
DIFP
Department of Insurance,
Financial Institutions &
Professional Registration

Report on timeliness 
of insurer payment to

Missouri healthcare providers

Dec. 31, 2009

Prompt Pay 
for a Healthy Missouri 

Project

John M. Huff, Director



 Department of Insurance 
Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon                                                                          Financial Institutions 
Governor and Professional Registration  
State of Missouri John M. Huff, Director 
 

301 West High Street, Room 530, P.O. Box 690 • Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0690• 
Telephone 573/751-4126 • TDD 1-573-526-4536 (Hearing Impaired)  

http://www.difp.mo.gov 
 

OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR 

 

December 31, 2009 

 
Office of Governor Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon 
Post Office Box 720 
Jefferson City, Missouri   65102 
 
 Re:   Prompt Pay Report  
 
The Honorable Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon: 

In accordance with Executive Order 09-24, I am pleased to submit the following “prompt 
pay” report detailing the challenges experienced by Missouri health care providers in receiving 
timely payment from health insurance companies.  

 
The report recommends Missouri law be strengthened to make the medical claims 

process more efficient, by providing clear direction to both insurers and health care providers on 
their roles and responsibilities. While many insurers are meeting their financial obligations to 
providers, others are not.  

 
Rather than advocate specific statutory language, the report articulates the legislative 

principles essential to ensure effective and efficient medical claims processing in Missouri. Also, 
where appropriate, I will order a number of regulatory actions by the department, including 
market conduct examinations of health insurance companies. 

 
This report is based on data provided by Missouri hospitals, which were surveyed with 

the assistance of the Missouri Hospital Association.  The survey was designed to determine the 
extent of payment delays and to identify areas that could benefit from stronger state laws and 
additional regulatory action. 
  

It has been a privilege to investigate an issue that impacts virtually all Missourians and to 
provide what the department believes are constructive solutions.  
 
       Sincerely, 

    
 
 
       John M. Huff, Director 

Missouri Department of Insurance,  
Financial Institutions and  
Professional Registration 
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Executive Summary 

 
 In 2008, Missouri insurers paid out $10.4 billion to satisfy health insurance claims, an 

amount equal to nearly 5 percent of Missouri’s GDP.1

 

  Of this amount, the carriers included in 

this report paid $5.1 billion.  In spite of the large sums paid during any given year, providers 

continue to express dissatisfaction with the claims handling processes by insurance carriers.   

 In September of 2009 Governor Jay Nixon issued Executive Order 09-24 establishing the 

Prompt Pay for a Healthy Missouri Project (“the Project”) to inquire into the timeliness of 

payment to Missouri medical providers by health insurers.  The director of the Missouri 

Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Registration (DIFP), John M. 

Huff, was designated Project Director and directed to issue a report on the scope of the problem 

by December 31, 2009.  This report satisfies that requirement. 

 

 Based on the findings, it is apparent the Missouri prompt pay statute, effective in 2002, 

has had only a modest impact on claims processing times, and that substantial amounts owed to 

medical providers remain unpaid for extended periods of time.  While slow processing times 

impact virtually all hospitals throughout Missouri, smaller rural providers are more sensitive to 

interruptions to cash flow, and appear to experience significantly elevated claim payment times.  

The report concludes by identifying possible ways that the Missouri prompt pay statute might be 

made more effective.    

 

 This report is based on a survey of Missouri hospitals, focused inquiries with hospitals, 

insurers and other interested stakeholders, and research of the secondary literature.2

                                                 
1 Missouri DIFP A&H Supplement Data and Financial Annual Statement for Health.   This figure approximates 
payments for health insurance coverage that is subject to Missouri’s prompt pay statute.  Workers compensation and 
medical payments made pursuant to liability coverage are not included in the $10.4 billion amount, nor are payments 
made by self-insured plans.   

  Because 

data were collected pursuant to the examination and investigation authority of the DIFP, all 

individual responses are considered confidential.  Survey results are presented only in aggregate 

or in a  form that otherwise preserves the anonymity of both respondents and insurers.     

2 Data preparation and analysis was overseen by Brent Kabler, Ph.D. of the DIFP’s Statistics Section. 
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The survey response rate was substantial, with the 69 hospitals that provided data representing 

over 70 percent of hospital revenue in Missouri. In addition, several physician groups and clinics 

also provided data.   Based on the survey results, it may be concluded that: 

 

1.  A significant proportion of pending claims (i.e. “accounts receivable” or A/R) submitted to 

insurers for medical services rendered remained unpaid in excess of 90 days.  At the end of the 

2nd quarter of 2009, hospitals and other providers that responded to the survey had outstanding 

claims equal to $584,705,541.  Of this amount, over one-quarter, or $153,325,840, remained 

unpaid in excess of 90 days.3

 

     All A/R percents in this report are based on the dollar amount of 

claims rather than the number of claims. Claim numbers were requested, but most respondents 

were unable to provide these data.  

 

 
 
                                                 
3 Note that these figures do not measure the percent of all claims paid in excess of 90 days.  Since the A/R amounts 
are reported as of a moment in time, the “over 90 day” category represents the accumulated values of claims over 
time until such claims are either paid or “written off.”  The other time intervals, such as “under 30 days,” will 
obviously not accumulate over time. The A/R data was collected since it was not possible for most hospitals to 
provide an accounting of all claims over a given time period.  However, the A/R figures provide valuable 
information about the impact of timeliness of payment on hospitals’ cash flow and finances, and are commonly used 
for this purpose. 
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2.  A comparison of the 2009 data with comparable data from 1999 reveals that prompt pay 

standards enacted in 2001 have had a very modest impact upon the timeliness of claim 

processing.  While the percent of claim amounts paid in under 30 days improved somewhat, the 

percent of claims still outstanding after 90 days remained virtually unchanged.  The current 

Missouri prompt pay statute was effective in 2002. 

 

 

 
Note:  Data from the 1999 MHA survey was available only for the St. Louis area.  For purposes of comparison, data 

from the 2009 survey was matched as closely as possible to the available 1999 data. 
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3. There is significant variation between insurers with respect to the timeliness of payments.  For 

three insurer groups, nearly one-third of outstanding claims remained unpaid after 90 days, while 

the corresponding figure for the three most prompt payers was close to 10 percent.     

 

Insurer Group % A/R Over 90 Days Total A/R Amount* 

J 31.3% Less than $1M 

D 30.5% $10M to $20M 

K 30.4% $21M to $50M 

G 29.2% Over $50M 

M 25.0% Over $50M 

C 24.8% Over $50M 

H 23.9% Over $50M 

N 23.9% $10M to $20M 

F 22.4% $21M to $50M 

I 18.6% $21M to $50M 

A 11.2% Less than $1M 

E 10.2% $10M to $20M 

L 7.4% Less than $1M 

Total 26.5% $581,008,538 
*A/R amounts in this column represent total A/R across all time categories:  0-30 days, 31-60 days, 61-90 days, and 
over 90 days. 
 

 The DIFP’s Division of Insurance Market Regulation will continue investigating 

particular insurers to determine possible causes for the divergence across insurers, and consider 

all appropriate regulatory responses.  

 

4. There was also significant variation across Missouri regions.  In general, payment times were 

shorter for the western and middle areas of the state compared to eastern areas.  Not all of the 

variation is attributable to a different mix of payers in each region, as there were also intra-payer 

regional differences.  It is not known whether observed differences represent insurer practices 

that might have a regional impact or whether the differences are a result of hospital accounting 

practices, or both.  The geographic regions are defined in the body of the report. 
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In addition, rural hospitals experienced significantly elevated delays compared to their 

urban counterparts.   The proportion of claims still pending after 90 days (based on dollars) 

was 11.5 percentage points higher among rural areas of the state. 
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5. Services considered not medically necessary by the insurer ranked as the most common reason 

for claim denials.  This reason alone accounted for over 44 percent of all denials (based on dollar 

amount).  The second most common reason was a failure to meet claim submission deadlines, 

either with respect to the original claim or with requested follow-up information.   

 

The analysis presented below suggests the need for unambiguous statutory guidelines 

governing claims processing.  Missouri’s current “prompt pay” statute became effective in 2002.  

Sections 376.383 and 376.384, RSMo, Supp. 2008,4

 

 establish timelines for processing health 

insurance claims, and violations are subject to interest and civil penalties.  However, 

stakeholders have long expressed dissatisfaction with the current language, asserting that the 

statute has done little to improve claim processing delays. The survey results presented here 

provide some support to such contentions.     

This report does not endorse particular statutory language, though deficiencies in the 

current statute are noted.  It is the recommendation of this report that future legislative action be 

guided by the following principles: 

 

Reasonableness:  The information required by insurers to process a claim should be reasonably 

available to medical providers.  For example, insurers should not be able to require patient tax 

returns or police reports.   

 

Relevancy:  Informational requests should be limited to items which are reasonably necessary to 

properly adjudicate a claim. 

 

Transparency:   All insurer informational requirements should be easily accessible to medical 

providers. 

 

 

 

                                                 
4 All statutory references in this report are to the 2008 supplement of the revised statutes of Missouri unless 
otherwise indicated.   
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The following statutory deficiencies in current Missouri law have been identified: 

  

1.  Lack of a clean claim definition.  About half of prompt pay statutes in other states provide a 

definition of clean claim. A clean claim is generally free from material defect or error and meets 

minimal informational standards.  A claim not considered clean thus contains information that is 

incomplete, inaccurate or otherwise inadequate for an insurer to properly assess their liability. In 

the context of a prompt pay statute, a claim satisfying the legal definition triggers time limits for 

closing (i.e. paying or denying) a claim.    Examples of clean claim definitions found in existing 

prompt pay laws can be found in the appendices.  Definitions range from the relative generic 

Medicare standard to much more detailed definitions that specify forms and data elements.     

 

2.  The ability of insurers to suspend a claim indefinitely.  Currently, insurers are required to pay, 

deny, or suspend a claim within forty days after receipt of the claim and any additional 

information deemed necessary to process the claim.  An insurer may suspend a claim by 

“…giving notice to the claimant specifying the reason the claim is not yet paid, including but not 

limited to grounds as listed in the contract between the claimant and the health carrier…” 

§376.383.1(8)  This provision appears to be unique to Missouri, and was originally included to 

afford insurers additional time to investigate unusual or suspect claims, such as instances of 

suspected fraud.  However, medical providers claim that this provision of the statute can be 

implemented in an arbitrary way and places large volumes of claims in a sort of legal purgatory 

in which payments may be deferred indefinitely.   As an alternative, some providers have 

suggested the abolition of the “suspension” clause so that a claim must either be paid or denied 

within the appropriate timeframes.   

 

3.  The lack of a consistent processing days standard for claims processing times.  Currently, 

processing days is defined as “…the number of days the health carrier has the claim in its 

possession [excluding] days in which the health carrier is waiting for a response to a request for 

additional information.” §376.383.1(6)   However, this standard is not used consistently 

throughout the statute, so that in parts the terms working days or just days are substituted.    As 
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written, the statute penalizes insurers for claim delays caused by the failure of medical providers 

to submit requested information.   

 Lastly, the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Registration 

(DIFP) is considering a heightened level of regulatory scrutiny of health insurers’ claims 

processing practices.  Since the prompt pay law became effective, the DIFP has recovered $2.1 

million in unpaid interest, and assessed an additional $1.4 million in penalties for prompt pay 

violations found during market conduct examinations. In addition, investigations by the 

Consumer Services Section of complaints from medical providers regarding claims has resulted 

in recoveries totaling $1.7 million; $1.2 million of this amount was associated with claim 

processing delays.  Under consideration are methods to increase market surveillance capacities to 

identify problem areas, and ways to exert an appropriate level of oversight.  

 

  The DIFP’s Division of Insurance Market Regulation will be continuing the 

investigation initiated for this report to determine if examinations of particular insurers are 

appropriate.    Pursuant to regulation, market conduct examination warrants may be issued  if 

evidence indicates that an insurer may be “…engaging in any practice or course of business in 

violation…” of statute or regulation.  Such evidence may be obtained from a variety of sources, 

including “market surveys” or “…any credible source with direct access to relevant information” 

(20 CSR 100.8.005(2)(C)(1 and 4)).  The extent of claim processing delays, and the large 

variation in claims processing observed across insurers, may be indicative of possible 

compliance failures. 
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Overview 

 

 During the late 1990’s numerous states enacted prompt pay statutes in response to 

complaints by medical providers about the timeliness of payments by health insurers.  Prompt 

pay statutes should, at a minimum, establish clear time frames for closing a claim.  Missouri’s 

prompt pay statute became effective in 2002. Since then, the DIFP has levied $3.4 million in 

interest and penalties for significant violations of the statute.  However, many medical providers, 

in both Missouri and elsewhere, argue that prompt pay statutes have had little practical impact on 

overall claims handling, and assert that a large volume of claims remain unpaid well in excess of 

statutory timeframes.   

 

 While large medical institutions may be able to weather cash flow problems stemming 

from untimely payments, the ability of smaller provider groups and physician practices to 

effectively deliver medical services could be significantly impaired if claims  are not paid in a 

timely fashion. Like all businesses, medical providers depend on relatively prompt debt 

satisfaction in order to maintain payroll, make necessary capital investments, and generally “pay 

the bills.”   

 

 Due to the concern that the delivery of essential medical services might be impaired, 

Governor Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon issued Executive Order  09-24, establishing the Prompt Pay 

for a Healthy Missouri Project (“the Project”) to inquire into the claims handling practices of 

Missouri health insurers.  This report is the result.   

 

 

Methodology 

 

 In addition to conducting focused discussions with various stakeholders and researching 

secondary sources, a survey of Missouri hospitals was issued to try to capture a “snapshot” of 

accounts receivable, or A/R.  The A/R figures represent claims currently pending as of the end of 

the second quarter of 2009.  In some ways, A/R data are a somewhat circumscribed 

representation of claims handling practices. This method was chosen since most hospitals would 
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have significant difficulty providing a census of all claims processed during a specified time 

period, while the A/R figures are routinely produced by most institutions and are generally 

considered an appropriate measure of the revenue cycle or cash flow.  Thus, the A/R amounts 

could be reliably produced within the relatively short time period allotted for the survey and 

subsequent report.  In addition, the DIFP sought information about the causes of claim delays 

and denials, though only about half of respondents were able to satisfy this request. 

 

It is worth noting that respondents were generally unable to provide data consisting solely 

of licensed insurers, such that self-insured health plans that do not fall under the purview of the 

prompt pay statute are included in the figures presented below.  To the degree that self-insured 

plans have significantly lengthier claims processing times compared to licensed insurers, the 

figures below may somewhat overestimate claim delays by licensed carriers.   Several insurers 

have indicated that this is indeed the case.  However, beyond anecdotal evidence, no empirical 

data were available to assess the accuracy of such claims nor to quantify the magnitude of any 

possible “statistical bias” arising from the inclusion of self-insured business.5

 

   

 Respondents were asked to produce A/R reports for each of several large Missouri 

insurers.  Insurers were selected based on 2008 premium written for comprehensive health 

coverage (excluding, for example, long term care policies or  credit accident & health),  The list 

of  carriers contains life companies and HMOs.  Property and casualty companies, and associated 

lines of business such as workers compensation or medical payments made pursuant to liability 

policies, were excluded.   Respondents were also asked to provide data only for payments owed 

by specified insurers, exclusive of any co-pays or other amounts due from patients.   

 

 With the assistance of the Missouri Hospital Association, a questionnaire was emailed to 

virtually all licensed hospitals in Missouri.  In addition, the survey questionnaire was placed on 

the DIFP’s website and information from medical providers other than licensed hospitals, such as 

physician groups or clinics, was solicited.  A/R aging reports by insurer were requested, with the 
                                                 
5 Providers generally do not know whether an patient is covered under a fully insured plan or whether the insurer is 
acting as a “third party administrator” to a self-insured plan.  Beginning in 2010, insurers will be required to 
distinguish fully insured from self-insured coverage on each identification card issued to insureds (20 CSR  100-
1.070).  The inability of providers to distinguish each type of coverage has historically limited the ability of 
providers to exert their legal rights under Missouri’s prompt pay statute.   
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data captured in four categories consisting of all open claims that were pending 0-30 days, 31-60 

days, 61-90 days, and over 90 days as of the end of the second quarter of 2009.  In addition, 

providers were asked to detail the reasons claims were denied and ultimately written-off.  Again, 

the survey was designed to capture useful information within the context of time constraints, 

given the degree of urgency surrounding prompt pay issues.  

 

 Non-respondents were contacted a second time, resulting in a significantly improved 

response rate.  The final response rate was rather high compared to the general experience of 

mail surveys.  Nearly half of licensed hospitals submitted data, though the respondents 

represented 71 percent of all hospital revenue in Missouri.  In addition, several large physician 

groups and clinics provided data.     

 

 In the analysis that follows, data are presented by Missouri regions (defined below). 

