RSMo	Defines requirements on pre-
		judgment interest

-	
Da	toe
1\4	

Trates			
Rate Standards	<u>379.470 RSMo</u>	Rates may not be excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory; actuarial justification and a 3-year rate history is requested with all rate filings	
Consent to Rate – (A Rate)	<u>379.888.1(1) RSMo</u>	Defines "A Rates" as being those rates individually determined based on judgment because neither a rate service organization nor the insurer has established a manual rates	
Consent to Rate – (A Rate)	20CSR500-4.300	Sets out standards for using "Consent to Rate"	

4

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.



<u>379.326 RSMo</u>	Deviations from rating organizations	
	shall be filed with the Director and	
	are effective upon the date of filing	
<u>375.052 RSMo</u> &	Incidental fees for premium	
<u>379.356 RSMo</u>	installments, late payments, policy	
	reinstatements or other similar	
	services specifically provided for by	
	law or regulation are allowed	
20 CSR 500-4.200(4)	Insurers adopting loss costs filed by	
	a rating organization must file Exhibit	
	A, B & C	
<u>379.356 RSMo</u>	Prohibits rebating	
<u>20 CSR 500-4.100</u>	Rating plans are prohibited to have a	
	credit/debit greater than 25% based	
	on risk characteristics	
Bulletin 87-08 & 87-06	Policies in effect less than 60 days	
	may be re-rated at the correct	
	amount; those more than 60 days old	
	information	
20CSR500-2.600(3)	Insurers cannot increase premiums	
	for not at fault accidents.	
	379.356 RSMo 20 CSR 500-4.200(4) 379.356 RSMo 20 CSR 500-4.100 Bulletin 87-08 & 87-06	shall be filed with the Director and are effective upon the date of filing375.052 RSMo & 379.356 RSMoIncidental fees for premium installments, late payments, policy reinstatements or other similar services specifically provided for by law or regulation are allowed20 CSR 500-4.200(4)Insurers adopting loss costs filed by a rating organization must file Exhibit A, B & C379.356 RSMoProhibits rebating20 CSR 500-4.100Rating plans are prohibited to have a credit/debit greater than 25% based on risk characteristicsBulletin 87-08 & 87-06Policies in effect less than 60 days may be re-rated at the correct amount; those more than 60 days old must continue coverage at quoted rate unless insured misrepresented information20CSR500-2.600(3)Insurers cannot increase premiums

Misc. related lines

GAP (Guaranteed Auto Protection)	We will follow the OCC's opinion in that as long as the credit provider indemnifies the debt cancellation agreement, it will not be regulated as insurance. However, any policies purchased by the credit provider to cover its obligations are considered to be insurance and will be regulated as such	
VSC(Vehicle Service Contracts)	We consider anything other than the manufacturer or seller warranting its own product to be the business of insurance and regulate it as such	

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. <u>Please refer to the statutes and regulations for</u> <u>exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.</u>

5

UPDATED August 2019

This list is in no way an exhaustive or complete statement of all requirements and provisions that might be applicable. This checklist is a representation of general provisions and objections and should not be construed as a legal position or legal advice. Please refer to the statutes and regulations for exact wording of requirements or prohibitions. The language within the Missouri Statutes and Regulations always prevails over this checklist.