

3315 West Truman Boulevard, Room 131 P.O. Box 58 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0058

Phone: 573-751-4231 Fax: 573-751-2012 www.labor.mo.gov/DWC

E-mail: workerscomp@labor.mo.gov

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON GOVERNOR

LAWRENCE G. RESMAN
DEPARTMENT DIRECTOR

JOHN J. HICKEY
DIVISION DIRECTOR

MEMORANDUM

TO:

All Workers' Compensation Insurance Companies, Self-Insured Employers,

Group Trusts and Third-Party Administrators

FROM:

Lawrence G. Rebman, Director

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

John M. Huff, Director

Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and

Professional Registration

DATE:

October 28, 2011

SUBJECT:

Workers' Compensation Administrative Tax, Administrative Surcharge and

Second Injury Fund Surcharge for the 2012 Calendar Year

As required by Sections 287.690, 287.716 and 287.715 RSMo, the State of Missouri shall impose a workers' compensation administrative tax, administrative surcharge and Second Injury Fund surcharge. For calendar year 2012, the administrative tax will be 1.0 percent, the administrative surcharge will be 1.0 percent and the Second Injury Fund surcharge will be 3.0 percent.

Section 287.690 RSMo authorizes the imposition of an administrative tax not to exceed two percent. Section 287.716 RSMo authorizes the imposition of an administrative surcharge at the same rate as the administrative tax. The revenue from the administrative tax and the administrative surcharge is used to fund the expenses associated with the administration of the Missouri Workers' Compensation law.

The revenue generated by the Second Injury Fund surcharge is used to pay benefit and expense liabilities of the fund. Pursuant to section 287.715 RSMo, the Second Injury Fund surcharge shall not exceed three percent.

Additional information about the functions and services of the Division of Workers' Compensation and the Second Injury Fund may be found at www.labor.mo.gov/DWC/.

The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations and the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration look forward to working with you in 2012. If you have questions or need additional information, contact the Division of Workers' Compensation at 800-775-2667 or the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration at 800-394-0964.