While the overall response rate supports robust inferences, responses rates were substantially 

lower in some areas of the state.  As a caveat, conclusions about regions with low response rates 

should be considered somewhat provisional.  The regional response distribution is as follows: 

 

Table 1a:  Survey Response Rate by Region 

Region Market Share of 
Respondents, Based on 
Total Annual Revenue 

from All Sources  
Kansas City and surrounding area 63.9% 

St. Louis area and surrounding 88.5% 

Mid-state 78.1% 

Southwest 85.5% 

Southeast 8.1% 

Northeast 62.3% 

Northwest 15.6% 

Total 71.0% 
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Data are also presented separately for urban and rural counties.   The response rate for rural 

hospitals was significantly lower than that for urban hospitals.   

 

 

Table 1b:  Survey Response Rate by Level of Urbanization 

Region Market Share of 
Respondents, Based on 
Total Annual Revenue 

from All Sources  
Urban counties 82.6% 

Rural counties 38.4% 

 

 

 Background – Financial Stress in a Period of Economic Uncertainty 

  

 Many businesses rely to some degree on the day-to-day extension of credit to their 

customers for the provision of goods and services.  Obviously, the financial viability of a 

business can be impaired if a large proportion of accounts remains unpaid for significant periods 

of time, or must ultimately be written-off as uncollectible.  Health care providers are almost 

unique among industries in that virtually all services are rendered on “credit,” such that payment 

for services delivered today will  occur at some future date.  Only a small  fraction of medical 

services are paid for “up front.”  

 

  Along with administrative costs associated with claims processing, payment delays per 

se can impose significant costs upon medical providers  - the present value of amounts ultimately 

paid after significant delays may be substantially less than the nominal value of claims.6

                                                 
6 That is, economists recognize that monies received in the present are more valuable in real terms than monies 
received in the future.  To account for the time value of money, present values are calculated by discounting 
nominal monetary amounts by some rate over time, commonly the interest rate.   

  One 

study found present value losses due to claim delays to be nontrivial.  Based on an analysis of 
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claims delayed beyond permissible statutory guidelines, the value of the payments declined by 6 

percent in real terms compared to the value of claims paid in conformity to statute.7

 

  

 Beyond the erosion of present values attributable to claim delays, simple administrative 

costs associated with processing claims can be substantial.  One study of hospital and physician 

offices in California estimated that physician offices spent up to 14 percent of revenue on the 

insurance and billing function; the corresponding figure for hospitals was 7-11 percent.8

 

    

    During periods of robust economic growth, medical providers and particularly larger 

institutions are better able to absorb the costs associated with even substantial delays in 

compensation associated with claims processing.  Medical institutions receive a substantial 

proportion of revenue from non-patient sources, such as investment income.  However, such 

revenue streams as well as costs may fluctuate significantly in conjunction with the economic 

business cycle.   In addition, increases in indigent care and loss of patient volume can impair 

financial performance and operating margins during economic downturns.  During such times, 

timely payment may assume a more critical role in the financial health of medical providers and 

their continued ability to deliver necessary services.   

 

 The relationship between hospital margins (or the ratio of revenue to costs) and the 

economic business cycle is apparent in the following figure.    Using the unemployment rate as a 

proxy for economic growth, the following graph illustrates how operating margins are inversely 

related to general economic conditions.  When unemployment increases, operating margins 

generally decrease, though the period 1998-2000 appears to be an exception.  As unemployment 

rates declined after the recession ending in 2003, operating margins quickly recovered.   

 

 

 

 
                                                 
7 Swayne, Lawrence, et al.  2002.  Compliance with prompt payment legislation:  The initial experiences of New 
Jersey Radiologists.  American Journal of Roentgenology.  179:  21-25.   
 
8 Kahn, James G, et al.  2005.  The cost of health insurance administration in California:  Estimates for insurers, 
physicians, and hospitals.  Health Affairs.  24: 1629-1639. 
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Figure 1 

   
Source:   Unemployment data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Hospital operating margin data were obtained 
from Medicare Payment Advisory Committee (MPAC).  June, 2009.  A Data Book: Healthcare Spending and the 
Medicare Program.  Washington:  Government Printing Office, page 84.  
 

Table 2 

Hospital Margins and Average Annual 
Unemployment 

Year 

Hospital 
Margins 
- All 
Payers 

Avg. Annual 
Unemployment 

1994 4.6% 6.1% 
1995 5.8% 5.6% 
1996 5.9% 5.4% 
1997 6.4% 4.9% 
1998 4.8% 4.5% 
1999 3.6% 4.2% 
2000 3.9% 4.0% 
2001 3.7% 4.7% 
2002 3.6% 5.8% 
2003 4.3% 6.0% 
2004 4.3% 5.5% 
2005 4.8% 5.1% 
2006 5.4% 4.6% 
2007 6.0% 4.6% 
2008 * 5.8% 

Hospital Margins vs. Average Annual Unemployment Rate
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Even during more prosperous times, smaller hospitals and physician practices may 

experience difficulty in building capacity or maintaining reserves.  For example, during 2007 the 

operating margin of all hospitals was a robust 6 percent.  However, during that same year, 25 

percent of hospitals reported a negative margin such that they were essentially operating at a 

loss.9

 

   

 While operating margin data are unavailable past 2007, it appears very likely that the 

current economic downturn is having a deleterious impact on the financial position of medical 

providers.  Indeed, there is abundant evidence that financial indicators have significantly 

deteriorated since 2007.  According to the Healthcare Financial Management Association 

(HFMA), by the end of 2008 hospitals faced “…unprecedented levels of financial impact from 

the economic recession and credit market dislocations.”   For example, fifty percent of hospitals 

reported declines in patient volume during the last half of 2008, and over 60 percent reported that 

increases in indigent care and bad debt were having a negative impact of financial performance.  

In a follow-up hospital survey conducted in March of 2009, 73 percent of respondents reported a 

decrease in cash on hand, with 22 percent reporting declines in excess of 20 percent.10

 

  

 As the following figures attest, the impact of revenue strains differ by type of hospital.  In 

general, larger hospitals with greater investment streams suffered the greatest declines in 

nonoperating income, while rural hospitals experienced the most significant declines in patient 

revenues.   Among the largest hospitals with bed capacity over 500, 83 percent reported declines 

in nonoperating income, and 79 percent of such hospitals experienced declines of greater than 20 

percent.   Conversely, 60 percent of smaller rural hospitals reported declines in net patient 

revenue, with 39 percent of hospitals reporting revenue declines of over 5 percent.11

 

 

 

 

                                                 
9 MPAC, op cit. 
 
10 Healthcare Financial Management Association.  June, 2009.  Healthcare Financial Pulse. Special Report: How 
Hospitals are Responding to the Current Financial Crisis.   Available on the internet at 
http://www.hfma.org/pulse/default.htm  
11 Ibid.   

http://www.hfma.org/pulse/default.htm�
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Figure 2a 

 
 

Figure 2b 

 

0.14
0.04

0.32

0.17
0.26

0.64 0.79
0.32

0.51

0.53

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

90%

All >500 300-500 100-300 0-100

Percentage of Hospitals with Decline in 
Nonoperating Income

>20% Decline

0-20% Decline

3.0%
8.0% 5.0%

0.0% 3.0%

10.0%

31.0%

9.0%

4.0%
5.0%

40.0%

21.0%

36.0%

33.0% 26.0%

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

All Rural Small City Large City Major City

Percentage of Hospitals - Decline in Net Patient 
Revenue

0-5%

5-10%

>10%



 

 17 

 These figures indicate that, especially in times of economic stress, medical provider 

financial performance can be sensitive to the timeliness of claim payments.  While no hard 

evidence has been found that might quantify the impact of claim delays on the ability of 

providers to deliver essential medical services, anecdotal evidence suggests that smaller hospitals 

and physician practices may experience significant cash flow problems that could impair such 

services.  This issue deserves greater investigation than was possible in the relatively limited 

time frame allotted for producing the report.  However, the evidence obtained suggests a cause 

for concern.   
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Survey Results 
 

The survey reveals that outstanding accounts of medical providers are “aged” well 

beyond those of other industries.  For all providers that responded to the survey, 26.5 percent of 

the dollar amount of claims in A/R were still pending after 90 days. Based on conversations with 

provider accounting staff, these claims are not written off and removed from A/R until such time 

as they are considered uncollectible.   

 

  Figure 3:  A/R Aging Exhibit from 2009 Survey 

 
Source: Prompt Pay Project, Survey of Missouri hospitals, 2009  

 

 The amounts of delayed payments are substantial.  The dollar amount of claims 

remaining unpaid after 90 days totaled nearly $154 million. While this represents a relatively 

small proportion of total annual hospital revenue (approximately 1.4 percent),  amounts 

associated with delayed claim payments are large in nominal terms.   In addition, the A/R 

amount is a measurement at a single point in time.  Annualized amounts are likely to be 

significantly larger.   
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Comparison With 1999 Survey 

 

 The survey results indicate that the passage of Missouri’s prompt pay law, effective in 

2002, has had only a very modest impact on claims processing times, and virtually no impact on 

the roughly one-quarter of claims that take the longest to resolve.  In 1999, the Missouri Hospital 

Association (MHA) conducted a more limited prompt pay survey of Missouri hospitals. Since 

both the 1999 and 2009 surveys used identical formats, the figures are directly comparable. The 

1999 data therefore provide a “baseline” measure of A/R accounts prior to the effective date of 

prompt pay legislation.   

  

 The subset of the 2009 data was designed to match as closely as possible the respondent 

set of the MHA survey for the St. Louis area.12

 

  Both data points reflect the aging of A/R as of 

the second quarter.  The comparison reveals some improvement in that a greater percentage of 

claims were paid in under 30 days in 2009 compared to ten years previously, or 39.7 percent  vs. 

48.4 percent.  However, the amounts represented in the over 90 days category remained virtually 

unchanged.  In 1999, 31.4 percent of claim amounts remained unpaid after 90 days.  In 2009, the 

figure declined only very slightly to 30.6 percent.      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                 
12 At the time of writing, 1999 data were available only for selected hospitals located in the St. Louis area. 
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Figure 4:  Comparison of 1999 and 2009 Survey Results  

 
 

   

The DIFP was able to obtain more detailed claims aging information from one survey 

respondent.  For this entity, as of October 2009, over 50 percent of outstanding claim amounts 

had been pending beyond the statutory payment standard of 45 days, and over 10 percent 

remained unpaid for over a year.   
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Figure 5 

 
 

 

 The Missouri results do not vary substantially from the findings of other studies.  For 

example, data from ambulatory surgical centers reveal that 24.5 percent of A/R amounts had 

aged to over 90 days, and 16.1 percent had remained unresolved after 120 days. 
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 Table 3 

Ambulatory Surgical Centers 
Percent A/R by Days Pending 

0-30 Days 49.4% 
31-60 19.7% 
61-90 9.0% 
91-120 6.4% 
121+ 16.1% 

Percent over 90 Days:  24.5 percent. 

Source:  Becker’s ASC Review.  December 9, 2008.     

 

 The financing of medical services differs from the production of goods and services in 

most other industries.  Medical claims are complex, often involving coordination issues between 

payers, complicated contractual issues and coverage questions, and differences of opinion 

regarding appropriate care.  The adjudication of claims can at times be labor and time intensive 

and requires a significant amount of detailed medical and financial information.  It is not 

necessarily unreasonable to expect that some volume of claims will remain unresolved for 

lengthy periods of time.   

 

 However, it is useful to compare the aging of A/R to other industries to provide some 

context to the revenue cycle that many medical providers confront.   According to the private 

firm Cortera, 5.7 percent of A/R amounts across all industries were over 90 days past due.  The 

comparable figure for Missouri businesses was 4.2 percent.13

 

  Amounts across different 

industrial sectors are presented in the following chart, and range from 3.5 percent for the 

wholesale trades to 8.2 percent for construction firms.  Hence, the age of medical providers’ A/R 

well exceeds other economic sectors.  While the causes of claim delays are not entirely clear, it 

appears that the timeliness of payment is a broad problem shared by virtually all medical 

providers.  

 

 

                                                 
13 Note that the figures are not entirely comparable to the survey data.  The Cortera data assess amounts past due.  
The survey data do not possess a past due category, since claims generally have no due date beyond the time 
parameters defined in statute.   
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Figure 6 

 
Missouri Average:  4.2% 
US Average:  5.7% 
Source:  Cortera, August, 2009.  Accounts Receivable Industry Metrics and Stats.  Available on 
the internet at http://www.cortera.com/stats/.   
 

 

Other Indicators 

 

 The survey data indicate that claim delays are broad in scope.  This conclusion is 

supported by additional data associated with the DIFPs enforcement of Missouri’s prompt pay 

statute.  Enforcement has assumed two forms:  market conduct examinations of select insurers 

and investigations conducted in response to consumer or provider complaints.  

 

In 2003, the department closed a series of examinations targeting possible violations of 

the prompt payment statute.  Missouri statute establishes a standard that 95 percent of claims 

must be resolved in conformity with statutory guidelines, thereby recognizing that a small 
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proportion of claims may be exceptional to the degree that additional processing time is required.  

As a result of these examinations $3.5 million in interest and penalties were levied against 

insurers. The DIFP has made additional recoveries related to prompt pay violations during 

subsequent examinations, though the amounts have not been tracked. 

 

In addition, the department actively investigates individual complaints lodged by medical 

providers against insurers they believed had unfairly denied or delayed claims. Consumer related 

investigations are more limited in scope than market conduct examinations, and are confined to 

the particular circumstances of the complaint rather than the more general business practices of a 

company.14

 

  Between 2003 and mid-November 2009, the DIFP received a total of 1,577 

complaints from medical providers about the manner in which insurers were processing claims.  

Subsequent investigation and enforcement resulted in the resolution of claims totaling $1.7 

million, and $1.2 million of that amount was associated with claim processing delays.  In 2009 

alone, complaints about claims handling practices were resolved with  $946,919 in payouts, of 

which $741,171 were associated with processing delays.  This increase in the amount of 

recoveries represents the recent commitment by DIFP to more actively use its investigation 

authority to resolve prompt pay complaints.  Since the beginning in 2009, all complaints from 

medical providers have been forwarded to the Consumer Services Section for investigation.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                 
14 Inferences about general business practices are supportable only via broad examination of a carrier’s files.  For 
example, random sampling across many insureds can support more generalized inferences.  Complaint investigation 
are usually confined to a specific individual complainant, though complaint activity can trigger more comprehensive 
regulatory action.   
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Table 4:  A&H Complaints from Medical Providers 

Table 4a  Provider Complaints Reported 

Complaint Type 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 
(Through 

mid-
November) 

2005-
2009 

Provider complaints to 
consumer services (claims 
related) 

34 30 54 35 50 167 298 668 

Prompt pay complaints to 
market conduct (through 
March, 2008) 

117 109 223 196 224 40 0 909 

Total provider complaints 151 139 277 231 274 207 298 1,577 

 

 

Table 4b Provider Complaints Closed With Recovery 

Complaint Type 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 
(Through 

mid-
November) 

2005-
2009 

All claims related  11 17 24 19 26 75 120 292 

Prompt Pay or Delay Issues 3 9 8 7 7 24 51 109 

 

 

Table 4c  Provider Complaints Amounts Recovered 

Complaint Type 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 
(Through 

mid-
November) 

2005-2009 

Claims Related  $6,756 $15,133 $19,151 $67,088 $50,597 $635,689 $946,919 $1,741,332 

Prompt Pay or Delay 
Issues 

$2,769 $10,564 $2,244 $3,277 $6,231 $470,217 $741,171 $1,236,473 
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Regional Differences 

 

 The survey results reveal large variations between Missouri regions.  The percentage of 

claim amounts in A/R in excess of 90 days ranged from approximately 10 percent to 70 percent.  

In general, there appeared to be an east/west divide, so that the Kansas City, mid-Missouri and 

southwest regions evinced shorter payment times compared to the St. Louis and eastern regions. 

 

 To assess regional disparities, Missouri was divided into seven regions based loosely on 

metropolitan statistical areas (MSAs) as defined by the Bureau of the Census, supplemented with 

further refinements to more rural counties.    

 

 

Figure 7:  Missouri Regions 
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These regions vary substantially not only by demographic characteristics, but are also 

characterized by dominant regional healthcare provider groups and insurers. Differences in 

claims processing times could be attributable to any or all of these factors. For example, different 

accounting systems or financial management strategies of hospitals could be partially responsible 

for regional differences. Similarly, because different regions are dominated by different insurer 

groups, part of the observed differences might be attributable to claims processing on the part of 

different payers.  Demographic factors might also be partially responsible.  

 

   

 

 Figure 8 

  

 

 

 

 Of particular concern is how untimely payments may impact smaller rural hospitals that 

are less able to weather cash flow interruptions.  The US Census Bureau classifies urban clusters 

based on population density.  Urban areas can include contiguous regions with population 
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densities below the population density threshold in some circumstances.   The shaded counties 

below are classified as urban. 

