
Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND  
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION 
Division 700—Insurance Licensing 

Chapter 8—Title Agencies and Title Agents 
 

PROPOSED RULE 

 
20 CSR 700-8.150 Examination Requirements  

 
PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the examination requirements for title agents and qualified 
principals of title agencies.   

   (1)  Title Agents.  Before an individual may be licensed as a title agent, the applicant must first 
take and pass the Missouri Title Agent Examination, approved by the director, testing both the 
individual’s knowledge regarding title services, title insurance, real estate closings, and title 
insurance statutes and regulations.  The examination must be taken and passed prior to submitting 
an application for a title agent license to the department.   
  (2) Title Agency Qualified Principals.  Before a business entity may be licensed as a title agency, 
the applicant must designate a qualified principal who has taken and passed the Missouri Title 
Agency Qualified Principal examination, approved by the director, testing the individual’s 
knowledge regarding title services, title insurance, real estate closings, and title insurance statutes 
and regulations.  The examination must be taken and passed by the qualified principal prior to 
submitting an application for a title agency license to the department.   

(3) Testing Service.  The department contracts with an independent testing service, which 
administers the examinations referred to in this rule.  In order to take an examination, an individual 
must register and pay the appropriate fee to the independent testing service designated by the 
director.  Instructions may be obtained from the independent testing service or the department. 

(4) Time Limitation.  Once an individual has passed an examination, the applicant has one (1) 
year from the date of the examination in which to submit an application for licensure to the 
department. If an applicant fails to submit an application for licensure to the department within this 
time period, the applicant must take and pass the examination again before the applicant may be 
licensed.  
 
AUTHORITY:  Section 374.045, 381.042 and 381.118, RSMo (2000). 
 
PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than 
five hundred dollars ($500.00) in the aggregate. 
 
PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars 
($500.00) in the aggregate. 
 
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  A public hearing will 
be held on this proposed rule at 10:00 a.m. on February 26, 2008.  The public hearing will be held 
at the Harry S. Truman State Office Building, 301 West High Street, Room 530, Jefferson City, 
Missouri.  Opportunities to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.  
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Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a written statement in support or in 
opposition to the proposed rule, until 5:00 p.m. on February 26, 2008.  Written statements shall be 
sent to Tamara Kopp, Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional 
Registration, P.O. Box 690, Jefferson City, MO 65102. 
 
SPECIAL NEEDS:  If you have any special needs addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act, 
please notify us at (573) 751-6798 or (573) 751-2619 at least five working days prior to the 
hearing. 
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