
Survey Questions 

 

DEMOGRAPHICS 

1. Are you licensed as any of the following (check all that apply): 

 General Bail Bond Agent 

 1-5 years  

 5-10 years  

 10-15 years  

 over 15 years 

 Bail Bond Agent 

 1-5 years  

 5-10 years  

 10-15 years  

 over 15 years 

 Surety Recovery Agent 

 1-5 years  

 5-10 years  

 10-15 years  

 over 15 years 

 Other _________________________ 

 

2. Region of the state in which you work (check all that apply): 

 Northeast   

 Northwest 

 Southeast 

 Southwest 

 Central 

 Kansas City Area 

 St. Louis Area 

 

 

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS/PROCESS 

3. Do you think the current Bail Bond system in Missouri needs to be changed:   

 Yes 

 No 

If so, how: 

___________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________ 

 



4. Do you think the General Bail Bond Agent certificate of deposit held by the Department 

should: 

 Remain at $10,000  

 Be increased to $25,000 

 Be increased to $50,000 

 Other ________________ 

 

5. How many hours should be required for a Bail Bond Agent’s initial basic training: 

 Remain at 24 hours 

 Increase to 30 hours 

 Increase to 40 hours 

 Increase to 48 hours 

 Other ____________________________________ 

 

6. In addition to the initial basic training, should a bail bond agent first obtain a temporary 

license for one year and work at least 30 hours a week underneath a supervising bail bond 

agent before being approved a full licensure: 

 Yes 

 No 

 

7. How many years should a bail bond agent be licensed before becoming eligible to hold a 

general bail bond agent license: 

 1 year 

 2 years 

 3 years 

 4 years 

 Other ______________ 

 

8. Should an applicant be allowed to obtain a bail bond license if he/she has been found guilty 

or has pled guilty to a felony: 

 Yes 

 No 

 

9. Should an applicant be allowed to obtain a bail bond license if he/she has been found guilty 

or had pled guilty to a felony within the past 15 years: 

 Yes 

 No 

 



10. Should an applicant be allowed to obtain a bail bond license if s/he pled guilty to a felony 

and received a suspended imposition of sentence: 

 Yes 

 No 

 

11. Should an applicant be allowed to obtain a bail bond license if s/he pled guilty to a felony 

and received a suspended imposition of sentence within the past 15 years: 

 Yes 

 No 

 

ASSIGNMENT 

12. Should a bail bond agent be required to furnish an assignment to the department in the 

amount of: 

 $2,500 

 $5,000 

 None 

 Other _______________ 

 

13. Should a Bail Bond Agent be required to furnish an assignment to the General Bail Bond 

Agent: 

 Yes 

 No 

If so, how much: 

 $2,500 

 $5,000 

 None 

 Other _______________ 

 

14. Should a General Bail Bond Agent be required to provide an assignment to the Department 

for each Bail Bond Agent under his/her authority in the amount of: 

 $2,500 

 $5,000 

 None 

 Other ________________ 

 

RELEASES 

15. Should a Bail Bond Agent be required to obtain a release from his/her current General Bail 

Bond Agent prior to working for a new General Bail Bond Agent (GBA): 

 Yes 



 No 

 

DISCIPLINARY/ENFORCEMENT 

 

16. Prior to posting a General Bail Bond Agent on the unsatisfied forfeiture list should the 

department: 

 Wait six months 

 Have no waiting period for posting 

 Other _______________ 

 

17. Should the department post a General Bail Bond Agent on the department’s unsatisfied 

forfeiture list: 

 Within 30 days of the judgment date 

 Within 90 days of the judgment date 

 Within 180 days of the judgment date 

 Have no waiting period before posting 

 Other ______________________ 

 

18. Should the department wait six months to ensure all judgments have been paid before 

releasing the certificate of deposit back to a General Bail Bond Agent: 

 Yes 

 No 

 

19. Do you think the state of Missouri should set a minimum fee a bail bond agent must charge 

for posting all bonds: 

 Yes 

 No 

If so, what should the minimum fee be: 

 5% 

 7% 

 10% 

 Other __________________ 

20. Should the department create a power of attorney form that each general bail bond agent is 

required to use: 

 Yes 

 No 

 