 

 

 

Figure 9:  Map of Urban and Rural Counties 

 
 

 

 Rural hospitals reported a significantly greater percentage of A/R amounts pending for 

over 90 days than did hopsitals located in urban counties.  While urban providers reported a 

percentage A/R over 90 days very close to the statewide average, rural hospitals reported an 

amount 11.5 percentage points higher.   
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Figure 10 

 
 

 

Variation Across Insurers 

 

 Significant differences in the timeliness of payment were also observed across insurer 

groups.  Insurer groups have been randomly assigned an alphabetic code (A – N)  in the 

following table.  The size of each insurer group is identified only in a general way to minimize 

the possibility that end users could determine their identities from generally available market 

share data.  Since the data were collected pursuant to the DIFP’s investigatory authority, 

individual responses are considered confidential. In addition, releasing the identities of insurers 

could compromise the identities of responding medical providers.  Since both insurers and 

hospital groups tend to be regional, knowledge of an insurer could reveal information about 

providers that may have reported a disproportionate share of each insurer’s data.   General 

knowledge of insurer size is provided so that readers may assess the statistical credibility of the 

reported data.  Results for smaller insurers may be subject to random distortions in the data.  
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 Across all insurer groups, 26.5 percent of A/R amounts were pending in excess of 90 

days.  This figure ranged from approximately 10 percent for three insurer groups to over 30 

percent for the three slowest payers.     The median insurer group had an A/R over 90 days of 

23.9 percent.    

  

 

Table 5 

Insurer Group* % A/R Over 90 Days Total A/R Amount 

J 31.3% Less than $1M 

D 30.5% $10M to $20M 

K 30.4% $21M to $50M 

G 29.2% Over $50M 

M 25.0% Over $50M 

C 24.8% Over $50M 

H 23.9% Over $50M 

N 23.9% $10M to $20M 

F 22.4% $21M to $50M 

I 18.6% $21M to $50M 

A 11.2% Less than $1M 

E 10.2% $10M to $20M 

L 7.4% Less than $1M 

Total 26.5% $581,008,538 
*Insurer identities have not been disclosed in this report since the responses to the survey are considered confidential 

communications gathered under the investigation and examination authority of the Director of the Department of 

Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration pursuant to §§374.070 and 374.071. 

  

 It should be stressed that A/R aging data, by themselves, do not reveal violations of 

prompt payment statutes.  However, the magnitude of such variations does constitute cause for 

concern.  Along with information presented elsewhere in this report regarding the scope of 

timeliness issues, the data presented here suggests that heightened regulatory scrutiny of claims 

handling is warranted. Possible regulatory strategies, along with legislative changes, are 

discussed at the end of this report. 
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Possible Causes of Claim Processing Delays 

 

 The bulk of the data collected via the survey was designed to quantify the scope of claim 

processing delays, and assess the possible impact on the revenue cycles of Missouri hospitals.  

However, the survey also requested data on the causes of claim delays.  Unfortunately, many 

survey respondents were unable to provide the detailed information requested.  Prior to the 

survey, it was determined that medical providers were unable to directly quantify reasons for 

claims processing delays without a labor intensive manual inspection of each claim file.  Since it 

was unlikely that medical providers would be able to devote staff to this project, the survey 

requested information about claims that were denied.   It was believed that this subset of claims 

would consist of those that were most difficult to adjudicate, requiring the production and 

assessment of much more detailed and complex information than claims associated with more 

routine medical care.  For this reason, data for denials should provide at least indirect evidence 

about the causes of claim delays.  Approximately half of respondents were able to provide the 

requested data for denials.  

 

 Nearly 80 percent of denials can be attributed to only two causes.  The largest body of 

claims (based on the size of claims) were denied based on medical necessity.   Most insurer 

contracts permit the denial of payment of medical services that insurers’ believe are medically 

unwarranted or unnecessary, that are considered experimental or outside the generally accepted 

standard of care, or that are considered excessive in relation to the condition being treated.    

 

The second largest category of claim denials resulted from a failure to file claims or 

additional information requested by the insurer, within contractual time limits. Over one-third of 

claim denials were attributable to such untimely filings or provision of information. An 

additional 10 percent of payments were denied because the medical service was not a covered 

benefit under the insurance contract, or the patient was not a covered insured. The remainder of 

denials were due to coordination of benefits between insurers, PCP referral problems, and failure 

to obtain appropriate precertification for specific procedures or treatments.   
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 The following are examples provided by medical providers of claims that were denied in whole 

or in part: 

 

 A physician ordered a procedure to be performed on Saturday, but due to staff scheduling 

the procedure wasn’t performed until the following Monday.  The insurer refused payment for 

the hospital stay for Sunday. 

 

 A patient was treated in ICU, but the insurer would only pay for standard inpatient care, 

claiming that the more intensive level of care was not medically necessary. 

 

 A physician ordered patient to inpatient status, but insurer asserted that patient met 

criteria for observation status only. 

 

 A claim was billed to insurance, but no payment or denial received.  Since the medical 

provider failed to follow up with the insurer, the claim was ultimately written off.   

 

 An insurer requested ER reports, but they were not submitted within the contractually 

allowed time.   
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Figure 11:  Claim Denials By Reason  

 
 

 

   The causes of claim denials are at least indirectly related to prompt pay issues.  Medical 

providers report that claims handling processes and informational requests are often burdensome 

and overly complex, resulting in delays and ultimately denials when providers are unable to 

provide requested information within contractually defined deadlines.  Several states have taken 

steps to encourage standardization of claim filings and to specify limits on the supporting 

documentation that may be required by insurers.  These efforts are discussed in more detail in the 

following section. 
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Recommendations 

 

 Legislative Action 

 

 All states plus the District of Columbia have enacted prompt pay statutes requiring claims 

to either be paid or denied within specific timeframes, and imposing interest and penalties for 

failure to comply.  Typically, prompt pay statutes require payment within 30 days of receipt for 

electronically submitted claims, and 45 days for claims submitted in paper form. Most statutes 

apply an interest penalty for failure to pay a claim within these time frames, most commonly 1% 

per month.  A few states mandate incrementally higher interest rates based on the length of a 

claim processing delay. About a third of the states have a statutory clean claim definition, such 

that claims meeting the standard trigger statutory time frames and penalties for non-compliance. 

The simplest definitions mirror the Medicare definition (i.e., a claim with no defect or 

impropriety including any lack of substantiating documentation, or particular circumstance 

requiring special treatment that prevents timely payment).  More extensive definitions consider 

the accurate and complete submission of uniform billing forms as a clean claim.  More detailed 

statutes restrict permissible content for insurer informational requests, legal presumptions for 

actions contrary to legal standards, and data collection requirements to track provider and payer 

performance.   A compendium of state prompt pay laws can be found in the appendices.   

 

While medical providers have generally supported the enactment of prompt pay statutes, they 

remain dissatisfied as it has become apparent that many prompt pay statutes have had little 

practical effect.  The evidence presented in this report supports, at least to some extent, the 

contention that claims handling processes are still mired in complexity and that medical 

providers still evidence an aging of A/R well beyond that generally found in other industries.   

Though the delivery of health care differs from many other industries, the degree of claim 

processing delays suggests significant room for improvement.    

 

While it is worth emphasizing that the data are not strict evidence of statutory violations, 

clearly some strategy to ameliorate claim delays is warranted.  Any such strategy should balance 

the legitimate concerns of insurers that they are permitted sufficient time to adequately 
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adjudicate claims and identify excessive or fraudulent charges with the equally legitimate 

concerns of medical providers that the claims process not be unnecessarily burdensome and that 

appropriate compensation is remitted in a timely fashion. Both legislative and regulatory action 

is warranted.   

 

 Prompt Pay Statute 

 

     

Missouri’s prompt pay statute became effective in January of 2002.  The DIFP has taken 

numerous administrative actions pursuant this statute, including market conduct examinations 

and consumer investigations in response to complaints lodged by medical providers.  Between 

2003 and November 2009, the DIFP received a total of 1,577 complaints from medical providers 

regarding claims handling practices.  The complaints were resolved with payouts of $1.7 million. 

In addition, an initial round of market conduct examinations completed in 2003 resulted in fines 

and forfeitures totaling $3.5 million, while subsequent examinations resulted in additional 

recoveries.15

 

  The department continues to actively investigate complaints received by medical 

providers.   

Medical provider groups have expressed strong dissatisfaction with the Missouri prompt 

pay statute.  The DIFP has also found the statute to be ambiguous in parts, so that strict 

enforcement can at times be difficult. While no recommendations with respect to specific 

statutory language are made, the following suggestions are offered for consideration.  

 

Missouri’s prompt pay statute is silent as to the information that insurers may require 

from medical providers.  A few states have attempted to reduce the administrative burden on 

medical providers by establishing reasonableness standards regarding the types of information 

that an insurer can require from medical providers as part of the claim adjudication process. Such 

standards generally limit informational requests to data that is reasonably accessible to a medical 

provider and/or that are relevant to making a claim determination.  For example, Texas limits 

                                                 
15 Examinations often involve several areas of compliance.  The DIFP does not explicitly track recoveries related to 
prompt pay violations, but only total recoveries.   



 

 36 

requests to information that can be obtained from provider medical or billing records. Suggested 

standards include:   

 

Reasonableness:  The information required by insurers to process a claim should be reasonably 

available to medical providers.  For example, insurers should not be able to require patient tax 

returns or police reports.   

 

Relevancy:  Informational requirements should be limited to that which is necessary to properly 

adjudicate a claim. 

 

Transparency: All insurer requirements should be easily assessable and transmitted to medical 

providers in a timely fashion. 

 

 In addition, medical provider groups have identified two specific areas that they believe 

render Missouri’s prompt pay statute ineffective:  the lack of a clean claim definition, and the 

ability of insurers to suspend claims indefinitely.  Of less import, it has been recommended that 

statutory time frames be expressed on a consistent basis, such as processing days.   

 

Clean Claim 

 

 Nearly half of prompt pay statutes include a definition of clean claim. A clean claim is 

generally defined as a submission free from material defect or error and that conforms to 

minimal informational standards.  A claim not considered clean thus contains information that is 

incomplete, inaccurate or otherwise inadequate for an insurer to properly assess their liability.  In 

the context of a prompt pay statute, a claim satisfying the legal definition triggers time limits for 

disposing of a claim. In addition, more expansive definitions found in some states can create a 

degree of standardization and thereby reduce the administrative burden on healthcare providers 

associated with claims management.  The Missouri prompt pay statute currently has no clean 

claim definition, so that insurers have a high degree of discretion to accept or reject the original 

claim filing.   
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 Ten  states have adopted the Medicare definition or some variation thereof:  a clean claim 

“…has no defect, impropriety (including any lack of any substantial documentation) or particular 

circumstance requiring special treatment.”    The definition appears to simply require that claim 

rejections not be arbitrary or capricious, and any interpretation would have to revert to the 

contracts in place between providers and insurers.  Medical providers in states that have adopted 

the Medicare definition have stated that it has little if any substantive impact on claims 

processing.  Such broad language is also generally beyond the enforcement powers of state 

insurance regulators, who generally are unable to enforce provider contract provisions (other 

than insurance contracts), and disputes would have to be settled by legal action brought by 

medical providers.   

      

 Modifications of the Medicare definition generally offer clarifications of some of the key 

terms.  For example, Iowa  limits circumstances requiring special treatment to those instances in 

which  

 1.  a reasonable suspicion of fraud exists 

 2. matters beyond an insurer’s control, or “acts of God, insurrection, strike, fire,..” 

 3.  Similar unique circumstances preventing timely payment 

 

Six states have adopted novel definitions.  For example, New Mexico considers a clean claim as 

a submission which 

 

(a) “contains substantially all the required data elements necessary for accurate adjudication 

without the need for additional information from outside the health plan’s system,”  

(b) and is not “materially deficient or improper, including lacking substantiating 

documentation currently required by the health plan, or [emphasis added] 

(c) has no particular or unusual circumstances requiring special treatment that prevent 

payment from being made by the health plan…”  

 

The plurality of states with a clean claim definition tie the concept to a specific claim form,  a 

list of  data elements, or to forms insurers may promulgate so long as the forms are published 

and available to medical providers.  Fifteen states have adopted this approach.  The advantages 
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of this approach are the promotion of standardization and the potential to realize administrative 

efficiencies.  In addition, the specificity and lack of ambiguity of these definitions create clearer 

rules that simplify enforcement.   

 

The following table categorizes the different approaches among the states.  More detail is 

provided in the appendices.   

 

Table 6 

Clean Claim Definitions 

Specify forms or data 

elements 

Medicare or modified 

Medicare 

Unique definitions 

Alabama Alaska Arizona 

Arizona Indiana District of Columbia 

California Kansas Hawaii 

Colorado Louisiana Mississippi 

Delaware Minnesota New Mexico 

Iowa Oklahoma South Dakota 

Kentucky Oregon  

Maine Tennessee  

Maryland Virginia  

Michigan Washington  

Nebraska   

New Hampshire   

New York   

South Carolina   

Texas   

15 States 10 States 6 States 
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 Any definition should consider ease of regulatory enforcement, the desirability of 

promoting standardization, and the degree of specificity such that the statute produces the desired 

substantive impact on claims handling. A general definition that merely attempts to constrain 

arbitrary rejections will most likely have little substantive impact on claims handling practices.   

 

Suspensions 

 

 Missouri’s statute requires that claims be disposed within 40 days of receipt, allowing for 

additional time to obtain necessary information from medical providers.   In addition to payment 

or denial, a claim may be disposed by suspension. The suspension provision appears to be unique 

to the Missouri prompt pay statute.  Insurers may suspend claims by “…giving notice to the 

claimant specifying the reason the claim is not yet paid, including but not limited to grounds as 

listed in the contract between the claimant and the health carrier.” §376.383  Beyond the 

notification requirement, the statute provides no further limitations on the ability of insurers to 

suspend claims, thereby rendering many of the timelines ineffectual.  Beyond accumulating 1 

percent interest if the claim is eventually paid, suspended claims may remain in legal purgatory 

indefinitely, or until they are simply written off by frustrated providers.      

 

 The original purpose of the suspension provision appears to have been to provide insurers 

sufficient time to investigate atypical claim activity, especially activity pointing towards possible 

fraud.  Insurers argued at the time of passage that fraud, or minimally excessive billing, was 

prevalent and exerted significant pressure on health care costs.  However, the suspension 

provision provides no constraints on arbitrary action, whether such action is attributable to 

processing inefficiencies or produced by design.  Nor does the statute provide a mechanism for 

the resolution of suspensions.   

 

As such, it is recommended that the provision either be removed, or that clear parameters 

be established that would curtail possible abuses of the suspension process and limit suspensions 

to those instances that may legitimately require additional time to investigate.  The elimination of 

suspension would require insures to either pay or deny claims within the prompt pay timeframes.  

Requiring insurers to deny rather than suspend claims would at a minimum force insurers to 
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provide specific and supportable grounds for the denial, such as those detailed in an earlier 

section (medical necessity, excluded benefit, etc).   Such denials may be appealed.  The issues 

implicated in denials are generally more tractable than are cases of possible fraud, and are 

subject to regularized and formal methods of disputation in a way that suspensions currently are 

not.   

 

An alternative is to provide clear statutory limits on claim suspensions, though such an 

approach is subject to practical difficulties. Insurers have a legitimate interest in investigating 

excessive or inappropriate charges.  However, it may be difficult to draft general rules that 

clearly delineate what such special cases may be that are not subject to abuse or that do not 

simply defer to insurers.  If limiting language is preferred to an outright abolition, there are a 

number of alternative approaches: 

 

• Make no attempt to define the circumstances in which a suspension 

may be appropriate, but rather establish a maximum permissible percentage of 

suspensions.  For example, insurers might be limited some reasonable percent of 

all claims, or the cap could be based on the dollar amount of claims. 

 

• Establish separate procedures governing how suspensions should 

be processed, including establishing appropriate time limits for their resolution 

and perhaps giving medical providers recourse to due process procedures to 

appeal suspensions.  Currently, Missouri statute permits claims to be suspended 

indefinitely, essentially for any reason (i.e. for reasons “including but not limited 

to…”)   

 

Whatever method is selected, the revision or elimination of the suspension provision of 

the prompt pay statute is strongly recommended.   
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Timeliness Standards 

 

 The Missouri prompt pay statute contains two separate timeliness standards: 

 

 1. Insurers are assessed 1 percent interest per month on claims that remain unpaid after the 

45th day of receipt.  The interest is payable only if the claim is subsequently paid. 

