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 NOTES AND INSTRUCTIONS (A-N 
APPLY TO ALL FILINGS) 

 

A Required Filings Contact Person: 
 
 

Filing Questions: 
(a) Mary Moon  573-526-5001 or  Mary.Moon@insurance.mo.gov 
(b) Cindy Monroe 573-751-4362 or Cynthia.Monroe@insurance.mo.gov 

Premium Tax Questions: 
   Noland Stuecken 573-526-4986 or Noland.Stuecken@insurance.mo.gov 

B Mailing Address: 
 
 

Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration (DIFP)  
(a) 301 West High Street Room 530, Jefferson City, MO 65101 
(b) PO Box 690, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0690 

C Mailing Address for Filing Fees: 
 
 

Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration 
PO Box 4001, Jefferson City, MO 65101 

D Mailing Address for Premium Tax 
Payments:  

Missouri Department of Revenue 
PO Box 898, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0898 

E Delivery Instructions: 
 
 

All filings must be post marked by the due date. 
 
If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the due date may be extended to the next business day. 

F Late Filings: 
 
 

Each day in which the company fails to file a report or statement is a separate level two violation.  Each level 
two violation may result in a civil penalty or forfeiture of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000), up to an 
aggregate civil penalty or forfeiture of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) per annum for multiple violations. 

G Original Signatures/Signed Jurat 
 
 

Original signatures required on all filings that require signatures.  Must accompany all original and amended 
financial statements.  The following statutes govern the individuals who are authorized to sign the Jurat. 
  HCS & HMO - §354.435 
  Prepaid Dental - §354.720 
  L&H - §376.350 
  Assessment - §377.100 
  Stipulated Premium Life - §377.380 
  Fraternal - §378.626 
  P&C - §379.105 
  Missouri Mutuals - §380.051 
  Extended Missouri Mutuals - §380.482 
  Title - §379.105 
  Chapter 383 companies - §379.105 

H Signature/Notarization/Certification: 
 
 

See G above for information on who has statutory responsibility to sign. 
(a) Document must be notarized. 
(b) Document must be a certified copy. 

I Amended Filings: 
 
 

Amended items must be filed with the NAIC and Missouri within 10 days of amendment, along with an 
explanation of the amendments. Newly signed Jurat pages should accompany all amendments. 

J Exceptions from normal filings: 
 
 

Extensions / Exemptions from filing: 
Domestic  companies are required to make a written request at least 30 days prior to the due date.  
The copy of the Department’s approval of such requests should be filed in lieu of the exempt document(s).  

Consolidated Audit Reports: 
Domestic and foreign companies are required to make a written request at least 30 days prior to the due date.  
Foreign companies are required to provide a copy of the domestic state’s approval of such request.   

K NONE Filings: 
 
 

If a company has nothing to report on a form, please indicate “NONE”  and file the form on or before the due 
date. 

L Filings new, discontinued or modified 
materially since last year: 
 
 

(a) Missouri Barcodes will only be required for Missouri domestics. 
(b) Foreign companies that are not required by their domiciliary state to file with the NAIC must 

submit their entire annual statement to Missouri, such companies may include reinsurers and risk 
retention groups.  

(c) The Application to Renew Certificate of Authority will be mailed with invoices in May. 
(d) If CPA has changed from the prior year, the CPA must be registered with the Department by 

January 1 pursuant to §375.1035 RSMo. 
(e) If actuary has changed from the prior year, the actuary must be registered with the Department 

pursuant to 20 CSR 200-1.1116 (3)(C) for Life & Fraternal companies and annual statement 
instructions for Property & Casualty and Health companies. 

