

3315 West Truman Boulevard, Room 131 P.O. Box 58 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0058 Phone: 573-751-4231 Fax: 573-751-2012

www.labor.mo.gov/DWC Email: workerscomp@labor.mo.gov

MICHAEL L. PARSON GOVERNOR

ANNA S. HUI DEPARTMENT DIRECTOR

**COLLEEN JOERN VETTER** DIVISION DIRECTOR

To:

All Workers' Compensation Insurance Companies, Self-Insured Employers, Group Trusts, and Third

Party Administrators

From:

Anna S. Hui, Director

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

Colleen Joern Vetter, Directo

Missouri Division of Workers Compensation

Chlora Lindley-Myers, Director @

Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration

Date:

October 31, 2018

Subject:

Workers' Compensation Administrative Tax. Administrative Surcharge, Second Injury Fund Surcharge, and Second Injury Fund Supplemental Surcharge for the 2019 Calendar Year

As required by Sections 287.690, 287.715, and 287.716, RSMo, the state of Missouri shall impose a workers' compensation administrative tax, administrative surcharge. Second Injury Fund surcharge, and a Second Injury Fund supplemental surcharge. For calendar year 2019, there will be no change from calendar year 2018. For calendar year 2019, the administrative tax will be 1.0 percent, the administrative surcharge will be 1.0 percent, the Second Injury Fund surcharge will be 3.0 percent, and the Second Injury Fund supplemental surcharge will be 3.0 percent.

Section 287.690, RSMo, authorizes the imposition of an administrative tax not to exceed two percent. Section 287.716. RSMo, authorizes the imposition of an administrative surcharge at the same rate as the administrative tax. The revenue from the administrative tax and the administrative surcharge is used to fund expenses associated with the administration of the Missouri Workers' Compensation law,

Section 287.715, RSMo, authorizes the imposition of a Second Injury Fund surcharge that shall not exceed three percent. Effective January 1, 2014, §287.715.6, RSMo, authorizes the imposition of a Second Injury Fund supplemental surcharge not to exceed three percent. The Second Injury Fund supplemental surcharge may be collected for calendar years 2014 to 2021. The revenue generated by the Second Injury Fund surcharge and the Second Injury Fund supplemental surcharge is used to pay benefit and expense liabilities of the fund,

For more information about the functions and services of the Division of Workers' Compensation and the Second Injury Fund, visit http://labor.mo.gov/ DWC/,

The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations and the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration look forward to working with you in 2019. If you have questions or need additional information, contact the Division of Workers' Compensation at 800-775-2667 or the Department of Insurance. Financial Institutions and Professional Registration at 800-394-0964.

> Missouri Division of Workers' Compensation is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966 Relay Missouri: 711