 

2. After receiving a claim, insurers are subject to timeliness standards governing any 

requests for additional information.  Insurers are permitted to make up to two requests for such 

information. The initial request for  additional information must be made within 10 days after 

receipt of the claim.  After receipt of the requested information, the insurer has an additional 15 

days to make a final request for any and all other information.  After receipt of the final 

information, the claim must be disposed within 15 days.  This standard is intended to prevent 

delays due to endless rounds of informational requests and to give insurers a reasonable time to 

gather information necessary to properly dispose of claims.    

 

Thus, there are two timeliness standards:  45 calendar days governing the accumulation 

of interest on unpaid claims, and 40 processing days to dispose of a claim (pay, deny, or 

suspend).  The second standard excludes the time intervals in which an insurer is waiting for 

responses to informational requests.  Insurers have complained that the 45 calendar day standard 

makes no allowances for instances in which claim processing delays are due to the failure of 

medical providers to submit requested information. The following hypothetical illustrates a claim 

disposed by the 105th day subsequent to receipt, even though the insurer is in compliance with 

the 40 processing days standard.   
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Calendar days 
Day 1 Day 8 Day15 Day 25 Day 35 Day 45 Day 70 

Processing days 
Day 1 Day8 Clock stops Day 9 Day 19 Clock Stops 
Claim 

Received 
Insurer 

requests 
additional 

information 

Information 
not received 

Information 
not received 

Information 
received 

insurer 
evaluates 

claim 

Insurer makes 
second 

request for 
information, 

interest starts 
to accrue 

Information not 
received 

  

 
Calendar days 

Day 90 Day 105 Total calendar days: 105.   Out of compliance – two months interest payable.   
Processing days 

Day 20 Day 35 Total processing days: 35.  In compliance. 
Information 

received 
Insurer pays 

claim 
Total amount of claim paid + two months interest 

 
  
 

 

 Regulatory Action 

  

 The DIFP has not performed wide-ranging market conduct examinations specifically 

targeting prompt pay violations since 2003.  That round of examinations resulted in $3.5 million 

in fines and penalties.  While the DIFP has recently begun to more vigorously investigate prompt 

pay related complaints from medical providers, such investigations are limited in scope to the 

discrete issues brought to the attention of the DIFP by a complainant.  Market conduct 

examinations are designed to investigate entire areas of insurer operations (such as claims 

handling), and are able to support inferences about overall insurer operations.   

  

 Market conduct oversight is clearly contemplated in the current statute as a  primary 

enforcement mechanism.  Section 376.384.3 directs the DIFP to “…monitor health carrier 

compliance with [this section]” via  “examinations, which may be based upon statistical 

samplings.”  Compliance is defined as “…properly processing and paying ninety-five percent of 

all claims received in a given calendar year.”  Indeed, only the sampling approaches of market 

conduct exams can make inferences about the level of compliance as required by statute.  Such 

inferences can only be based on scientific samples drawn from the relevant claim file population.   
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 In addition, the DIFP may wish to consider the efficacy of developing more continuous 

monitoring capacities, as opposed to the more sporadic and costly methods associated with 

examinations.  A few states routinely gather claims data from health carriers specifically 

structured to permit regulators to assess compliance with prompt pay statutes.   

 

In the near-term, the DIFP’s Division of Insurance Market Regulation will continue to 

investigate compliance with Missouri’s prompt pay requirements to determine if examinations of 

particular insurers are appropriate.  Pursuant to regulation, market conduct examination warrants 

may be issued  if evidence indicates that an insurer may be “…engaging in any practice or course 

of business in violation…” of statute or regulation.  Such evidence may be obtained from a 

variety of sources, including “market surveys” or “…any credible source with direct access to 

relevant information.” 20 CSR 100.8.005(2)(C)(1 and 4)  The extent of claim processing delays, 

and the large variation in claims processing observed across insurers, may be  indicative of 

possible compliance failures. 

 

 

Conclusion 

 
Payment delays  remain widespread seven years after enactment of the Missouri prompt 

pay statute.  The analysis presented above has identified deficiencies in the current prompt pay 

statute, and suggested ways to ease the administrative burden of claims processing upon medical 

providers and decrease unnecessary claims processing delays.  In addition, the DIFP will pursue 

a number of regulatory actions including, where appropriate, market conduct examinations of 

health insurance companies.   It is hoped that this report will contribute to a constructive public 

dialogue and that various stakeholders will work together to balance the legitimate concerns of 

all parties with solutions that are efficacious, efficient, and fair.    
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Appendix A1 

A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Alabama Ala. Code 27-
1-17 

Clean 
electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
calendar days 
of receipt, 45 
calendar days 
for clean 
written 
claims. 

Interest: 1.5% 
per month, 
prorated daily.                    
Admin 
Penalties: 
Discipline of 
insurer's 
license, fines 
not to exceed 
$100,000 per 
violation. 

Yes. 
Definitions of 
clean 
electronic and 
clean written 
claims. 

Alabama Department of Insurance  http://www.aldoi.gov/                                                       
334 269-3550 

Alaska Alaska Stat. 
21.36.128 

Clean claim  
to be paid 
within 30 
days. 

Interest at 15% 
accrues until 
date claim is 
paid. 

Yes. Uses 
Medicare 
definition. 

Alaska Division of Insurance   http://www.dced.state.ak.us/insurance/   907 465-
2515 

Arizona Ariz. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 20-3102 

Clean claims 
to be paid 
within 30 days 
of receipt. 

The state's 
legal interest 
rate. 

Yes. Clean 
claim, defined 
at Sec. 20-
3101, as one 
that can be 
processed 
without 
additional 
information. 

Arizona Department of Insurance   http://www.id.state.az.us/                                 
602- 364-2393 

Arkansas Ark. Rule and 
Regulation 43 
Sec. 12(a) 

Pay or deny 
clean 
electronic 
claim within 
30 days after 
receipt; for 
claims 
submitted 

Interest based 
on a formula:  
(the amount of 
the clean claim 
x 12% per 
annum x the 
number of 
days the 

Sec. 12 
mentions but 
does not 
define a 
"clean claim." 

Arkansas Insurance Department   http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov/                501 
371-2600   800 282-9134 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

otherwise, 45 
days. 

delinquent 
payment 
period / by 365 
days). 

California Cal. Health & 
Safety Code 
Sec.1371.35 

Health care 
service plans 
to pay 
complete 
claims ASAP, 
but no later 
than 30 
working days 
after receipt; 
however, 
HMOs have 
45 days after 
receipt. 

Penalty of the 
> of $15 per 
year or 15% 
per annum, 
without 
requiring 
request 
therefore 

Defines a 
"complete 
claim." 

California Department of Insurance   http://www.insurance.ca.gov/                          
213 897-8921 

Colorado Colo. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 10-
16-106.5 

Clean 
electronic 
claims to be 
paid, denied 
or settled 
within 30 days 
after receipt; 
claims 
submitted by 
other means 
within 45 
days. 

Interest: 
Depending on 
the situation 
10% or, > than 
90 days, 20% 
interest 
annually.  
Commissioner 
may 
investigate 
improper 
handling or 
denial of 
benefits. 

Yes. 
Definition 
provided: a 
uniform claim 
form with all 
fields 
completed 
including 
required 
documents. 

Colorado Division of Insurance   http://www.dora.state.co.us/insurance/            303 
894-7499 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Connecticut Conn. Gen. 
Stat. Ann. Sec. 
38a-
816(15)(B) 

Payment not 
later than 45 
days after 
receipt of 
proof of loss, 
filed in 
accordance 
with the 
insurer's 
practices or 
procedures. 

Interest rate of 
15% per 
annum, in 
addition to 
other potential 
penalties set 
forth in 
provision 
15(B). 

 Connecticut Insurance Department   http://www.ct.gov/cid/site/default.asp               
860 297-3800   800 203-3447 

Delaware 18 DE Admin. 
Code 
1310(6.1) 

Within 30 day 
after receipt, a 
clean claim 
shall be paid 
in whole, paid 
in part and 
denied in part, 
denied, or 
result in a 
request for 
additional 
information. 

Interest: The 
maximum 
allowable 
lending rate 
under 
Delaware law.  
Payment of 
interest does 
not preclude 
Commissioner 
or the provider 
from other 
available 
remedies.  
Three failures 
to comply in 
36 months 
creates 
rebuttable 
presumption 
insurer is 
engaged in an 
unfair practice. 

Yes. 
Definition at 
provision 4.0 
specifies 
several types 
of clean 
claims. 

Delaware Insurance Department  http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/                  
(302) 739-4251 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Dist. of  
Col. 

D.C. Code 
Ann. 31-
3132(a), et seq. 

Clean claim to 
be paid within 
30 days after 
receipt. 

Monthly 
interest at a 
progressive 
rate:              
1.5%: 31-60 
days              
2%: 61-120 
days              
2.5%, 
thereafter.           
Sec. 31-3136 
indicates 
pattern or 
practice of 
repeated 
violations may 
subject insurer 
to additional 
penalties. 

Clean Claim 
defined in 
Sec. 31-3131.  
An expanded 
version of the 
Medicare 
definition. 

D.C. Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking                               
http://disb.dc.gov/                                                         202 727-8000 

Florida Title XXXVII, 
Section 
627.613, et 
seq. 

Insurers to 
reimburse 
claim within 
45 days of 
receipt. 

Simple interest 
at 10% per 
year. 

 Florida Office of Insurance Regulation   http://www.floir.com/                                       
850 413-3140   

Georgia Ga. Code Ann., 
33-24-59.5 

Payment 
within 15 
working days 
after receipt. 

18% per year.  Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner   http://www.gainsurance.org/                           
404 656-2070   800 656-2298 

Hawaii Haw. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
431:13-108(b) 

Electronic 
claims to be 
paid in 15 
days, paper 
claims within 
30 days. 

15% per year 
on valid, 
unpaid claims.              
The 
commissioner 
may also 
determine 
whether 

Clean claim 
defined: a 
"covered" 
claim with no 
defects and 
no disputes 
and for which 
there is no 

Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs  http://hawaii.gov/dcca/ins/                              
808 586-2790   808 586-2799 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

penalties are 
appropriate. 

reason to 
believe fraud 
exists. 

Idaho Section 41-
5602 

Electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
days after 
receipt, paper 
claims to be 
paid within 45 
days. 

Interest at 
Idaho's 
contract 
statutory rate 
under Sec. 41-
5603.                    
The Director 
may impose an 
administrative 
fine up to 
$5,000 but 
shall not 
suspend or 
revoke the 
insurer's 
certificate.  If 
the insurer is 
95% compliant 
in a calendar 
year, no 
administrative 
penalty will be 
imposed. (41-
5606) 

 Idaho Department of Insurance   http://www.doi.idaho.gov/                                   208 
334-4250    

Illinois 215 Ill. Comp. 
Stat. Ann. 
5/357.9 

Claim to be 
paid within 30 
days 
following 
receipt. 

9% per year.   Illinois Department of Insurance   http://www.insurance.illinois.gov/                                   
217 782-4515 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Indiana Ind. Code Ann. 
27-8-5.7-
6(a)(1)-(2) 

Electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
days; paper 
claims within 
45 days. 

Interest at the 
average 
investment 
yield on state 
money in the 
prior fiscal 
year per IC 12-
15-21-3(7)(A).  
Commissioner 
empowered to 
level civil 
fines based on 
on-time 
performance:             
85%-95%, 
$10,000              
60%-85%,  
$100,000   
<60%,  
$200,000.                                             
(27-8--5.7-8) 

Clean Claim 
definition 
consistent 
with 
Medicare's. 

Indiana Department of Insurance   http://www.in.gov/idoi/                                                    
317 232-2385 

Iowa Iowa Code 
Ann. 
507B.4(12) 
and Regulation 
191-15.32. 

Must accept, 
deny or pay a 
clean claim 
within 30 days 
of receipt. 

10% per 
annum. 

Clean claim 
defined in 
regulation 
thru a cross 
reference.  
(Reg. 191-
15.32)  
Regulation 
also provides 
a definition of 
a "properly 
completed 
billing 
instrument." 

Iowa Insurance Division   http://www.iid.state.ia.us/                                515 281-
5705 



 

 50 

A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. 
40-2441, 2442 

Clean claim 
and any 
amendments 
thereto to be 
paid within 30 
days after 
receipt. 

1% per month 
until the claim 
is paid without 
requiring the 
person who 
filed the 
original claim 
to make any 
additional 
claim for such 
interest.  
Commissioner 
has cease and 
desist, 
suspension or 
revocation and 
fining 
authority 
under Sec. 
1837. 

Yes.  Uses 
Medicare 
definition. 

Kansas Insurance Department   http://www.ksinsurance.org/                            785 
296-3071 

Kentucky Ky. Rev. State. 
Ann. 304.17A-
700 to  
304.17A-730 

Most clean 
claims to be 
paid or denied 
within 30 
calendar days 
of receipt; 
those 
involving 
organ 
transplants, 60 
days. 

Uses a 
progressive 
interest rate:                          
1-30 days late, 
12% per 
annum;                                     
31-60 days 
late, 18% per 
annum;                         
more than 60 
days late, 21% 
per annum. 

Yes. Properly 
completed 
billing 
instrument, 
names 
specific 
forms. 

Kentucky Department of Insurance   http://doi.ppr.ky.gov/kentucky/                        
800 595-6053 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Louisiana La. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. Title 22: 
Sections 1831-
1838 

If a paper 
claim and if 
submitted 
within 45 days 
of date of 
service, 
insurer has 45 
days to pay, 
deny or pend.  
(Sec. 1832)  
Insurers have 
25 days to 
pay, deny or 
pend an 
electronic 
claim. (Sec. 
1833) 

Interest of 
12% per 
annum on the 
amount due. 
(Sec.s 1832 
and 1833)                         
Commissioner 
has cease and 
desist, 
suspension or 
revocation and 
fining 
authority.  
(Sec. 1837) 

Yes.  Uses 
Medicare 
definition. 

Louisiana Department of Insurance   http://www.ldi.state.la.us/                                 
800 259-5300   225 342-5900 

Maine Me. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. tit. 24-A 
Sec. 2436(1) 

Claims 
payable in 30 
days after 
proof of loss 
is received 
and 
ascertainment 
of loss is 
made. 

Interest at 
1.5% per 
month for 
failure to pay 
an "undisputed 
claim" when 
due.  
Reasonable 
attorney's fees 
available. 

Yes. Called 
an 
"undisputed 
claim." 

Maine Bureau of Insurance   http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/                 207 
624-8475 

Maryland Md. Code. 
Ann. Ins. 15-
1005 

Within 30 
days of 
receipt, 
insurer shall 
pay or notify 
of status. 

Uses a 
progressive 
interest rate:                                     
31-60 days 
late, 1.5%                          
61-120 days 
late, 2%  >120 
days late, 2.5%                         
To be paid 
without an 

Yes.  "Clean 
claim" 
defined by 
administrative 
rule COMAR 
31.10.11.01, 
et al.  Specific 
fields of the 
HCFA 1500 
form 

Maryland Insurance Administration  
http://www.mdinsurance.state.md.us/sa/jsp/Mia.jsp                                                                   
410 468-2000   800 492-6116 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

additional 
claim for the 
interest. 

(individual 
providers) 
and UB-92 
form 
(hospitals) 
that must be 
completed are 
listed. 

Mass. Mass. Gen. 
Laws Part 1, 
Title XXII, 
Chapter 176G 
Section 6 

Within 45 
days or receipt 
of completed 
forms, the 
insurer must 
make 
payment, 
notify of the 
reasons for 
nonpayment 
or notify in 
writing of the 
need for 
additional 
information. 

Interest at 
1.5% per 
month, not to 
exceed 18% 
per year. 

 Massachusetts Division of Insurance   http://www.state.ma.us/doi/                                                    
617 521-7794    

Michigan M.C.L.A. 
500.2006  
500.2006(8)(a) 

A clean claim 
to be paid 
within 45 days 
after receipt; 
other claims, 
within 60 
days. 

Interest at 12% 
per annum.                          
Commissioner 
may impose a 
$1,000 civil 
fine for each 
violation, up to 
$10,000 in the 
aggregate. 

Yes. 
Provision 
(14) lists 
seven 
required 
elements. 

Office of Finance and Insurance Services   http://www.michigan.gov/dleg/0,1607,7-
154-10555---,00.htm                                                517 335-4978 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Minnesota Minn. Stat. 
Ann. 62Q.75 

Clean claim to 
be paid or 
denied within 
30 calendar 
days of 
receipt. 

Interest of 
1.5% per 
month or any 
part of a 
month.                          
The 
Commissioner 
may assess a 
financial 
penalty for a 
pattern of 
failure to 
comply. 

Yes. Uses 
Medicare 
definition, but 
adds some 
language. 

Minnesota Department of Commerce   
http://www.state.mn.us/portal/mn/jsp/home.do?agency=Insurance                                 
651 296-6025 

Mississippi Miss. Code 
Ann. 83-9-
5(1)(h)(1) 

Losses other 
than losses for 
which the 
policy 
provides any 
periodic 
payment may 
be paid as 
follows: 
electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 25 
days, paper 
claims within 
35 days. 