M State Filing Fees Separate invoices will be mailed May 1 along with Application to Renew Certificate of Authority. 
N Health Blank Life and Health companies and Property and Casualty companies filing on the Health Blank please refer to the 

Health Entities checklist located at www.insurance.mo.gov/industry/forms 
O Premium Tax Not required for HMO and Prepaid Dental companies.  Electronic filing only. 
P Report on Internal Control Must be filed regardless of whether any deficiencies noted. 
Q Form B & C Pursuant to §382.100 and 20 CSR 200-11.101.  Filing Fee = $50.00 
R Basket Clause Pursuant to §376.307 - Life and Health companies    §379.080 -  P&C companies 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
General Instructions 

For Companies to Use Checklist 

mailto:Mary.Moon@insurance.mo.gov�
mailto:Cynthia.Monroe@insurance.mo.gov�
mailto:Noland.Stuecken@insurance.mo.gov�
http://www.insurance.mo.gov/industry/forms�


© 2009 National Association of Insurance Commissioners 2 

 
Please Note: This state’s instructions for companies to file with the NAIC are included in this Checklist. The NAIC will 

send mailing labels, and other information, to all companies but will not be sending their own checklist this 
year. 

 
Electronic filing is intended to include filing via the Internet or filing via diskette with the NAIC. Companies 
that file with the NAIC via the Internet are not required to submit diskettes to the NAIC. 

 
Column (1) (Checklist) 
 
Companies may use the checklist to submit to a state, if the state requests it.  Companies should copy the checklist and place an “x” in 
this column when mailing information to the state. 
 
Column (2) (Line #) 
 
Line # refers to a standard filing number used for easy reference. This line number may change from year to year. 
 
Column (3) (Required Filings) 
 
Name of item or form to be filed. 
 
The Annual Statement Electronic Filing includes the annual statement data and all supplements due March 1, per the Annual 
Statement Instructions. This includes all detail investment schedules and other supplements for which the Annual Statement 
Instructions exempt printed detail. 
 
The March .PDF Filing is the .pdf file for annual statement data, detail for investment schedules and supplements due March 1. 
 
The Risk-Based Capital Electronic Filing includes all risk-based capital data. 
 
The Supplemental Electronic Filing includes all supplements due April 1, per the Annual Statement Instructions.  
 
The Supplemental  .PDF Filing is the .pdf file for all supplemental schedules and exhibits due April 1. 
 
The Quarterly Statement Electronic Filing includes the complete quarterly statement data.  
 
The Quarterly Statement .PDF Filing is the .pdf file for quarterly statement data. 
 
The Combined Annual Statement Electronic Filing includes the required pages of the combined annual statement and the combined 
Insurance Expense Exhibit. 
 
The Combined Annual Statement  .PDF Filing is the .pdf file for the Combined annual statement data and the combined Insurance 
Expense Exhibit. 
 
The June .PDF Filing is the .pdf file for the Audited Financial Statements. 
 
Column (4) (Number of Copies) 
 
Indicates the number of copies that each foreign or domestic company is required to file for each type of form. The Blanks (E) Task 
Force modified the 1999 Annual Statement Instructions to waive paper filings of certain NAIC supplements and certain investment 
schedule detail. if such investment schedule data is available to the states via the NAIC database. The checklists reflect this action 
taken by the Blanks (EX4) Task Force. XXX appears in the “Number of Copies” “Foreign” column for the appropriate schedules and 
exhibits. Some states have chosen to waive printed quarterly and annual statements from their foreign insurers and to rely upon 
the NAIC database for these filings. This waiver could include supplemental annual statement filings. The XXX in this column 
might signify that the state has waived the paper filing of the annual statement and all supplements. 
 
Column (5) (Due Date) 
 
Indicates the date on which the company must file the form. 
 
Column (6) (Form Source) 
 
This column contains one of three words: “NAIC,” “State,” or “Company,” If this column contains “NAIC,” the company must obtain 
the forms from the appropriate vendor. If this column contains “State,” the state will provide the forms with the filing instructions. If 
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this column contains “Company,” the company, or its representative (e.g., its CPA firm), is expected to provide the form based upon 
the appropriate state instructions or the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions.. 
 
Column (7) (Applicable Notes) 
 
This column contains references to the Notes to the Instructions that apply to each item listed on the checklist. The company should 
carefully read these notes before submitting a filing.  
 


