State of Missouri John Ashcroft, Governor

Department of Economic Development Carl M. Koupal, Jr., Director
Division of Insurance Lewis E. Melahn
P.O. Box 690 Director

Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0690
Telephone 314/751-4126

BULLETIN 89-15

TO: All insurance agents and insurance brokers licensed in the lines of
life, accident and health, property and casualty in Missouri, all
insurance companjes licensed in Missouri and all state insurance
departments

FROM: Lewis E. Melahn, Director %&

RE: Continuing Education and Certification Letters
DATE: November 2, 1989

I. Continuing Education

Please @’@Mﬂl[s%%ﬁ)?& RnlLN@PELRﬁTﬁAErement set
forth in Sectlon upp Insurance agents and brokers

subject to this law must attend 15 hours of instruction (or 24 hours of
instruction if licensed for life, accident and health, property and casualty)
by 1/1/93 and every three years thereafter. The Dlrector of Insurance has
promulgated 4 CSR 190-12.130 to implement this law.

Continuing education hours may be earned through classroom
instruction, a course leading to a professional designation and non-live
instruction subject to limitations as follows:

Classroom instruction with a maximum credit of fifteen (15) CEC hours
per course. If tested, student will receive full credit if student passes
the test or attends two~thirds (2/3) of the course. If not tested,
student will receive credit for each CEC hour of attendance;

A course leading lo a professional designation when the student
receives a passing grade. Maximum credit is fifteen (15) CEC hours
per course;

Non~-live instruction that is monitored. The student will receive
hour-for-hour CEC with a waximum credit in any three (3) year
reporting period of five (5) CEC hours for life, ancident and health and
five (5) CEC hours for property and casualty; and

Non-live instruction that is not monitored (including self-study). The
student must pass an exam to receive credit. Maximum credit within a



three (3) year reporting period is five (5) CEC hours for life, accident
and health and five (5) CEC hours for property and casualty.

Agents and brokers must submit the Continuing Education Certification
Summary to show compliance with the law, a copy which is enclosed.

All agents and brokers subject to the continuing education law must pay
a ten dollar ($10.00) filing fee to cover the administrative cost related to the
handling of the continuing education certification summary each time a
summary is filed with the director. This filing fee must be paid by all
insurance agents and insurance brokers for the first reporting period ending
danuary 1, 1993 subject to the following:

1. Agents and bhrokers havin-t-z a birthdate during January
through April must pay the fee by March 1, 1990.

2. Agents and brokers having a birthdate during May through August
must pay the fee by March ), 1991.

3. Agents and brokers having a birthdate during September through
December must pay the fee by March 1, 1992,

Insurance agents and insurance brokers licensed subsequent to
November 1, 1989 must pay the filing fee for the applicant's first reporting
period as follows:

1. Agemters
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2. Agents and brokers newly licensed during November, 1990 through
October, 1991 must pay the fee by March 1, 199?.

3. Agents and brokers newly licensed during November, 1981 through
October, 1992 must pay the fee by March 1, 1893,

Filing fees must be paid by money order, cashier's check, company or
agency check. Filing fees are not refundable.

Course sponsors/providers of courses must seek course approval by
applying for course approval with the director of insurance. Upon approval,
course sponsors/providers must furnish a course completion form to agents
and brokers who have completed an approved course.

II. Certification Letters

The fee for a letter of certification is $10.00 pursuant to Section
374.230(9), RSMo Supp 1989. This fee must be paid by money order,
cashier's check, company or agent check.