Interest of 
1.5% per 
month.                          
Also 
authorizes a 
private right of 
action to 
recover unpaid 
amounts. 

Yes. Uses 
Medicare 
definition, but 
adds some 
language. 
Also specifies 
what a clean 
claim does 
not include. 

Mississippi Insurance Department   https://www.mid.state.ms.us/                          601 
359-3569 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Missouri Section 
376.383.5, 
Revised 
Statutes of 
Missouri 

Payment must 
be made 
within 45 
days. 

1% per month 
until the claim 
is paid without 
the necessity 
for a second 
claim for the 
interest.  An 
additional 
penalty of $20 
per day is 
possible in 
certain cases 
where the 
provider has 
notified the 
insurer that the 
claim remains 
unpaid.  If the 
provider wins 
in court, 
reasonable 
attorney's fees 
are available. 

 Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration   
http://insurance.mo.gov/                                  573 751-4126 

Montana Mont. Code. 
Ann. 33-18-
232 

Claim to be 
paid within 30 
days unless 
insurer 
reasonably 
requests 
additional 
information, 
and in that 
case, must be 
paid within 60 
days. 

10% interest 
annually.  Also 
specifically 
states that 
noncompliance 
may not be the 
basis for a 
private cause 
of action. 

  State Auditor and Commissioner of Securities and Insurance   
http://www.sao.mt.gov/insurance/index.asp                                                                      
406 444-2040   
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. 
44-8001 to 44-
8010 

Clean 
electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
calendar days 
of receipt, 
other (paper) 
clean claims, 
within 45 
calendar days. 

Interest: 12% 
per annum. 

Yes. Means a 
completed 
form that 
meets an 
insurer's 
published 
requirements.  
44-8004 also 
specifies what 
a "clean 
claim" does 
not include. 

Nebraska Department of Insurance   http://www.doi.ne.gov/                                  402 
471-2201    

Nevada Nev. Rec. Stat. 
Ann. 
695C.185(1) 
(HMOs); NRS 
689A.410 
(Individual 
Health) and 
NRS 689B.255 
(Group Health)  

Claims to be 
approved or 
denied within 
30 days of 
receipt.  If 
more 
information is 
needed, within 
30 days of the 
receipt of the 
information. 

Interest:  equal 
to the prime 
rate at the 
largest bank in 
Nevada, plus 
6%. 

  Nevada Division of Insurance   http://doi.state.nv.us/                                      775 
687-4270 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

New 
Hampshire 

N.H. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 415:6-h 

Clean 
electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 15 
calendar days, 
clean non-
electronic 
claims in 30 
calendar days.  
If additional 
information is 
needed, the 
claim must be 
adjudicated 
within 45 
calendar days 
of receipt. 

1.5% per 
month. 
Commission 
can discipline 
patterns non-
compliance 
with fines not 
to exceed 
$300,000 a 
year, 
suspension or 
revocation, in 
addition to 
other available 
authority. 
Costs and 
attorney's fees 
are also 
authorized for 
private 
recoveries. 

Yes. Means a 
fully 
completed 
claim form 
that meets the 
insurer's 
published 
requirements. 

New Hampshire Insurance Department   http://www.nh.gov/insurance/                                   
800 852-3416 

New Jersey N.J. Stat. Ann. 
17B:30-54 
(HCAPPA) 

Electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
days, paper 
within 40. 

12% interest 
annually, 10% 
on dental 
claims. 

 New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance   
http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/index.html              609 292-7272 

New Mex. N.M. Stat. 
Ann. 59A-16-
21.1 

Electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
days; paper 
claims within 
45 days. 

1.5% monthly. Yes. Includes 
Medicare 
language, but 
also requires 
substantially 
all data 
elements 
necessary for 
accurate 
adjudication. 

New Mexico Public Regulation Commission   http://www.nmprc.state.nm.us/id.htm             
888 427-5772 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

New York N.Y. Ins. Law 
3224 

Payment must 
be made 
within 45 days 
of receipt. 

Interest: A rate 
set by the 
commissioner 
of taxation and 
finance for 
corporate taxes 
or 12% per 
annum.                    
Civil 
administrative 
penalties not 
available to the 
Commissioner 
where insurer 
is 98% 
compliant. 

Regulation 
Title 11, 
Chapter IX, 
Subpart 217-
1.2 provides a 
list of the 
fields on the 
CMS 1500 
from that 
must be 
completed. 

New York State Insurance Department   http://www.ins.state.ny.us/                             
800 342-3736 

North Car. N.C. Gen. Stat. 
58-3-225(b)(1) 

Paper and 
electronic 
claims shall 
be paid within 
30 calendar 
days of 
receipt, 
denied, or the 
claimant shall 
be notified 
that that the 
proof of loss 
was 
inadequate, 
that the claim 
was not 
submitted as 
required by 
the insurer, 
that 
coordination 

18% per year.  North Carolina Department of Insuramce   http://www.ncdoi.com/                                   
919 807-6860 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

of benefits 
information is 
needed or that 
the claim is 
pending based 
on 
nonpayment 
of fees or 
premiums.  
(Instructions 
are provided 
on the 
required 
contents of 
each 
notification.) 

North 
Dakota 

N.D. Cent. 
Code 26.1-36-
37.1 

All claims to 
be paid within 
15 days. 

 Regulations 
45-06-03.1-
01 to -03 
describes the 
required 
claim form 
formats, using 
CPT Codes, 
HCFA forms, 
etc. 

North Dakota Insurance Department   http://www.nd.gov/ndins/default.asp                 
701 328-2440   800 247-0560 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Ohio Ohio Rev. 
Code Ann. 
3901.381(B)(1)  
See also 
3901.38 to 
3901.3814 

Claim to be 
paid within 30 
days if 
submitted on a 
standard form 
approved by 
the 
superintendent 
of insurance. 

18% per year. 
(3901.389)  
Administrative 
remedies 
include 
monetary 
penalties, 
ordering the 
payment of 
interest, and 
cease and 
desist orders. 
(3901.3812). 

Regulation 
3901-1-59 
specifies the 
contents of 
the standard 
health claim 
form 
authorized in 
the statute. 
CMS 1500, 
UB-82/UB 
92, CMS 
1450, NCPDP 
and J515 
forms and 
their 
successors are 
approved. 

Ohio Department of Insurance  http://insurance.ohio.gov/Pages/default.aspx                                                                
614 644-2658 

Okla. Okla. Stat. 
Ann. tit. 36 
Sec. 1219(A) 

Payment must 
be made 
within 45 
calendar days 
of receipt of a 
claim and any 
additional 
information 
and 
corrections.  
Insurer must 
notify within 
30 calendar 
days of the 
need for 
corrections or 
additional 
information.  

10% interest 
annually. 

Yes.  
Essentially, 
the Medicare 
definition 

Oklahoma Insurance Department   http://www.ok.gov/oid/                                   405 
521-2828   800 522-0071 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Oregon Or. Rev. Stat. 
743.866(1) 
Renumbered 
743.911 (2007) 

Clean claim to 
be paid or 
denied within 
30 calendar 
days 
following 
receipt. 

Interest at 12% 
per annum 
under 
(743.913) 

Yes. 
Regulation 
836-080-0080 
uses the 
Medicare 
definition. 

Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services   
http://insurance.oregon.gov/                                   503 947-7980 

Penn. 40 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. Ann. 
991.2166(a)  
(or 31 Pa. 
Code Section 
154.18) 

Payment must 
be made 
within 45 
days. 

10% interest 
annually. 

 Pennsylvania Insurance Department   
http://www.insurance.pa.gov/portal/server.pt/community/insurance_department/4679                                                                                         
717 787-2317 

Rhode 
Island 

R.I. Gen. Laws 
27-18-61(a) 

"Complete" 
electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
days, paper 
within 40.  
Each health 
plan is to 
establish a 
written 
standard of 
what 
constitutes a 
"complete 
claim." 

Interest: 12% 
per annum, 
provided, 
however, that 
a plan in 
"substantial 
compliance" 
(i.e., pays on-
time 95% of 
the time) is not 
obligated to 
pay such 
interest. 

 Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Insurance Division   
http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/divisions/insurance/                                                               
401 462-9500 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

South Car. S.C. Code 
Ann. 38-59-
200 to 38-59-
270 

Payment 
within 20 
business days 
of receipt of 
all 
information 
needed to 
constitute a 
clean 
electronic 
claim, 40 
business days 
for a clean 
paper claim. 

Interest: The 
legal rate of 
interest under 
34-31-20(A) 
(i.e., 8 /34%).  
Director 
authorized to 
enforce via 
cease and 
desist orders, 
orders to 
correct errant 
business 
practices and 
to make 
payments, 
including 
interest, in 
addition to 
fines and 
license 
suspensions or 
revocations 
under 38-2-10. 

Yes.  A multi-
component 
definition is 
provided in 
38-59-210. 

South Carolina Department of Insurance   http://www.doi.sc.gov/                                                                  
803 737-6160 

South 
Dakota 

S.D. Codified 
Laws 58-12-20 

Electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
days, paper 
claims within 
45 days. 

Section 58-12-
21 specifically 
indicates that 
there is no 
private right of 
action. 

Yes. Defined 
in 58-12-19 
as one 
requiring no 
additional 
information 
to determine 
eligibility or 
to adjudicate 
the claim. 

South Dakota Division of Insurance   
http://www.state.sd.us/drr2/reg/insurance/index.html                                                                   
605 773-3563 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Tennessee Tenn. Code 
Ann. 56-7-109 

Clean 
electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 21 
days, 30 days 
for paper 
claims. 

1% per month 
until the claim 
is paid.                    
In addition, the 
Commissioner 
is authorized 
to issue cease 
and desist 
orders, 
conduct 
examinations 
and levy 
monetary 
penalties for 
the following 
levels of 
compliance:                    
<95%, 
$10,000                          
<85%, up to 
$100,000  
<60%, up to 
$200,000 

Yes. Uses 
Medicare 
definition, but 
adds some 
language.  
Also specifies 
what is not a 
clean claim. 

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance   
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce/index.shtml                                                          
615 741-2241 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Texas Tex. Ins. Code 
Ann. Sections 
1301.131 to 
1301.151 

Clean 
electronic 
claims from 
preferred 
providers (i.e., 
within an 
HMO) must 
be paid within 
30 days of 
receipt, 45 for 
non-electronic 
claims. 

If the balance 
of the claim is 
paid after the 
91st day after 
it is due under 
statute, an 
18% annual 
interest rate 
applies.  
Before then 
there are three 
steps of 
gradually 
increasing 
penalties based 
on the lesser of 
a specific 
dollar penalty 
amount or a 
percentage of 
amounts 
related to the 
HMO contract.  
(See Section 
1301.137) 

Yes. Section 
1301.131 
specifies the 
standards for 
electronic and 
non-
electronic 
claims in 
terms of 
federal and 
national 
"forms" 
(CMS 1500, 
etc.). 

Texas Department of Insurance   http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/                                    
800 252-3439  
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Utah Utah Code 
Ann. 31A-26-
301.6(3)(a) 

Within 30 
days of receipt 
of a written 
claim, the 
insurer shall 
pay the claim 
or deny the 
claim and 
provide a 
written 
explanation. 

Interest rate 
based on a 
formula:  For 
the first 90 
days after due, 
the formula is: 
(the claim 
amount x the 
number of 
days late x 
.1%).  
Thereafter, the 
formula is: 
(the claim 
amount x the 
total number 
of days late 
beyond the 90-
day point x the 
legal rate of 
interest under 
15-1-1).  The 
state's legal 
interest rate is 
currently 10%. 

  Utah Insurance Department   http://www.insurance.utah.gov/                                    
801 538-3800 

Vermont Vt. Stat. Ann. 
Title 18 
Section 9418 

No less than 
30 days 
following 
receipt of a 
claim the 
insurer shall 
pay the claim 
or notify the 
claimant it is 
contested or 
denied. 

Interest: 12% 
per annum. 

 Vermont Department of Baking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care 
Administration, Insurance Division   
http://www.bishca.state.vt.us/InsurDiv/insur_index.htm                                                      
802 828-3301 



 

 65 

A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Virginia Va. Code Ann. 
38.2-3407.15 

Claims to be 
paid within 40 
days of receipt 
unless there is 
an issue with 
the claim. 

Computed 
daily at legal 
rate of interest.  
(See Section 
38.2-4306.1) 

Yes. Based 
on Medicare 
definition, but 
also includes 
claims where 
insurer fails 
to notify of 
defects. 

Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance   
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/boi/index.htm                                                              
804 371-9741 

Washington Wash. Admin. 
Code 284-43-
321 

Carriers shall 
pay providers 
as soon as 
practical 
subject to the 
following 
minimum 
standards:  
95% of clean 
claims shall 
be paid within 
30 days of 
receipt; 95% 
of all claim 
shall be paid 
or denied 
within 60 
days. 

Interest: 1% 
per month , 
calculated 
monthly as 
simple interest 
prorated for 
any portion of 
a month. 

Yes. Used 
Medicare 
definition. 

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner   
http://www.insurance.wa.gov/                          360 725-7000   800 526-6900 

West Vir. W. Va. Code 
Ann. 33-45-2 

Clean 
electronic 
claims to be 
paid within 30 
days of 
receipt, clean 
manual claims 
within 40. 

Interest: 10% 
per annum. 

Yes. Based 
on Medicare 
definition, but 
also includes 
claims where 
insurer fails 
to notify of 
defects. 
Section 33-
45-1 

West Virginia Insurance Commission   http://www.wvinsurance.gov/                                    
304 558-3354 
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A Compendium of State Prompt Pay Statutes  

State 
Statute 
Citation Timeframes Penalties 

Clean Claim 
Definition State Contact Information 

Wisconsin Wis. Stat. Ann. 
628.46(1) 

Claim to be 
paid within 30 
days. 

12% per 
annum 

  Wisconsin Commissioner of Insurance  http://oci.wi.gov/                                            
608 266-3585 

Wyoming Wyo. Stat. 
Ann. 26-15-
124(a) 

Claims to be 
rejected or 
accepted and 
paid within 45 
days after 
receipt. 

1Interest: 10% 
per year.. 

 Wyoming Insurance Department   http://insurance.state.wy.us/                                   
307 777-7401 

 

 



 

 67 

Appendix A2 

Clean Claim Definitions 
 
 
Alabama 

(1) CLEAN ELECTRONIC CLAIM. The transmission of data for purposes of payment of 
covered health care expenses that is submitted to an insurer, health service corporation, or health 
benefit plan which contains substantially all of the required data elements necessary for accurate 
adjudication, without obtaining additional information from the provider of the service or from a 
third party, in an electronic data format specified by the insurer's, health service corporation's, or 
health benefit plan's published filing requirements. In no event shall an insurer, health service 
corporation, or health benefit plan require that the health care provider submit data elements in 
excess of those required on the standard electronic health insurance claim format designated by 
Section 27-1-16 as a condition to the acceptance and processing of an initial claim as a clean 
claim. 

(2) CLEAN WRITTEN CLAIM. A claim for payment of covered health care expenses that is 
submitted to an insurer, health service corporation, or health benefit plan on the claim form of 
the insurer, health service corporation, or health benefit plan which contains substantially all of 
the required data elements necessary for accurate adjudication, without obtaining additional 
information from the provider of the service or from a third party. In no event shall an insurer, 
health service corporation, or health benefit plan require that the health care provider submit 
information or data elements in excess of those required on the standard health insurance claim 
form designated by Section 27-1-16 as a condition to the acceptance and processing of an initial 
claim as a clean claim. 

http://law.justia.com/alabama/codes/20286/27-1-17.html 

 

 

 

 

http://law.justia.com/alabama/codes/20286/27-1-17.html�
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Alaska 

A claim that does not have a defect or impropriety, including a lack of any required 
substantiating documentation, or a particular circumstance requiring special treatment that 
prevents timely payment of the claim; 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folio.asp 

 
Arizona  20-3101 
 
A written or electronic claim for health care services or benefits that may be processed without 
obtaining additional information, including coordination of benefits information, from the health 
care provider, the enrollee or a third party, except in cases of fraud. 
 
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/20/03101.htm&Title=20&DocTy
pe=ARS 
 
Arkansas 
 
A claim for payment of health care expenses that is Submitted on a HCFA 1500, on a UB92, in a 
format required by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 ("HIPAA"), 
or on the carrier's standard claim form with all required fields completed in accordance with the 
Health Carrier's published claim filing requirements. A Clean Claim shall not include a claim (1) 
for payment of expenses incurred during a period of time for which premiums are delinquent, (2) 
for benefits under a Medicare supplement policy if the claim is not accompanied by an 
explanation of Medicare benefits or the Explanation of Medicare Benefits ("EOMB") has not 
been otherwise received by the Health Carrier, or (3) for which the Health Carrier needs 
additional information in order to resolve one or more of the issues listed in Subsection 13(b) of 
this rule.  
 
http://www.bing.com/search?q=Arkansas+Rule+and+Regulation+43&src=IE-Address 
 
 
California  
 
Complete claim. 
 
