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To Whom It May Concern: 

On January 1, 2005, the initial basic training requirement for Bail Bond Agents, General Bail bond 

Agents and Surety Recovery Agents of Senate Bill 1122 goes into effect.  This law requires all Bail Bond 

Agents, General Bail Bond Agents and Surety Recovery Agents applying for licensure in the state of 

Missouri to meet education requirements prior to the license being issued.  The education courses must be 

completed within the year immediately preceding the date of the application for licensure.  A license will 

be issued to resident applicants only after passing the test and providing proof that educational courses 

have been completed. 

All applicants must complete 24 hours of approved education, taught by personnel with qualifications 

approved by the director and shall include instructions consisting of the following: 

(A)Areas of law

1. Statute; Chapter 374, Sections 374.695 to 374.789, RSMo;

2. Statute; Chapter 544, RSMo—Arrest, Examination, Commitment and Bail;

3. Federal and state constitutional law and case law.

A. Warrants/warrant procedures

B. Incarceration, surrender and release

C. Extraditions

D. Use of force

E. Custody and transportation

(B) Bail Bond Training

1. Licensing.

A. Test procedures.

B. Regulation.

C. Terminology.

2. Documentation.

A. Power of Attorney.

B. Contracts:  elements, classifications.

C. Certifications.

D. Revocation of bail.

E. Incarceration, surrender and release.

3. Missouri Supreme Court Rules:  33.17, 33.18, 33.19.

4. Rights of a bondsman.

A. History.

B. Powers.

C. Principles.

D. Practices.
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5. Business etiquette.  

         A. Contracts. 

         B. Appearance.   

         C. Ethics. 

 

  (C) Surety recovery training. 

    1. Licensing. 

         A. Test procedures.  

         B. Regulation.      

         C. Terminology.  

    2. Documentation. 

        A. Contracts. 

        B. Authority. 

              (I) Warrants. 

              (II) Certifications. 

               (III) Extradition.  

               (IV) Incarceration and surrender.  

    3. Apprehension procedures.  

        A. Authority notification.  

        B. Techniques. 

               (I) Verification. 

               (II) Proper use of force.  

               (III) Self identification. 

               (IV) Custody and transportation.  

     4. Legal Liability. 

 

 

The director shall grant authority to: 

 

 (1) Public and private institutions 

 (2) Education organizations 

 (3) Associations 

 (4) Individuals 

 

that provide satisfactory evidence that the courses of study are in substantial compliance with the 

requirements established by the director.  The cost to applicants for a 24-hour course shall not exceed 

$200.00. 

 

Contact Beth Bowman in the License Section at 573-751-3518 if you have questions concerning the 

procedures and requirements for Initial Basic Training approval. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Beth Bowman 

License Technician II 

 

enc. 
 



 

 

 

Enclosed you will find: 

 

 (1) An application for the provider of the course 

 (2) Instructor qualification form 

 (3) Providers schedule of classes 

  
Each course instructor and each course must be approved by the director.  In order for the director to 

review application for approval, the following must be submitted: 

 

 (1) The instructor’s qualification form 

 (2) The provider’s application 

 (3) The Provider’s schedule of first class(es) to be held (on Provider Application)   

 (3) A course outline prepared by the instructor.  The outline must include the  

      following subjects and must show the time that will be devoted to each topic.  

                Course outlines shall indicate a sufficient amount of time for each subject area.   

                The subjects to be taught are as follows: 

 

      (A)Areas of law 

       1. Statute; Chapter 374, Sections 374.695 to 374.789, RSMo; 

      2. Statute; Chapter 544, RSMo—Arrest, Examination, Commitment and   

      Bail;  

      3. Federal and state constitutional law and case law. 

     (B) Bail Bond Training 

       1. Licensing. 

           A. Test procedures. 

           B. Regulation. 

           C. Terminology. 

       2. Documentation. 

           A. Power of Attorney. 

       B. Contracts:  elements, classifications.  

       C. Certifications.  

       D. Revocation of bail.  

       E. Incarceration, surrender and release. 

       3. Missouri Supreme Court Rules:  33.17, 33.18, 33.19. 

       4. Rights of a bondsman. 

       A. History. 

       B. Powers. 

           C. Principles. 

           D. Practices. 

     

   5. Business etiquette.  

           A. Contracts. 

           B. Appearance.   

           C. Ethics. 
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  (C) Surety recovery training. 

      1. Licensing. 

           A. Test procedures.  

         B. Regulation.      

            C. Terminology.  

      2. Documentation. 

          A. Contracts. 

          B. Authority. 

             (I) Warrants. 

             (II) Certifications. 

             (III) Extradition.  

            (IV) Incarceration and surrender.  

      3. Apprehension procedures.  

          A. Authority notification.  

          B. Techniques. 

             (I) Verification. 

             (II) Proper use of force.  

            (III) Self identification. 

           (IV) Custody and transportation.  

       4. Legal Liability. 

 

 

Additional Requirements: 

  

 (1) An application fee of one hundred dollars ($100) must be submitted with the 

      provider and course application.  Personal Checks are not accepted. 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 
 

Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions 

and Professional Registration 

PO Box 4001 

301 W. High St. 

Jefferson City, MO  65102 

 

Initial Basic Training Course Provider Application 

 

 

Provider’s 
Name_________________________________________________________ 

 

Provider’s Address_______________________________________________________ 

                                 _______________________________________________________ 

 

Provider’s Telephone Number__________________________________ 

 

Provider’s E-Mail Address ____________________________________ 

 

Provider’s Contact Person_____________________________________ 

 

Attach documentation demonstrating that the course provider has had 3 years competent 

experience in the areas of instruction listed.           

 

Name of Instructor____________________________________________ 

 

Date and Times Successive Courses are Scheduled 

          ____________________________________________________ 

  ____________________________________________________ 

 ____________________________________________________ 

 

Name of Instructor____________________________________________ 

 

Date and Times Successive Courses are scheduled 

          ____________________________________________________ 

  ____________________________________________________ 

 ____________________________________________________ 

 

Attach documentation demonstrating 3 years competent experience in the areas of 

instruction listed.           
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If the above dates and times are unknown at the time of this application, the provider must 

notify our office 30 days prior to the scheduled date.  A form for submission of this 

information will be provided to you upon approval of your course. 

Initial Basic Training Instructor Qualifications 

(To be completed by each instructor.  Make copies if needed) 

 

Name________________________________________________________ 

 

Home Address_________________________________________________ 

 

Home Phone __________________________________________________ 

 

Business Address_______________________________________________ 

 

Business Phone_________________________________________________ 

 

Current Position________________________________________________ 

 

Professional Background: 

  Training and/or schools/industry experience  

 

1.________________________________________  Dates______________ 

2.________________________________________  Dates______________ 

3.________________________________________  Dates______________ 

4.________________________________________  Dates______________ 

 

Prior teaching experience: 

 

1.________________________________________  Dates______________ 

 

Objectives of course or subject taught: (Be specific) 

 

A. 

B. 

C. 

D. 

E. 

 

 

Please attach a resume, which will become a part of this application. 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

Initial Basic Training Provider/Instructor Checklist 

 
In order to be approved as a provider and/or instructor, all of the 

following information must be sent to our office: 

 
____1. Course Provider Application 

 

____2. Initial Basic Training Instructor Qualification Form for each         

Instructor listed on Provider Application 

 

____3. Resume for each Instructor 

 

____4. A course outline prepared by the instructor.  The outline must show  

           the time that will be devoted to each topic.  

 

____5. Fee of $100.  No personal checks will be accepted. 
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