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Auto insurance helps you 
handle the what if …

►► You are in an accident and injure someone?
►► Your car is stolen? 
►► Another vehicle hits you and the driver doesn’t have insurance?

Auto insurance protects you against the financial hardships of paying for 
injuries or property damage caused by an accident.

Drivers who can’t find coverage may obtain 
it from the Missouri Automobile Insurance 
Plan. An insurance agent can give you 
information and rates, which may be higher.

Can’t find a company 
to insure you?

The Department of Insurance has online tools to help you:
►►Search for companies that sell auto insurance.
►►Review frequently asked questions about auto insurance.
►►Search for a licensed agent or agency near you.
►►Review consumer complaint history for insurance companies.

insurance.mo.gov
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Keep insurance ID in car
You must keep proof of insurance in your 
vehicle at all times, or you may be issued a 
ticket. Failure to maintain proof of insurance 
could lead to a suspended license.

Electronic proof: Starting Aug. 28,  
  2013, Missouri drivers will be able to use their smartphones   
    and other mobile devices to show proof of insurance.

AUTO BASICS

What’s required
Missouri law requires vehicle owners and 
drivers to have two types of automobile 
insurance coverage:

Your fault: Covers 
injuries and property 
damage to others 
caused by you.

LIABILITY1 & Others’ fault: Covers 
injuries to you and 
passengers caused by an 
uninsured driver.

UNINSURED MOTORIST2

Who’s covered on my policy?
►► People named in the policy.
►► People with permission to drive the vehicle.

What vehicles are covered?
►► Vehicles listed on your policy.
►► Vehicles you drive while yours is being repaired after an accident.

What vehicles are not covered?
►► Vehicles being used for business activities such as pizza 
delivery and lawn service. 

ABC INSURANCE COMPANY

DEC 30 2012JUL 30 2013 JAN 30 2014

ID 
card
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Financial responsibility
Every year thousands of Missourians are 
involved in accidents with uninsured drivers, 
resulting in unpaid damage claims and higher 
premium rates for everyone. It is estimated that 
14 percent of Missouri drivers lack insurance 
although state law requires all vehicle drivers and owners to maintain a 
minimum amount of liability and uninsured motorist coverage:

►► $25,000 for bodily 
injury per person
►► $50,000 for bodily 
injury per accident 
►► $10,000 for property 
damage per accident 

►► $25,000 for bodily injury 
per person
►► $50,000 for bodily injury 
per accident

LIABILITY UNINSURED MOTORIST&1 2
Minimum amounts Minimum amounts

Why risk it? Consider higher limits 
Having the minimum liability and uninsured motorist amounts mean 
lower premiums, but it may not be enough coverage. When considering 
the cost of replacing a new or used car, you may want to talk to your 
agent about increasing your limits. Consider this scenario:

AVERAGE 
CAR COST 
IN U.S.

NEW CAR

$30,000
USED CAR

$12,000

25/50/10

Cost to repair 2011 pickup
What your insurance pays

Your out-of-pocket costs

It is raining and you brake as you approach a 
red stoplight. Your car slides, hitting a 2011 
pickup. There are no injuries but it still hurts: 

–►►
$13,200
$10,000

$3,200

(Liability insurance does not cover repairs to 
your vehicle.)
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Optional coverage can be included in your policy to increase your 
protection. Banks and other lenders may require you to buy collision 
and comprehensive coverage on your vehicle. Ask your agent if 
additional coverage is suitable for you:

Collision
  Covers damage to your car from 
hitting an inanimate object, such as 
a tree, vehicle or house.

Comprehensive
  Covers damage to your vehicle by 
theft, vandalism, hail, flood, fire or 
animals.

Underinsured motorist
  Provides you protection when another 
driver doesn’t have enough insurance.  

Medical payments
  Covers medical care up to specified 
limits for you and your passengers.

Additional coverage
  Rental reimbursement, which pays 
for a rental while your car is being 
repaired.
  Roadside assistance. 
  After-market installations, such 
as stereos and wheels, may need 
additional coverage.

Force-placed coverage

If you finance or lease a 
vehicle and haven’t bought 
collision and comprehensive 
coverage, your lender or 
lessor may “force place” 
collision and comprehensive 
insurance coverage to 
protect its investment in the 
car. 

Although they place it, you 
still pay the premiums. And 
it probably will be more 
expensive than if you had 
bought it on your own.

Renting a car  
for vacation?

You may not need to buy 
insurance from the car 
rental company. Check your 
policy to see if it covers 
rental cars.

AUTO BASICS

What’s optional
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Several factors such as age and gender determine your auto insurance 
rates. For example, an older, more experienced driver will have a lower 
rate than an inexperienced driver. Other factors that could lower or 
raise your insurance rates:

Determining your rate

  Amount of coverage.
  Amount of deductible.
  Make, model, year of vehicle.
  Driving and claims record.
  How vehicle is used, miles 
driven each year.
  Credit history.
  Where you live.
  Multiple-car discount.
  Multiple policies with same 
company such as renters or 
homeowners insurance.
  Longtime customers.
  Anti-theft systems.
  Marital status.
  Number of drivers on policy.

FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS

  Driver’s education class.
  Grades.

Deductible paid first

You first must pay the deductible you chose for your collision or 
comprehensive coverage before the insurance company pays. Having a 
higher deductible may lower your insurance cost.

Collision deductible                 
Cost of repair

You pay Insurance company pays

$500
$500

$6,000

$5,500

If you don’t receive a notice of renewal or nonrenewal a couple of 
weeks before your policy expires, contact your insurance company. STOP

Generally, these factors can 
lower or increase your rate:

Factor

Good credit
No insurance claims 
Good grades
Drive a lot
Live in large city 
Low deductible

pq= Lower = Increase

Rate

q

q
q

p
p

p

CAUSE AND EFFECT
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Pay 
promptly

There is no  
grace period 
for late 
premiums. 
One late 
payment 
could get 
your policy 
canceled.

State law allows your insurance company to  
cancel your policy for any reason during the first  
60 days. 

After the first 60 days, the policy must stay in 
effect for the full term, except for:

►►Non-payment of premium.
►► Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.

Your insurance company may decide not to renew 
your policy when it expires. You must be notified in 
writing at least 30 days before the expiration date.

Your policy can be canceled

►►Drive safely.

►► Increase your deductible.

►►Maintain good credit.

►► Ask about vehicle-safety 
discounts.

►► Ask about multiple-vehicle 
discounts.

►► Pay premium in full.

►►Use same company as home  
or renters insurance.

►►Remove collision and 
comprehensive coverage on  
older vehicles.

►► Ask about low-mileage 
discounts.

►► Tell your agent about safety 
and anti-theft systems.

FOR STUDENTS

►►Get good grades.

►► Take driver’s education class.

Tips to lower your insurance rates

RATE-LOWERING AGES, 
MILESTONES

TURN 21
25

GET MARRIED

There are certain ages and 
events when your rates may 
decrease. Tell your agent 
when you:

AUTO BASICS
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This page provides policy details. Know how to read your declarations 
page to better understand your coverage.

Discounts: Number 
of discounts 
applied to policy

6
Total premium: 
Your cost for 
policy period

5

Policy period: When 
coverage begins and ends

1 Deductible: 
What you pay

3Limits: The most 
your policy will pay

2

Optional coverage: 
Can be added  
for more protection

4

Understanding your 
declarations page

Your policy consists of this page, any endorsements and the policy form. Keep together.

Policy period:
6 months

Effective date:
Aug. 1, 2013

Expiration date:
Feb. 1, 2014

Policy number       XX-XXXXXX-XXYour Insurance Company
3535 Second St.
Company Town, USA 54321

1

32

6

Coverages

Liability: Bodily injury 

Liability: Property  
damage

Uninsured motorist

Policy limits

$100,000 per person 
$300,000 per accident

$100,000 per accident

 
$100,000 per person 
$300,000 per accident

4
Optional coverage

Underinsured motorist

 
Medical payments 

Roadside assistance

Rental car  
reimbursement

Limits

$100,000 per person 
$300,000 per accident

$1,000

$100 per occurrence

$30 per day 
$1,000 maximum

Discounts applied

Multiple vehicle

Home/Auto/Life

Mature driver

Claim record/Customer 
longevity

Air bags/Anti-lock brakes

Premium paid in full

5
Policy premium $640

Deductibles
Collision
Comprehensive

$500

$100

Lienholder

The Bank	        310 Main St., Company Town, USA, 54321

Year	        Make	   Model	          Vehicle ID number (VIN)

2011	        Chevrolet	   Camaro	         2FZMPONW34XB56094

Auto Insurance Policy <SAMPLE>
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Target best policy price

SHOP AROUND,
 COMPARE PRICES

Missouri has a highly competitive insurance market. 
Use this worksheet to compare offers as you shop.

Types of 
coverage

q qq

p pp
Fill in company name (above) & cost (below) to compare policies

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

$ $ $

Bodily injury per person 

Bodily injury per accident

Property damage                                                                                                                                           
per accident

Uninsured motorist

Collision

Comprehensive

Underinsured motorist

Medical payments

Roadside assistance

Rental reimbursement

Accidental death and 
dismemberment                                                                         

Policy premium

Collision deductible 

Comprehensive deductible 

Optional coverage (ask your agent)

$ $ $

$ $ $
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What am I responsible for if I cause an accident?

Do I need collision and                                                                               
comprehensive coverage?

What is my deductible for collision?                For comprehensive?

Do I need a police report                  What if the accident is                       
if I’m in an accident?                        in a private parking lot?

Will my coverage limits cover me                          What if the other                                                
and my passengers if I’m at fault?                       driver is at fault?                                                           

How is the value of my vehicle                                                      
determined if it’s totaled?

Can I choose any body shop to repair my car?

How much will     		    How much can I save by  
my premium be? 		    increasing my deductible?

What discounts  
are available?

How do I file a claim?

Does my policy include rental reimbursement?