A paper claim from an institutional provider shall be deemed complete upon submission of a 
legible emergency department report and a completed UB 92 or other format adopted by the 
National Uniform Billing Committee, and reasonable relevant information requested by the plan 
within 30 working days of receipt of the claim. An electronic claim from an institutional provider 
shall be deemed complete upon submission of an electronic equivalent to the UB 92 or other 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folio.asp�
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/20/03101.htm&Title=20&DocType=ARS�
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/20/03101.htm&Title=20&DocType=ARS�
http://www.bing.com/search?q=Arkansas+Rule+and+Regulation+43&src=IE-Address�
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format adopted by the National Uniform Billing Committee, and reasonable relevant information 
requested by the plan within 30 working days of receipt of the claim. However, if the plan 
requests a copy of the emergency department report within the 30 working days after receipt of 
the electronic claim from the institutional provider, the plan may also request additional 
reasonable relevant information within 30 working days of receipt of the emergency department 
report, at which time the claim shall be deemed complete. A claim from a professional provider 
shall be deemed complete upon submission of a completed HCFA 1500 or its electronic 
equivalent or other format adopted by the National Uniform Billing Committee, and reasonable 
relevant information requested by the plan within 30 working days of receipt of the claim. The 
provider shall provide the plan reasonable relevant information within 10 working days of 
receipt of a written request that is clear and specific regarding the information sought. If, as a 
result of reviewing the reasonable relevant information, the plan requires further information, the 
plan shall have an additional 15 working days after receipt of the reasonable relevant information 
to request the further information, notwithstanding any time limit to the contrary in this section, 
at which time the claim shall be deemed complete. 

 
 (d) This section shall not apply to claims about which there is evidence of fraud and 
misrepresentation, to eligibility determinations, or in instances where the plan has not been 
granted reasonable access to information under the provider's control. A plan shall specify, in a 
written notice sent to the provider within the respective 30- or 45-working days of receipt of the 
claim, which, if any, of these exceptions applies to a claim. 
 
 
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1367-
1374.19 
 
 
Colorado  
10-16-106.5.  Prompt payment of claims – legislative declaration  
 
2) As used in this section, "clean claim" means a claim for payment of health care expenses that 
is submitted to a carrier on the uniform claim form adopted pursuant to section 10-16-106.3 with 
all required fields completed with correct and complete information, including all required 
documents. A claim requiring additional information shall not be considered a clean claim and 
shall be paid, denied, or settled as set forth in paragraph (b) of subsection (4) of this section. 
"Clean claim" does not include a claim for payment of expenses incurred during a period of time 
for which premiums are delinquent, except to the extent otherwise required by law. 
 
http://www.michie.com/colorado/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp= 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1367-1374.19�
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=01001-02000&file=1367-1374.19�
http://www.michie.com/colorado/lpext.dll?f=FifLink&t=document-frame.htm&l=jump&iid=COCODE&d=10-16-106.3&sid=6e0451f1.601eaa37.0.0#JD_10-16-1063�
http://www.michie.com/colorado/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp�
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Delaware 

4.0 Clean Claim Defined4.1 A nonelectronic claim by a provider, other than an institutional 
provider, is a clean claim if the claim is submitted using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) Form 1500 or, if approved by the Commissioner or CMS, a successor to that 
form. Data for all relevant fields must be provided in the format called for by the form in order 
for the claim to constitute a clean claim. 

4.2 A nonelectronic claim submitted by an institutional provider is a clean claim if the claim is 
submitted using the CMS Form UB-92, or, if approved by the Commissioner or CMS, a 
successor to that form. Data for all relevant fields must be provided in the format called for by 
the form in order for the claim to constitute a clean claim. 

4.3 An electronic claim by a provider, including an institutional provider, is a clean claim if the 
claim is submitted using the appropriate ASC X12N 837 format in compliance with the standards 
specified at 45 CFR §162.1102 or any successor regulation. 

4.4 If allowed by federal law, a carrier and provider may agree by contract to use fewer data 
elements than are required by the relevant form or format. 

4.5 An otherwise clean claim submitted by a provider that includes additional fields, data 
elements, or other information not required by this Regulation is considered to be a clean claim 
for the purposes of this Regulation. 

4.6 A claim by a policyholder that is submitted in the carrier’s standard form using information 
called for by said forms, with all of the required fields completed, is a clean claim. 

4.7 Any claim submitted by a provider or policyholder that includes an unspecified, unclassified 
or miscellaneous code or data element to constitute a clean claim shall also include appropriate 
supporting documentation or narrative which explains the unspecified, unclassified or 
miscellaneous code and describes the diagnosis and treatment or service rendered. 

4.8 A claim for the same health care service provided to a particular individual on a particular 
date of service that was included in a previously submitted claim is a duplicate claim and does 
not constitute a clean claim. 

http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title18/1300/1310.shtml#TopOfPage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title18/1300/1310.shtml#TopOfPage�
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District of Columbia 
31-3131 
 

A claim that has no material defect or impropriety, including any lack of reasonably 
required substantiating documentation, which substantially prevents timely payment from being 
made on the claim or with respect to a health insurer that has failed timely to notify the person 
submitting the claim of any such defect or impropriety in accordance with § 31-3132. For the 
purposes of this paragraph, the term "material defect" means an imperfection in the submission 
of a claim consisting in the omission of information that is essential to process the claim in 
accordance with the health plan's published claim filing requirements. The requirements for 
electronic claim submissions shall be consistent with regulations promulgated by Secretary of 
Health and Human Services pursuant to section 1173 of the Social Security Act, approved 
August 14, 1935 (110 Stat. 2024; 42 U.S.C.S. § 1320d-2).  
 
http://www.michie.com/dc/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=dccode 
 
Hawaii 
 
§431:13-108  Reimbursement for accident and health or sickness insurance benefits.   
 
     "Clean claim" means a claim in which the information in the possession of an entity 
adequately indicates that:   
 
     (1)  The claim is for a covered health care service provided by an eligible health care provider 

to a covered person under the contract; 
     (2)  The claim has no material defect or impropriety; 
     (3)  There is no dispute regarding the amount claimed; and 
     (4)  The payer has no reason to believe that the claim was submitted fraudulently. 
 
The term does not include: 
 
   (1)  Claims for payment of expenses incurred during a period of time when premiums were 

delinquent; 
    (2)  Claims that are submitted fraudulently or that are based upon material misrepresentations; 
    (3)  Medicaid or Medigap claims; and 
   (4)  Claims that require a coordination of benefits, subrogation, or preexisting condition 

investigations, or that involve third-party liability 
  
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol09_Ch0431-0435E/HRS0431/HRS_0431-0013-
0108.htm 
 

http://www.michie.com/dc/lpext.dll?f=FifLink&t=document-frame.htm&l=jump&iid=2ff440cd.3141b80d.0.0&nid=6895#JD_31-3132�
http://www.michie.com/dc/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=dccode�
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol09_Ch0431-0435E/HRS0431/HRS_0431-0013-0108.htm�
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol09_Ch0431-0435E/HRS0431/HRS_0431-0013-0108.htm�
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Indiana 

IC 27-8-5.7-2 "Clean claim" defined 
  

Sec. 2. As used in this chapter, "clean claim" means a claim submitted by a provider for payment 
under an accident and sickness insurance policy issued in Indiana that has no defect, impropriety, 
or particular circumstance requiring special treatment preventing payment. 
As added by P.L.162-2001, SEC.5. 

http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title27/ar8/ch5.7.html 

Iowa  

191—15.32  
507B 
Prompt payment of certain health claims. 
Effective July 1, 2002, the following provisions apply:  
15.32(1) 
Definitions and scope. 

a. For purposes of this rule, the following definitions apply:  
"Circumstance requiring special treatment"  
means:  

1. A claim that an insurer has a reasonable basis to suspect may be fraudulent or that fraud 
or a material misrepresentation may have occurred under the benefit certificate or policy 
or in obtaining such certificate or policy; or  

2. A matter beyond the insurer’s control, such as an act of God, insurrection, strike or other 
similar labor dispute, fire or power outage or, for a group-sponsored health plan, the 
failure of the sponsoring group to pay premiums to the insurer in a timely manner; or  

3. Similar unique or special circumstances which would reasonably prevent an insurer from 
paying an otherwise clean claim within 30 days.  

"Clean claim" means clean claim as defined in 2001 Iowa Acts, chapter 69, section 8(2b). 
 
"Coordination of benefits for third-party liability" means a claim for benefits by a covered 
individual who has coverage under more than one health benefit plan. 
 
"Insurer" means insurer as defined in 2001 Iowa Acts, chapter 69, section 7. 
 
"Properly completed billing instrument"  
means:  

1. In the case of a health care provider that is not a health care professional: 

http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic/code/title27/ar8/ch5.7.html�
http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ar/iac/1910___insurance%20division%20__5b191__5d/0150___chapter%2015%20unfair%20trade%20practices/_r_1910_0150_0320.xml?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0$q=$uq=1$x=$up=1$nc=7839�
http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ar/iac/1910___insurance%20division%20__5b191__5d/0150___chapter%2015%20unfair%20trade%20practices/_r_1910_0150_0320.xml?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0$q=$uq=1$x=$up=1$nc=7839�
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• The Health Care Finance Administration (HCFA) Form 1450, also known as Form UB-
92, or similar form adopted by its successor Centers for Medicare/Medicaid Services 
(CMS) as adopted by the National Uniform Billing Committee (NUBC) with data 
element usage prescribed in the UB-92 National Uniform Billing Data Elements 
Specification Manual, or  

• The electronic format for institutional claims adopted as a standard by the Secretary of 
Health and Human Services pursuant to Section 1173 of the Social Security Act; or  

2. In the case of a health care provider that is a health care professional: 

• The HCFA Form 1500 paper form or its successor as adopted by the National Uniform 
Claim Committee (NUCC) and further defined by the NUCC in its implementation guide; 
or  

• The electronic format for professional claims adopted as a standard by the Secretary of 
Health and Human Services pursuant to Section 1173 of the Social Security Act; and  

3. Any other information reasonably necessary for an insurer to process a claim for benefits 
under the benefit certificate or policy with the insured contract. 

This rule is intended to implement 2001 Iowa Acts, chapter 69, section 8, and Iowa Code section 
507B.4 as amended by 2001 Iowa Acts, chapter 69. 
http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ar/iac?f=templates&fn=default.htm 
 
Kansas 
40-2441 
Chapter 40.--INSURANCE  
Article 24.--REGULATION OF CERTAIN TRADE PRACTICES  

      40-2441.   Same; definitions. As used in K.S.A. 40-2440 through 40-2442 and 
amendments thereto:  
      (a)   The term "clean claim" means a claim that has no defect or impropriety, including 
any lack of required substantiating documentation, or particular circumstance requiring 
special treatment that prevents timely payment from being made on the claim under the 
Kansas health care prompt payment act.  
      

http://www.kslegislature.org/legsrv-statutes/getStatute.do 
 
Kentucky 
 304.17A-700 Definitions for KRS 304.17A-700 to 304.17A-730 and KRS 205.593, 304.14-
135, and 304.99-123.  
As used in KRS 304.17A-700 to 304.17A-730 and KRS 205.593, 304.14-135, and 304.99-123:  
 
 (3) "Clean claim" means a properly completed billing instrument, paper or electronic, including 
the required health claim attachments, submitted in the following applicable form:  
(a) A clean claim from an institutional provider shall consist of:  
1. The UB-92 data set or its successor submitted on the designated paper or electronic format as 
adopted by the NUBC;  

http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ar/iac/1910___insurance%20division%20__5b191__5d/0150___chapter%2015%20unfair%20trade%20practices/_r_1910_0150_0320.xml?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0$q=$uq=1$x=$up=1$nc=7839�
http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ar/iac/1910___insurance%20division%20__5b191__5d/0150___chapter%2015%20unfair%20trade%20practices/_r_1910_0150_0320.xml?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0$q=$uq=1$x=$up=1$nc=7839�
http://search.legis.state.ia.us/nxt/gateway.dll/ar/iac?f=templates&fn=default.htm�
http://www.kslegislature.org/legsrv-statutes/getStatute.do�
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2. Entries stated as mandatory by the NUBC; and  
3. Any state-designated data requirements determined and approved by the Kentucky State 
Uniform Billing Committee and included in the UB-92 billing manual effective at the time of 
service.  
(b) A clean claim for dentists shall consist of the form and data set approved by the American 
Dental Association.  
(c) A clean claim for all other providers shall consist of the HCFA 1500 data set or its successor 
submitted on the designated paper or electronic format as adopted by the National Uniform 
Claims Committee.  
(d) A clean claim for pharmacists shall consist of a universal claim form and data set approved 
by the National Council on Prescription Drug Programs;  
 
http://lrc.ky.gov/KRS/304-17A/CHAPTER.HTM 
 
Louisiana 
SUBPART B.  MEDICAL CLAIMS 
§1831.  Definitions 

As used in this Subpart, the following terms shall be defined as follows: 
 
 (3)  "Clean claim" means an accepted claim that has no defect or impropriety including 

any lack of required substantiating documentation or other particular circumstance requiring  
 

http://www.legis.state.la.us/lss/lss.asp?doc=509001 
 
Maine 

§2436. Interest on overdue payments  
2-A.    Except as provided in this subsection, for purposes of this section, an "undisputed 

claim" means a timely claim for payment of covered health care expenses under a policy or 
certificate providing health care coverage that is submitted to an insurer on the insurer's standard 
claim form using the most current published procedural codes with all the required fields 
completed with correct and complete information in accordance with the insurer's published 
claims filing requirements. After October 16, 2003 and until October 16, 2005, for a provider 
with 10 or more full-time-equivalent employees, an "undisputed claim" means a timely claim for 
payment of covered health care expenses under a policy or certificate providing health care 
coverage that is submitted to an insurer in the insurer's standard electronic data format using the 
most current published procedural codes with all the required fields completed with correct and 
complete information in accordance with the insurer's published claims filing requirements. This 
subsection applies only to a policy or certificate of a health plan as defined in section 4301-A, 
subsection 7.  
[ 2003, c. 469, Pt. D, §4 (AMD); 2003, c. 469, Pt. D, §9 (AFF) .]  
 
 
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/24-A/title24-Asec2436.html 
  
 

http://lrc.ky.gov/KRS/304-17A/CHAPTER.HTM�
http://www.legis.state.la.us/lss/lss.asp?doc=509001�
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/24-A/title24-Asec2436.html�


 

 75 

Maryland 
 
31.10.1102 

 (4) "Clean claim" means a claim for reimbursement submitted to a third-party payor by a health 
care practitioner, pharmacy or pharmacist, hospital, or person entitled to reimbursement, that 
contains:  

(a) In the case of a health care practitioner or person entitled to reimbursement:  

(i) The data elements required by Regulation .08 of this chapter, and  

(ii) Any attachments requested by the third-party payor pursuant to Regulation .10 of this 
chapter;  

(b) In the case of a hospital or person entitled to reimbursement;  

(i) The data elements required by Regulation .09 of this chapter, and  

(ii) Any attachments requested by the third-party payor pursuant to Regulation .10 of this 
chapter; or  

(c) In the case of a pharmacy or pharmacist, the data elements set forth on the Universal 
Prescription Drug Claim Form or its electronic equivalent.  

 

31.10.11.08 

.08 Essential Data Elements for Clean Claims by Health Care Practitioners or Persons 
Entitled to Reimbursement.  

