August 20, 2013
Missouri Department of Insurance begins testing for Navigator licensing
Department establishes testing to comply with Senate Bill 262
Jefferson City, Mo. - Today, the Missouri Department of Insurance released testing information for individuals applying for a license as a navigator. The testing is in compliance with Senate Bill 262. Individuals applying for license as a navigator will be required to pass an exam before being issued a license. An entity or producer with an active license to sell health insurance products in Missouri will not be required to take the exam. The cost for applying for a navigator's license is $25 for an individual or $50 for an entity. Each license is valid for two years.
Pearson VUE will administer the test in Columbia, Overland Park, Springfield, St. Louis and Kansas City. Candidates who wish to make an exam reservation should call 866-274-4740. Candidates must pay the $41 examination fee at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, electronic check or voucher.
Before making a reservation, candidates should review the Missouri Navigator Licensing Candidate Handbook. It can be downloaded at http://asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/122606.pdf . The handbook is useful in preparing for the examination and it is recommended that the content outline be reviewed prior to taking the exam. It can be downloaded at http://asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/122607.pdf .
Individuals and entities licensed as navigators can provide fair and impartial information and services to consumers regarding eligibility, enrollment and program specifications about the health insurance marketplace operating in the state.
Those applying for an individual navigator license must:
- Be 18 or older.
- Reside in Missouri or maintain a principal place of business in Missouri.
- Not be disqualified for having committed any act that would be grounds for refusal to issue, renew, suspend or revoke an insurance producer license.
- Successfully pass the examination prescribed by the director.
- When applicable, have the written consent of the director of the Missouri Department of Insurance under 18 U.S.C. §1033 or any successor statute regulating crimes by or affecting persons engaged in the business of insurance whose activities affect interstate commerce.
- Have identified the entity with which he or she is affiliated and supervised.
- Have paid the fees prescribed by the director.
For more information visit www.pearsonvue.com/mo/insurance/ .
About the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Registration
The Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration (DIFP) is responsible for consumer protection through the regulation of financial industries and professionals. The department's seven divisions work to enforce state regulations both efficiently and effectively while encouraging a competitive environment for industries and professions to ensure consumers have access to quality products.