N,
(e)

<)
Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon
Governor

; . . . .
7 Financial Institutions &
Professional Registration

8 Department of Insurance,

John M. Huff
Director

Understanding your auto claim

Filing a claim

apply “betterment.” Betterment is an

If you have storm damage to your Insurance improvement that increases the value
vehicle, report the incident to your Consumer of property and is more extensive than
insurance company or agent. Follow the Hotline mere repairs. You would be responsible
company’s instructions when making for those charges. For example, if the
your claim. According to Missouri law, 800-726-7390 tires are damaged or the battery must be
insurance companies are required to replaced, the insurer may replace new
handle claims promptly and fairly. insurance.mo.gov for old. The betterment would depend on

Understanding your claim
® Physical damage insurance typically is the
comprehensive and collision coverage on your vehicle.

@ Comprehensive insurance pays for damages to
your car from perils such as windstorm, damage from
storm debris, fire, theft, explosion, hail, vandalism,
glass breakage and animals. Covered perils are listed
in your policy under the insuring agreements section.
This coverage may have no deductible, a $100 or $250
deductible or more. The deductible is the amount of any
loss you must pay before the insurance company will
cover damages.

® Collision insurance covers damage caused by the
collision of your car, regardless of who is responsible.
This type of insurance usually includes a deductible.
Again, you pay the deductible amount when you have
an accident, and the insurance company pays the rest,
up to the limits of your policy.

What is actual cash value?

An insurance company is required to pay the fair
market value of a vehicle. Your car’s fair market value
can be found by surveying dealers in your area, receiving
information from recognized groups such as CCC or ADP
AutoSource, or an industry guide such as “NADA” to
determine the average retail price. When disputing the
company’s offer of settlement, you must prove that your
vehicle is worth more than what the company is offering.

The insurance company will adjust the value based
on physical wear and tear as well as any pre-existing
damage. If the company determines some replacement
items are better than the ones damaged, they may

the age of the older item being replaced.

Estimates

An insurance company is obligated to pay for repairs
“in an amount for which it may be reasonably expected the
damages can be satisfactorily repaired.”

It is common for insurance companies to review
estimates submitted for repairs. However, you are the only
one who can authorize repairs to your car. Therefore, you
can take your car to a body shop of your choosing, but if
the insurance company has a lower estimate from another
body shop, then the lower amount is all the company is
obligated to pay.

According to Missouri regulation 20 CSR 100-1.050
(2)(F), when the insurer elects to repair and designates a
specific repair shop for automobile repairs, the insurer shall
restore the vehicle to its condition prior to the loss at no
additional cost to the claimant, other than as stated in the
policy and within a reasonable period time.

What about rental reimbursement
and loss of use?

Many companies offer an endorsement that you may
purchase to cover rental reimbursement costs that you may
incur in the event your car was damaged. The maximum
waiting period before coverage begins is 48 hours. The
minimum payment is $10 per day or $300 per rental
occurrence. The insurer may terminate these payments
when they extend a reasonable settlement to the insured.

If a claimant does not rent a vehicle, some companies
will offer a small amount per day to help absorb expenses
such as public transportation and getting rides from friends
or family.
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