A. In General. To qualify as a clean claim, a claim submitted to a third-party payor by a health 
care practitioner as provided in Regulation .03 of this chapter, or by a person entitled to 
reimbursement, shall conform to the applicable standard code set and include the following data 
elements:  

(1) Subscriber's plan ID number (HCFA Form 1500, field 1a);  

(2) Patient's name (HCFA Form 1500, field 2);  

(3) Patient's date of birth and gender (HCFA Form 1500, field 3);  

(4) Subscriber's name (HCFA Form 1500, field 4);  

(5) Patient's address (street or P.O. box, city, and zip code) (HCFA Form 1500, field 5);  
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(6) Patient's relationship to the subscriber (HCFA Form 1500, field 6);  

(7) Subscriber's address (street or P.O. box, city, and zip code) (HCFA Form 1500, field 7);  

(8) Except in the case of a laboratory issued a license pursuant to Health-General Article, §17-
205, Annotated Code of Maryland, patient status (HCFA Form 1500, field 8);  

(9) Whether the patient's condition is related to employment (HCFA Form 1500, field 10(a));  

(10) Whether the patient's condition is related to an auto accident (HCFA Form 1500, field 
10(b));  

(11) Whether the patient's condition is related to an accident other than an auto accident (HCFA 
Form 1500, field 10(c));  

(12) Subscriber's policy number (HCFA Form 1500, field 11);  

(13) Except in the case of a laboratory issued a license pursuant to Health-General Article, §17-
205, Annotated Code of Maryland, subscriber's birth date and gender (HCFA Form 1500, field 
11a);  

(14) Except in the case of a laboratory issued a license pursuant to Health-General Article, §17-
205, Annotated Code of Maryland, name of the third-party payor (HCFA Form 1500, field 11c);  

(15) Disclosure of any other health benefit plans (HCFA Form 1500, field 11d);  

(16) Patient's or authorized person's signature or notation that the signature is on file with the 
health care practitioner (HCFA Form 1500, field 12);  

(17) Subscriber's or authorized person's signature or notation that the signature is on file with the 
health care practitioner or person entitled to reimbursement, if applicable (HCFA Form 1500, 
field 13);  

(18) Except in the case of a laboratory issued a license pursuant to Health-General Article, §17-
205, Annotated Code of Maryland, date of current illness, injury, or pregnancy (HCFA Form 
1500, field 14);  

(19) Except in the case of a health care practitioner for emergency services, or a laboratory 
issued a license pursuant to Health-General Article, §17-205, Annotated Code of Maryland, 
whether the patient has had the same or a similar illness (HCFA Form 1500, field 15);  

(20) Except in the case of a health care practitioner for emergency services, the name of the 
referring physician or health maintenance organization (HCFA Form 1500, field 17);  

(21) Hospitalization dates related to current services, if applicable (HCFA Form 1500, field 18);  
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(22) Diagnosis codes or nature of the illness or injury (HCFA Form 1500, field 21);  

(23) Date of service (HCFA Form 1500, field 24A);  

(24) Place of service codes for all claims, as designated by HFCA for Medicare (HCFA Form 
1500, field 24B);  

(25) Procedure code (HCFA Form 1500, field 24D);  

(26) Diagnosis code by specific service (HCFA Form 1500, field 24E);  

(27) Charge for each listed service (HCFA Form 1500, field 24F);  

(28) Number of days, time (minutes), start and stop time, or units (HCFA Form 1500, field 24G);  

(29) The carrier-assigned rendering provider number until the National Provider Identifier is 
developed and assigned, if applicable (HCFA Form 1500, field 24K);  

(30) Health care practitioner's or person entitled to reimbursement's federal tax ID number 
(HCFA Form 1500, field 25);  

(31) Patient's account number (HCFA Form 1500, field 26);  

(32) Total charge (HCFA Form 1500, field 28);  

(33) For claims:  

(a) Submitted electronically, a computer-printed name as the signature of the health care 
practitioner or person entitled to reimbursement (HCFA Form 1500, field 31), or  

(b) Not submitted electronically, the signature of the health care practitioner who provided the 
service, or person entitled to reimbursement who provided the service, or notation that the 
signature is on file with the HMO or preferred provider carrier (HCFA Form 1500, field 31);  

(34) Name and address of the facility where services were rendered (if other than home or office) 
(HCFA Form 1500, field 32);  

(35) Health care practitioner's or person entitled to reimbursement's billing name, address, zip 
code, phone number, and, if applicable, carrier-assigned provider number until the National 
Provider Identifier (NPI) is developed and assigned, including a provider number pursuant to 
Health-General Article, §19-710.1(b)(3), Annotated Code of Maryland, (HCFA Form 1500, field 
33); and  

(36) Any other field or essential data element necessary to comply with the applicable standard 
code set.  
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B. Specific Circumstances. In addition to the data elements required by §A of this regulation, to 
qualify as a clean claim, a claim submitted to a third-party payor by a health care practitioner or 
person entitled to reimbursement shall include the following data elements if circumstances exist 
that render the data elements applicable to the specific claim being filed:  

(1) The other insured's or enrollee's name (HCFA Form 1500, field 9) is applicable if the patient 
is covered by more than one health benefit plan;  

(2) The other insured's or enrollee's policy/group number (HCFA Form 1500, field 9a) is 
applicable if the patient is covered by more than one health benefit plan;  

(3) The other insured's or enrollee's date of birth (HCFA Form 1500, field 9b) is applicable if the 
patient is covered by more than one health benefit plan;  

(4) The other insured's or enrollee's plan name (employer, school, etc.) (HCFA Form 1500, field 
9c) is applicable if the patient is covered by more than one health benefit plan;  

(5) The other insured's or enrollee's HMO or insurer name (HCFA Form 1500, field 9d) is 
applicable if the patient is covered by more than one health benefit plan;  

(6) Except in the case of a laboratory issued a license pursuant to Health-General Article, §17-
205, Annotated Code of Maryland, the subscriber's plan name (employer, school, etc.) (HCFA 
Form 1500, field 11(b)) is applicable if the health benefit plan is a group plan;  

(7) The prior authorization number (HCFA Form 1500, field 23) is applicable when prior 
authorization is required;  

(8) A code pursuant to a global contract (HCFA Form 1500, field 24D) is applicable if the claim 
is between parties to a global contract;  

(9) A code established by the Medicaid Program (HCFA Form 1500, field 24D) is applicable if 
the claim is for services rendered pursuant to Health-General Article, §15-103(b)(2), Annotated 
Code of Maryland;  

(10) The modifier code (HCFA Form 1500, field 24(D)) is applicable when a modifier code is 
used to explain unusual circumstances;  

(11) Whether an assignment was accepted (HCFA Form 1500, field 27) is applicable when an 
assignment has been accepted;  

(12) The amount paid (HCFA Form 1500, field 29) is applicable if an amount has been paid to 
the health care practitioner or person entitled to reimbursement submitting the claim, by the 
patient or subscriber, or on behalf of the patient or subscriber; and  
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(13) The balance due (HCFA Form 1500, field 30) is applicable if an amount has been paid to 
the health care practitioner or person entitled to reimbursement submitting the claim, by the 
patient or subscriber, or on behalf of the patient or subscriber.  

C. A third-party payor may not use or require a health care practitioner or person entitled to 
reimbursement to use any field for purposes that are inconsistent with these essential data 
elements or in addition to the applicable standard code set.  

D. A third-party payor may accept a HCFA Form 1500 that includes data elements in addition to 
those set forth in §§A and B of this regulation.  

Maryland (continued) 31.10.11.09 

.09 Essential Data Elements for Clean Claims by Hospitals.  

A. In General. To qualify as a clean claim, a claim submitted to a third-party payor by a hospital, 
or person entitled to reimbursement, shall conform to the applicable standard code set and 
include the following data elements:  

(1) Hospital's, or person entitled to reimbursement's, name, address, and telephone number 
(HCFA Form UB-92, field 1);  

(2) Patient's control number (HCFA Form UB-92, field 3);  

(3) Type of bill code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 4);  

(4) Hospital's, or person entitled to reimbursement's, federal tax ID number (HCFA Form UB-92, 
field 5);  

(5) Beginning and ending date of claim period (HCFA Form UB-92, field 6);  

(6) Patient's name (HCFA Form UB-92, field 12);  

(7) Patient's address (HCFA Form UB-92, field 13);  

(8) Patient's date of birth (HCFA Form UB-92, field 14);  

(9) Patient's gender (HCFA Form UB-92, field 15);  

(10) Patient's marital status (HCFA Form UB-92, field 16);  

(11) Date of admission (HCFA Form UB-92, field 17);  

(12) Admission hour (HCFA Form UB-92, field 18);  



 

 80 

(13) Type of admission (for example, emergency, urgent, elective, newborn) (HCFA Form UB-
92, field 19);  

(14) Source of admission code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 20);  

(15) Patient-status-at-discharge code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 22);  

(16) Medical record number (HCFA Form UB-92, field 23);  

(17) Responsible party name and address (HCFA Form UB-92, field 38);  

(18) Value code and amounts (HCFA Form UB-92, fields 39—41);  

(19) Applicable revenue code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 42) of:  

(a) The Health Services Cost Review Commission, for hospitals located in the State, or  

(b) The National or State Uniform Billing Data Elements Specifications, for hospitals not located 
in the State;  

(20) Revenue description (HCFA Form UB-92, field 43);  

(21) Service date (HCFA Form UB-92, field 45);  

(22) Units of service (HCFA Form UB-92, field 46);  

(23) Total charge (HCFA Form UB-92, field 47);  

(24) Noncovered charges (HCFA Form UB-92, field 48);  

(25) Name of the third-party payor (HCFA Form UB-92, field 50);  

(26) Provider number (HCFA Form UB-92, field 51);  

(27) Release of information (HCFA Form UB-92, field 52);  

(28) Assignment of benefits (HCFA Form UB-92, field 53);  

(29) Estimated amount due (HCFA Form UB-92, field 55);  

(30) Subscriber's name (HCFA Form UB-92, field 58);  

(31) Patient's relationship to the subscriber (HCFA Form UB-92, field 59);  

(32) Patient's/subscriber's certificate number, health claim number, and ID number (HCFA Form 
UB-92, field 60);  
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(33) Treatment authorization code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 63);  

(34) Principal diagnosis code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 67);  

(35) Admitting diagnosis (HCFA Form UB-92, field 76);  

(36) Attending physician ID (HCFA Form UB-92, field 82);  

(37) Other physician ID (HCFA Form UB-92, field 83);  

(38) Signature of the provider representative or notation that the signature is on file with the 
third-party payor (HCFA Form UB-92, field 85);  

(39) Date the bill was submitted (HCFA Form UB-92, field 86); and  

(40) Any other field or essential data element necessary to comply with the applicable standard 
code set.  

B. Specific Circumstances. In addition to the data elements required by §A of this regulation, to 
qualify as a clean claim, a claim submitted to a third-party payor by a hospital, or person entitled 
to reimbursement, shall include the following data elements if circumstances exist that render the 
data elements applicable to the specific claim being filed:  

(1) Covered days (HCFA Form UB-92, field 7) is applicable if Medicare is a primary or 
secondary payor;  

(2) Noncovered days (HFCA Form UB-92, field 8) is applicable if Medicare is a primary or 
secondary payor;  

(3) Coinsurance days (HFCA Form UB-92, field 9) is applicable if Medicare is a primary or 
secondary payor;  

(4) Lifetime reserve days (HCFA Form UB-92, field 10) is applicable if Medicare is a primary or 
secondary payor and the patient was an inpatient;  

(5) The discharge hour (HCFA Form UB-92, field 21) is applicable if the patient was an 
inpatient or was admitted for outpatient observation;  

(6) The condition codes (HCFA Form UB-92, fields 24—30) are applicable if the HCFA Form 
UB-92 manual contains a condition code appropriate to the patient's condition;  

(7) The occurrence codes and dates (HCFA Form UB-92, fields 32—35) are applicable if the 
HCFA Form UB-92 manual contains an occurrence code appropriate to the patient's condition;  
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(8) The occurrence span code and from and through dates (HCFA Form UB-92 field 36) are 
applicable if the HCFA Form UB-92 manual contains an occurrence span code appropriate to the 
patient's condition;  

(9) HCPCS/Rates (HCFA Form UB-92, field 44) are applicable if there is a primary or secondary 
payor;  

(10) A code pursuant to a global contract (HCFA Form UB-92, field 44) is applicable if the 
claim is between parties to a global contract;  

(11) Prior payments (HCFA Form UB-92, field 54) are applicable if payments have been made 
to the hospital by the patient or another payor;  

(12) The employment status code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 64) is applicable if there are payors 
of higher priority than the third-party payor, including workers' compensation;  

(13) The employer name (HCFA Form UB-92, field 65) is applicable if there are payors of 
higher priority than the third-party payor, including workers' compensation;  

(14) The employer location (HCFA Form UB-92, field 66) is applicable if there is workers' 
compensation involvement;  

(15) Diagnoses codes other than the principal diagnosis code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 68—75) 
are applicable if there are diagnoses other than the principal diagnosis;  

(16) Diagnoses codes describing the patient's signs, or presenting symptoms, or both (HCFA 
Form UB 92, field 76) are applicable for services provided in a hospital emergency department;  

(17) The procedure coding methods used (HCFA Form UB-92, field 79) are applicable if the 
HCFA Form UB-92 manual indicates a procedural coding method appropriate to the patient's 
condition;  

(18) The principal procedure code (HCFA Form UB-92, field 80) is applicable if the patient has 
undergone an inpatient or outpatient surgical procedure; and  

(19) Other procedure codes (HCFA Form UB-92, field 81) are applicable as an extension of 
§B(17) of this regulation if additional surgical procedures were performed.  

C. A third-party payor may not use or require a hospital to use any field for purposes that are 
inconsistent with these data elements or in addition to the applicable standard code set.  

D. A third-party payor may accept the HCFA Form UB-92 that includes data elements in 
addition to those set forth in §§A and B of this regulation.  

http://www.dsd.state.md.us/comar/getfile.aspx?file=31.10.11.02.htm 
 

http://www.dsd.state.md.us/comar/getfile.aspx?file=31.10.11.02.htm�
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Michigan 
 
500.2006 Payment of benefits on timely basis; payment of interest in alternative; failure to pay 
claims or interest as unfair trade practice; liability for claim pursuant to judgment; proof of loss; 
inability to pay claim; interest requirements; failure of reinsurer to pay benefits on timely basis; 
effect of inconsistency with certain acts; exceptions; processing and payment procedures; 
notices; violations; fines; definitions.  

Sec. 2006.  

(14) As used in subsections (7) to (13): 

(a) “Clean claim” means a claim that does all of the following: 

(i) Identifies the health professional, health facility, home health care provider, or durable 
medical equipment provider that provided service sufficiently to verify, if necessary, affiliation 
status and includes any identifying numbers. 

(ii) Sufficiently identifies the patient and health plan subscriber. 

(iii) Lists the date and place of service. 

(iv) Is a claim for covered services for an eligible individual. 

(v) If necessary, substantiates the medical necessity and appropriateness of the service provided. 

(vi) If prior authorization is required for certain patient services, contains information sufficient 
to establish that prior authorization was obtained. 

(vii) Identifies the service rendered using a generally accepted system of procedure or service 
coding. 

(viii) Includes additional documentation based upon services rendered as reasonably required by 
the health plan. 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(ykl2ooj1fbddh3i105arya45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&obje
ctName=mcl-500-2006 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(ykl2ooj1fbddh3i105arya45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-500-2006�
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(ykl2ooj1fbddh3i105arya45))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-500-2006�
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Minnesota 
 

62Q.75 PROMPT PAYMENT REQUIRED. 

Subdivision 1.Definitions. 
 

 (b) "Clean claim" means a claim that has no defect or impropriety, including any lack 
of any required substantiating documentation, including, but not limited to, coordination 
of benefits information, or particular circumstance requiring special treatment that 
prevents timely payment from being made on a claim under this section. Nothing in this 
section alters an enrollee's obligation to disclose information as required by law. 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=62Q.75 
 
 
Mississippi 
§ 83-9-5. Policy provisions.    
    (h) A provision as follows:      
     Time of payment of claims:      

 

 

 

 

 

1. A "clean claim" means a claim received by an insurer for adjudication and which requires no 
further information, adjustment or alteration by the provider of the services or the insured in 
order to be processed and paid by the insurer. A claim is clean if it has no defect or impropriety, 
including any lack of substantiating documentation, or particular circumstance requiring special 
treatment that prevents timely payment from being made on the claim under this provision. A 
clean claim includes resubmitted claims with previously identified deficiencies corrected.   

 

  
     A clean claim does not include any of the following:      
 
 

 
 
 
a. A duplicate claim, which means an original claim and its duplicate when the duplicate is filed 
within thirty (30) days of the original claim;    
  
     b. Claims which are submitted fraudulently or that are based upon material misrepresentations;      
 
 

 
 
 
c. Claims that require information essential for the insurer to administer preexisting condition, 
coordination of benefits or subrogation provisions; or    
  

 

 

 
 

 

d. Claims submitted by a provider more than thirty (30) days after the date of service; if the 
provider does not submit the claim on behalf of the insured, then a claim is not clean when 
submitted more than thirty (30) days after the date of billing by the provider to the insured.    

                        http://michie.com/mississippi/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp= 
 
 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=62Q.75�
http://michie.com/mississippi/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp�
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Nebraska 
44-8002  Terms, defined. 

For purposes of the Health Care Prompt Payment Act: 

(2) Clean claim means a claim for payment of health care services that is submitted by a 
Nebraska health care provider to an insurer on a claim form with all required fields completed 
with information to adjudicate the claim in accordance with any published filing requirements of 
the insurer; 

http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=44-8002 
 
 
 
 
New Hampshire 
 
415:6-h Prompt Payment Required 
 
       (a) ""Clean claim'' means a claim for payment of covered health care expenses that is 
submitted to an insurer on the insurer's standard claim form using the most current published 
procedural codes, with all the required fields completed with correct and complete information in 
accordance with the insurer's published filing requirements.  
 