QUESTIONS TO ASK 
INSURANCE AGENT

What are coverage limits? What are they used for?                                                                                                                                  
Is the 25/50/10 minimum coverage enough?
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Missouri is a comparative-fault state, meaning anyone involved in 
an accident may be partially responsible for it. Your responsibility for 
damages is determined by the percentage you are at fault.

►► Turn off your car. (A gas leak could 
cause a fire.)
►►Call the police.
►► Exchange this information with 
other driver and police if there 
is property damage or injuries: 
Name, address, driver’s license 
and vehicle identification numbers, 
insurance company name and 
policy number.
►►Be courteous; do not admit fault.

What to do if you’re in an accident
►►Get witness contact 
information. 
►► Photograph the damage.
►►Write down what 
happened.
►►Call your agent or 
insurance company 
soon after the accident.
►► If the police don’t come, 
call and ask where to 
file an incident report.

ACCIDENTS HAPPEN

What to do

Protect yourself and your property by 
downloading mobile accident checklist

Android

iPhone

Scan a QR code to 
download the free 

WreckCheck app for 
your smartphone. 

The free app walks 
you through the 
crucial steps to 

take if you’re in an 
accident. You can 
download it from 

the Apple App 
Store or Google 

Play Store.
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To file or not to file a claim
Filing a claim may increase your insurance premiums, even if you don’t 
collect anything. If you are in a one-car accident with no injuries or 
damage to other cars or property – and the damage to your car is about 
the same as your collision deductible – you may consider paying for the 
repairs yourself to avoid higher premiums in the future. 

However if another driver or someone else’s property is involved, or if 
you have a passenger, you should immediately notify your insurance 
company to protect yourself in case the other party files an insurance 
claim or lawsuit. 

Claim 
types

There are two types of insurance claims:
►► First party: When you make a claim on your policy.
►► Third party: When you make a claim on someone else’s 
insurance policy.

If the accident involves  
an uninsured driver
Notify the police and your 
insurance company and report 
it to the Missouri Department 
of Revenue. Accident report 
forms are available from:

►► The Department of Revenue 
at dor.mo.gov.
►► Your insurance company.

Steps to filing a claim 
►► File your claim online or call 
your agent or company.
►►Have your policy information 
ready when you call.
►►Give details about the accident. 
►► If available, provide a police 
report or an incident number.
►► Ask when your vehicle will be 
checked by an adjuster.

Always make sure it is safe before you get out of your car to inspect damage.
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ACCIDENTS HAPPEN

Making repairs
When you file a claim, your insurance company will send an adjuster to 
examine the damage and determine the cost of the repairs. 

After-market  
parts allowed  
for repairs
Missouri law allows 
insurance companies 
to use after-market 
or used parts instead 
of original equipment 
manufacturer parts 
when estimating 
repairs on your car. 
However, all after-
market or used parts 
must be identified on 
the repair estimate.

Mitigation: If you are in an accident, you are obligated to minimize 
expenses. For example, you can avoid storage fees a body shop may 
charge by keeping your car at home until an insurance claim is settled.

STOP

Diminished value: Is your car worth less?
If your vehicle has been in an accident and repaired, it may not be worth 
its actual cash value when you sell or trade it. Diminished value is the 
reduction in a car’s resale value after it has been wrecked and repaired. 

State law does not require your insurance company to pay for diminished 
value. However, if someone crashes into your car and you make a claim 
on the other driver’s policy, diminished value could be recovered, subject 
to approval by the other driver’s insurance company. 

Example: Your car will be worth $1,000 less after it’s repaired. The other 
driver’s insurance company pays you the cost of repairs plus $1,000. 
This extra payment compensates you for the diminished value of your car.

Body shop: It’s your choice
You can choose which auto body shop will 
repair your vehicle. However, if your insur-
ance company has a lower estimate from 
another shop, you’ll get paid that amount. 
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Your vehicle may seem priceless to you, but it’s worth a certain amount 
when it comes to insurance. Your insurance company will determine if 
your car can be repaired or if it’s a total loss.

Bumper stickers lower your vehicle’s value. Ask your agent about 
other modifications that may reduce the value.STOP

Vehicle’s actual cash value: How it’s determined

Your vehicle’s value

For more information on other

►►Home ►►Renters

Contact us

►► Life ►►Health ►►Small business

types of insurance, including: 

►► The car’s wear and tear and 
pre-existing damage. 

When disputing your company’s 
offer, you must prove your 
vehicle is worth more.

If your vehicle is a total loss, an 
insurance company must pay 
actual cash value (or fair market 
value), which is determined by:

►►Surveying dealers in your 
area.
►►Using industry guides, such 
as the National Automobile 
Dealers Association or 
Edmunds.
►►Receiving information from 
groups such as CCC and ADP 
AutoSource.
►►Whether the vehicle has a 
salvage title.

insurance.mo.gov

800-726-7390
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If you have questions about your insurance policy  
or need to file a complaint or verify the license of  

an insurance company or agent, contact us:

800-726-7390
insurance.mo.gov
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