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MEMORANDUM

TO: All Workers” Compensation Insurance Companies, Self-Insured Employers,
Group Trusts and Third-Party Administrators

FROM: Lawrence G. Rebman, Directorﬁi«’d;
Missouri Department of Labor and Indus¥¥ial Relations

John M. Huff, Direct
Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and
Professional Registration

DATE: October 29, 2012

SUBIJECT: Workers’ Compensation Administrative Tax, Administrative Surcharge and
Second Injury Fund Surcharge for the 2013 Calendar Year

As required by Sections 287.690, 287.716 and 287.715 RSMo, the State of Missouri shall impose a
workers’ compensation administrative tax, administrative surcharge and Second Injury Fund surcharge.
For calendar year 2013, the administrative tax will be 1.0 percent, the administrative surcharge will be
1.0 percent and the Second Injury surcharge will be 3.0 percent.

Section 287.690 RSMo authorizes the imposition of an administrative tax not to exceed two percent.
Section 287.716 RSMo authorizes the imposition of an administrative surcharge at the same rate as the
administrative tax. The revenue from the administrative tax and the administrative surcharge is used to
fund expenses associated with the administration of the Missouri Workers’ Compensation law.

The revenue generated by the Second Injury Fund surcharge is used to pay benefit and expense
liabilities of the fund. Pursuant to section 287.715 RSMo, the Second Injury Fund surcharge shall not
exceed three percent.

Additional information about the functions and services of the Division of Workers’ Compensation and
the Second Injury Fund may be found at www.labor.mo.gov/DWC(C/.

The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations and the Department of Insurance, Financial
Institutions and Professional Registration look forward to working with you in 2013. If you have
questions or need additional information, contact the Division of Workers’ Compensation at 800-775-
2667 or the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration at 800-394-
0964.

Relay Missouri: 800-735-2966


http://labor.mo.gov/DWC/