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXXVII/415/415-6-h.htm 
 
New Mexico 

 59A-16-21.1. Health plan requirements.     
     A.     As used in this section:        
 
 

 
 
 
(1)     "clean claim" means a manually or electronically submitted claim from a participating 
provider that:      
  
 
 

 
 
 
(a)     contains substantially all the required data elements necessary for accurate adjudication 
without the need for additional information from outside of the health plan's system;      
  
 
 

 
 
 
(b)     is not materially deficient or improper, including lacking substantiating documentation 
currently required by the health plan; or      
  

 

 

 
 

 

(c)     has no particular or unusual circumstances requiring special treatment that prevent 
payment from being made by the health plan within thirty days of the date of receipt if submitted 
electronically or forty-five days if submitted manually; and      

         http://www.conwaygreene.com/nmsu/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&2.0 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=44-8002�
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXXVII/415/415-6-h.htm�
http://www.conwaygreene.com/nmsu/lpext.dll?f=FifLink&t=document-frame.htm&l=query&iid=e6afbaa.32c7ac30.0.0&q=%5BGroup%20%2759A-16-21.1%27%5D�
http://www.conwaygreene.com/nmsu/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&2.0�


 

 86 

 
 
New York 
11 NYCRR 217-1.2 
 
11 N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. 217-1.2 

OFFICIAL COMPILATION OF CODES, RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE STATE OF 
NEW YORK 
TITLE 11. INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
CHAPTER IX. UNFAIR TRADE PRACTICES 
PART 217. PROCESSING OF HEALTH INSURANCE CLAIMS 
SUBPART 217-1. PROMPT PAYMENT OF HEALTH INSURANCE CLAIMS 
Current through October 15, 2009.  
 

* Section 217-1.2.* Health insurance claim submission guidelines. 
 

(a) A claim for payment of medical or hospital services submitted on paper shall be deemed 
complete if it contains the minimum data elements set forth in this Part. If the minimum data 
elements set forth are not present or accurate, the payer may, but need not, adjudicate the claim if 
the payer can determine, based on the information submitted, whether such claim should be paid 
or denied. Even if the claim is deemed complete, a payer may, pursuant to the provision of 
section 3224-a(b) of the New York Insurance Law, request specific additional information, 
distinct from information on the claim form, necessary to make a determination as to its 
obligation to pay such claim. 

(b) 
(1) In the case of a medical claim submitted on the national standard form known as a CMS 

1500 (previously known as HCFA 1500 [New York State]) and its successors, attached as an 
appendix, (see Appendix 26 of this Title), the claim shall contain at least the items in the 
following fields of the claim form, except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subdivision: 

1a. Insured's I.D. Number 
2. Patient's Name 
3. Patient's Date of Birth and Gender 
4. Insured's Name (Last Name, First Name) 
5. Patient's Address 
9. Other Insured's Name (if appropriate) 
9a. Other Insured's Policy or Group Number (if appropriate) 
9b. Other Insured's Date of Birth and Gender (if appropriate) 
9c. Employer's Name or School Name (if appropriate) 
9d. Insurance Plan Name or Program Name (if appropriate) 
10a. Is Patient's Condition Related to Employment? 
10b. Is Patient's Condition Related to Auto Accident? 
10c. Is Patient's Condition Related to Other Accident? 
11. Insured's Policy, Group or FECA Number (if provided on ID Card) 
11d. Is There Another Health Benefit Plan? 



 

 87 

12. Patient's or Authorized Person's Signature (Can be completed by writing "signature on file" 
where appropriate) 

13. Insured's or Authorized Person's Signature (if appropriate) 
17. Name of Referring Physician or Other Source (if appropriate) 
17a. I.D. Number of Referring Physician (if appropriate) 
18. Hospitalization Dates Related to Current Services (if appropriate) 
21. Diagnosis or Nature of Illness or Injury 
23. Prior Authorization Number (to report ZIP code for ambulance pick-up) (if appropriate) 
24A. Dates of Service 
24B. Place of Service 
24D. Procedures, Services, or Supplies 
24E. Diagnosis Code (refer to item 21) 
24F. $ Charges 
24G. Days or Units (if appropriate) 
25. Federal Tax I.D. Number 
28. Total Charge 
29. Amount Paid (if appropriate) 
30. Balance Due 
31. Signature of Physician or Supplier Including Degrees or Credentials (if not already on file, 

except as required by applicable Federal and State laws) 
33. Personal Identifying Number of the particular practitioner rendering the care plus, if 

practicing in a group, the Identifying Number of the group as well 
(2) For items listed in paragraph (1) of this subdivision with the notation "(if appropriate)", the 

generic nature of the standard claim form produces some instances when the information is not 
relevant in a particular instance. In those cases, the payer shall not insist upon completion of that 
item if the information is not relevant to the situation of that particular practitioner or patient or 
the information will not be used by the payer. If an item is not applicable at all, it should be left 
blank rather than inserting a notation that it is not applicable. 

(c) 
(1) In the case of a hospital claim submitted on the national standard form HCFA 1450 (also 

known as UB-92) and its successors, attached as an appendix (see Appendix 27 of this Title), the 
claim shall contain at least the items in the following fields of the claim form, except as provided 
in paragraph (2) of this subdivision: 

1. Provider Name and Address 
3. Patient Control Number 
4. Type of Bill 
5. Federal Tax Number 
6. Statement Covers Period 
7. Covered Days (if appropriate) (interim bill, etc.) 
8. Non-Covered Days (if appropriate) 
9. Coinsurance Days (if appropriate) 
10. Lifetime Reserve Days (if appropriate) 
11. Newborn Birthweight (if appropriate) 
12. Patient Name 
13. Patient Address 
14. Patient Birthdate 
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15. Patient Sex 
17. Admission Date 
18. Admission Hour 
19. Type of Admission 
22. Discharge Status Code 
42. Revenue Codes 
43. Revenue Description 
44. HCPCS/CPT4 Codes 
45. Service Date 
46. Service Units 
47. Total Charges (by revenue code) 
48. Non-Covered Charges 
50. Payer Name 
51. Provider ID 
54. Other Insurance Payment (if appropriate) 
55. Estimated Amount Due (if appropriate) 
58. Insured's Name 
59. Patient Relationship 
60. Patient's Cert. SSN - HIC - ID No. 
62. Insurance Group Number (if on card) (where appropriate) 
67. Principal Diagnosis Code 
68. Code 
69. Code 
70. Code 
71. Code 
72. Code 
73. Code 
74. Code 
75. Code 
76. Admitting Diagnosis Code 
77. E-Code 
78. DRG # 
79. P.C. 
80. Principal Procedure Code and Date 
81. Other Procedures Code and Date 
82. Attending Physician's ID Number 
84. Remarks (to report ZIP code for ambulance pick-up) (if appropriate) 
(2) For items listed in paragraph (1) of this subdivision with the notation "(if appropriate)", the 

generic nature of the standard claim form produces some instances when the information is not 
relevant in a particular instance. In those cases, the payer shall not insist upon completion of that 
item if the information is not relevant to the situation of that particular practitioner or patient or 
the information will not be used by the payer. If an item is not applicable at all, it should be left 
blank rather than inserting a notation that it is not applicable. 

(d) Nothing in this Subpart shall prohibit a payer from electing to accept some or all claims 
with less information than that specified in the lists set forth in subdivisions (b) and (c) of this 
section. 
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http://weblinks.westlaw.com/result/default.aspx?cnt=Document&db=NY%2DCRR%2DF%2DT
OC%3BTOCDUMMY&docname=344285700&findtype=W&fn=%5Ftop&ifm=NotSet&pbc=4
BF3FCBE&rlt=CLID%5FFQRLT723953457131712&rp=%2FSearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&rs=W
EBL9%2E11&service=Find&spa=nycrr%2D1000&vr=2%2E0 

 

 
Oklahoma 
 
Chapter 1 Insurance code 
Article 12 – Unfair Practices – Fraud – Deception 
Section 1219 – Time for Processing Claims – Notice of Cause of Delay-Interest on Late 
Payment – Proof of Loss – Attorney’s Fee 

2. "Clean claim" means a claim that has no defect or impropriety, including a lack of any 
required substantiating documentation, or particular circumstance requiring special treatment that 
impedes prompt payment; and 

http://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?CiteID=86431 
 
Oregon 

836-080-0080 

Definition, Claims Handling Services; Claims Procedures and Information  

(1) As used in sections 2 and 3, chapter 747, Oregon Laws 2001, "clean claim" means a claim 
under a health benefit plan that has no defect, impropriety, lack of any required substantiating 
documentation or particular circumstance requiring special treatment that prevents timely 
payment. 

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS_800/OAR_836/836_080.html 
 
South Carolina 

SECTION 38-59-210. Definitions.  

 (8) "Clean claim" means an eligible electronic or paper claim for reimbursement that:  

(a) is received by the insurer within one hundred twenty business days of the date the health care 
services at issue were performed;  

(b)(i) when submitted via paper has all the elements of the standardized CMS 1500 or UB 04 
claim form, or the successor of each as either may be amended from time to time; or  

http://weblinks.westlaw.com/result/default.aspx?cnt=Document&db=NY%2DCRR%2DF%2DTOC%3BTOCDUMMY&docname=344285700&findtype=W&fn=%5Ftop&ifm=NotSet&pbc=4BF3FCBE&rlt=CLID%5FFQRLT723953457131712&rp=%2FSearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&rs=WEBL9%2E11&service=Find&spa=nycrr%2D1000&vr=2%2E0�
http://weblinks.westlaw.com/result/default.aspx?cnt=Document&db=NY%2DCRR%2DF%2DTOC%3BTOCDUMMY&docname=344285700&findtype=W&fn=%5Ftop&ifm=NotSet&pbc=4BF3FCBE&rlt=CLID%5FFQRLT723953457131712&rp=%2FSearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&rs=WEBL9%2E11&service=Find&spa=nycrr%2D1000&vr=2%2E0�
http://weblinks.westlaw.com/result/default.aspx?cnt=Document&db=NY%2DCRR%2DF%2DTOC%3BTOCDUMMY&docname=344285700&findtype=W&fn=%5Ftop&ifm=NotSet&pbc=4BF3FCBE&rlt=CLID%5FFQRLT723953457131712&rp=%2FSearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&rs=WEBL9%2E11&service=Find&spa=nycrr%2D1000&vr=2%2E0�
http://weblinks.westlaw.com/result/default.aspx?cnt=Document&db=NY%2DCRR%2DF%2DTOC%3BTOCDUMMY&docname=344285700&findtype=W&fn=%5Ftop&ifm=NotSet&pbc=4BF3FCBE&rlt=CLID%5FFQRLT723953457131712&rp=%2FSearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&rs=WEBL9%2E11&service=Find&spa=nycrr%2D1000&vr=2%2E0�
http://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?CiteID=86431�
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS_800/OAR_836/836_080.html�
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(ii) when submitted via an electronic transaction, uses only permitted standard code sets and has 
all the elements of the standard electronic formats as required by the Health Insurance Portability 
and Accountability Act of 1996 and other federal and state regulatory authority;  

(c) is for health care services covered by the health insurance plan and rendered to an insured 
person by a provider eligible for reimbursement under the health insurance plan;  

(d) has any corresponding referral that may be required for the applicable claim;  

(e) is a claim for which the insurer is the primary payor, or for which the insurer's responsibility 
as a secondary payor has been clearly established;  

(f) has no material defect, error, or impropriety that would affect the adjudication of the claim;  

(g) includes all required substantiating documentation or coding;  

(h) is not subject to any particular circumstance that the insurer reasonably believes, subject to 
review by the Department of Insurance, would prevent accurate or timely payment from being 
made on the claim under the terms of the health insurance plan, the participating provider 
agreement, or the insurer's published filing requirements; and  

(i) is under a health insurance plan for which the insurer has been timely paid all applicable 
premiums.  

http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t38c059.htm 
 
South Dakota 
58-12-19.   "Clean claim" defined. As used in §§ 58-12-19 to 58-12-21, inclusive, the term, clean 
claim, means a claim for which there is no need for additional information to determine 
eligibility or adjudicate the claim. The term, clean claim, does not include a claim for payment of 
expenses incurred during a period of time for which premiums are delinquent, except to the 
extent otherwise required by law or a claim for which fraud is suspected. 
 
http://legis.state.sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=58-12-19&Type=Statute 
 
Tennessee 
56-7-109. Definitions — Timely reimbursement of health insurance claims. —     
     (a)  Definitions.  As used in this section:    

 

 

 

 

 

     (1)  (A)  “Clean claim” means a claim received by a health insurance entity for adjudication 
that requires no further information, adjustment or alteration by the provider of the services in 
order to be processed and paid by the health insurer. A claim is clean if it has no defect or 
impropriety, including any lack of any required substantiating documentation, or particular 
circumstance requiring special treatment that prevents timely payment from being made on the 
claim under this section; 

 

  

http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t38c059.htm�
http://legis.state.sd.us/statutes/DisplayStatute.aspx?Statute=58-12-19&Type=Statute�
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               (B)  “Clean claim” does not include a duplicate claim;     
 
 

 
 
 
          (C)  “Clean claim” does not include any claim submitted more than ninety (90) days after 
the date of service; and  
  
 
 

 
 
 
          (D)  “Clean claim” includes resubmitted paper claims with previously identified 
deficiencies corrected;  
         
http://www.michie.com/tennessee/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=tncode 
 
 
 
Texas 

Sec. 1301.131.  ELEMENTS OF CLEAN CLAIM.  (a)  A nonelectronic claim by a 
physician or health care provider, other than an institutional provider, is a "clean claim" if the 
claim is submitted using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Form 1500 or, if 
adopted by the commissioner by rule, a successor to that form developed by the National 
Uniform Claim Committee or the committee's successor.  An electronic claim by a physician or 
provider, other than an institutional provider, is a "clean claim" if the claim is submitted using 
the Professional 837 (ASC X12N 837) format or, if adopted by the commissioner by rule, a 
successor to that format adopted by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services or the 
center's successor. 

(b)  A nonelectronic claim by an institutional provider is a "clean claim" if the claim is 
submitted using the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Form UB-92 or, if adopted by 
the commissioner by rule, a successor to that form developed by the National Uniform Billing 
Committee or the committee's successor.  An electronic claim by an institutional provider is a 
"clean claim" if the claim is submitted using the Institutional 837 (ASC X12N 837) format or, if 
adopted by the commissioner by rule, a successor to that format adopted by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services or the centers' successor. 

(c)  The commissioner may adopt rules that specify the information that must be entered 
into the appropriate fields on the applicable claim form for a claim to be a clean claim. 

(d)  The commissioner may not require any data element for an electronic claim that is 
not required in an electronic transaction set needed to comply with federal law. 

(e)  An insurer and a preferred provider may agree by contract to use fewer data 
elements than are required in an electronic transaction set needed to comply with federal law. 

(f)  An otherwise clean claim submitted by a physician or health care provider that 
includes additional fields, data elements, attachments, or other information not required under 
this section is considered to be a clean claim for the purposes of this chapter. 

http://www.michie.com/tennessee/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp=tncode�
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(g)  Except as provided by Subsection (e), the provisions of this section may not be 
waived, voided, or nullified by contract. 
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.1301.htm#1301.137 
 
Virginia 

§ 38.2-3407.15. Ethics and fairness in carrier business practices.  

A. As used in this section:  

"Clean claim" means a claim (i) that has no material defect or impropriety (including any lack of 
any reasonably required substantiation documentation) which substantially prevents timely 
payment from being made on the claim or (ii) with respect to which a carrier has failed timely to 
notify the person submitting the claim of any such defect or impropriety in accordance with this 
section.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+38.2-3407.15 
 
Washington 
 
WAC 284-43-321 Provider Contracts—Terms and conditions of payment 
 
     (3) For purposes of this section, "clean claim" means a claim that has no defect or 
impropriety, including any lack of any required substantiating documentation, or particular 
circumstances requiring special treatment that prevents timely payments from being made on the 
claim under this section. 
 
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=284-43-321 
 
West Virginia 
 
§33-45-1. 
Definitions. 
As used in this article:  

 (2) "Clean claim" means a claim: (A) That has no material defect or impropriety, including all 
reasonably required information and substantiating documentation, to determine eligibility or to 
adjudicate the claim; or (B) with respect to which an insurer has failed timely to notify the 
person submitting the claim of any such defect or impropriety in accordance with section two of 
this article.  

http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/33/code/WVC%2033%20%20-%2045%20%20-
%20%20%201%20%20.htm     
 

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/IN/htm/IN.1301.htm#1301.137�
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+38.2-3407.15�
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=284-43-321�
http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/33/code/WVC%2033%20%20-%2045%20%20-%20%20%201%20%20.htm�
http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/33/code/WVC%2033%20%20-%2045%20%20-%20%20%201%20%20.htm�
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