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To Whom It May Concern:

On January 1, 2005, the initial basic training requirement for Bail Bond Agents, General Bail bond
Agents and Surety Recovery Agents of Senate Bill 1122 went into effect. This law requires all Bail Bond
Agents, General Bail Bond Agents and Surety Recovery Agents applying for licensure in the state of
Missouri to meet education requirements prior to the license being issued. The education courses must be
completed within the year immediately preceding the date of the application for licensure. A license will
be issued to resident applicants only after passing the test and providing proof that educational courses
have been completed.

All applicants must complete 24 hours of approved education, taught by personnel with qualifications
approved by the director and shall include instructions consisting of the following:

(A)Areas of law
1. Statute; Chapter 374, Sections 374.695 to 374.789, RSMo;
2. Statute; Chapter 544, RSMo—Aurrest, Examination, Commitment and Bail;
3. Federal and state constitutional law and case law.
A. Warrants/warrant procedures
B. Incarceration, surrender and release
C. Extraditions
D. Use of force
E. Custody and transportation
(B) Bail Bond Training
1. Licensing.
A. Test procedures.
B. Regulation.

C. Terminology.
2. Documentation.
A. Power of Attorney.

B. Contracts: elements, classifications.

C. Certifications.

D. Revocation of bail.

E. Incarceration, surrender and release.
3. Missouri Supreme Court Rules: 33.17, 33.18, 33.19.
4. Rights of a bondsman.

A. History.

B. Powers.

C. Principles.

D. Practices.
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5. Business etiquette.
A. Contracts.
B. Appearance.
C. Ethics.

(C) Surety recovery training.
1. Licensing.
A. Test procedures.
B. Regulation.
C. Terminology.
2. Documentation.
A. Contracts.
B. Authority.
() Warrants.
(1) Certifications.
(1) Extradition.
(V) Incarceration and surrender.
3. Apprehension procedures.
A. Authority notification.
B. Techniques.
(1) Verification.
(11) Proper use of force.
(1) Self identification.
(V) Custody and transportation.
4. Legal Liability.

The director shall grant authority to:

(1) Public and private institutions

(2) Education organizations

(3) Associations

(4) Individuals
that provide satisfactory evidence that the courses of study are in substantial compliance with the
requirements established by the director. The cost to applicants for a 24-hour course shall not exceed

$200.00.

Contact Beth Bowman in the License Section at 573-751-3518 if you have questions concerning the
procedures and requirements for Initial Basic Training approval.

Sincerely,

Beth Bowman
License Technician Il

enc.



Enclosed you will find:

(1) An application for the provider of the course
(2) Instructor qualification form
(3) Providers schedule of classes

Each course instructor and each course must be approved by the director. In order for the director to
review application for approval, the following must be submitted:

(1) The instructor’s qualification form

(2) The provider’s application

(3) The Provider’s schedule of first class(es) to be held (on Provider Application)

(3) A course outline prepared by the instructor. The outline must include the
following subjects and must show the time that will be devoted to each topic.
Course outlines shall indicate a sufficient amount of time for each subject area.
The subjects to be taught are as follows:

(A)Areas of law
1. Statute; Chapter 374, Sections 374.695 to 374.789, RSMo;
2. Statute; Chapter 544, RSMo—Aurrest, Examination, Commitment and
Bail;
3. Federal and state constitutional law and case law.
(B) Bail Bond Training
1. Licensing.
A. Test procedures.
B. Regulation.

C. Terminology.
2. Documentation.
A. Power of Attorney.

B. Contracts: elements, classifications.

C. Certifications.

D. Revocation of bail.

E. Incarceration, surrender and release.
3. Missouri Supreme Court Rules: 33.17, 33.18, 33.109.
4. Rights of a bondsman.

A. History.

B. Powers.

C. Principles.

D. Practices.

5. Business etiquette.
A. Contracts.
B. Appearance.
C. Ethics.



(C) Surety recovery training.
1. Licensing.
A. Test procedures.
B. Regulation.
C. Terminology.
2. Documentation.
A. Contracts.
B. Authority.
(I) Warrants.
(1) Certifications.
(111) Extradition.
(V) Incarceration and surrender.
3. Apprehension procedures.
A. Authority notification.
B. Techniques.
(1) Verification.
(11) Proper use of force.
(1) Self identification.
(IV) Custody and transportation.
4. Legal Liability.

Additional Requirements:

(1) An application fee of one hundred dollars ($100) must be submitted with the
provider and course application. Personal Checks are not accepted.



Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions
and Professional Registration
PO Box 4001
301 W. High St.
Jefferson City, MO 65102

Initial Basic Training Course Provider Application

Provider’s
Name

Provider’s Address

Provider’s Telephone Number

Provider’s E-Mail Address

Provider’s Contact Person

Attach documentation demonstrating that the course provider has had 3 years competent
experience in the areas of instruction listed.

Name of Instructor

Date and Times Successive Courses are Scheduled

Name of Instructor

Date and Times Successive Courses are scheduled

Attach documentation demonstrating 3 years competent experience in the areas of
instruction listed.

If the above dates and times are unknown at the time of this application, the provider must
notify our office 30 days prior to the scheduled date. A form for submission of this
information will be provided to you upon approval of your course.




Initial Basic Training Instructor Qualifications
(To be completed by each instructor. Make copies if needed)

Name

Home Address

Home Phone

Business Address

Business Phone

Current Position

Professional Background:
Training and/or schools/industry experience

1. Dates
2. Dates
3. Dates
4, Dates
Prior teaching experience:

1. Dates

Objectives of course or subject taught: (Be specific)

moow»

Please attach a resume, which will become a part of this application.



Initial Basic Training Provider/Instructor Checklist

In order to be approved as a provider and/or instructor, all of the
following information must be sent to our office:

1. Course Provider Application

2. Initial Basic Training Instructor Qualification Form for each
Instructor listed on Provider Application

3. Resume for each Instructor

4. A course outline prepared by the instructor. The outline must show
the time that will be devoted to each topic.

5. Fee of $100. No personal checks will be accepted.
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