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MEMORANDUM
TO: All Workers' Compensatic n In;;urance Companies, Self-Insured Employers

Group Trusts and Third-Party Administrators

FROM: Catherine B. Leapheart, Liirec:or
Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

Scott Lakin, Director
Missouri Department of I1suriince

DATE: January 31, 2003

RE: Workers' Compensation Administrative Tax and
Second Injury Fund Surchirge for Calendar Year 2003

As you know, the State of Missouri assesses a workers' compensation administrative tax and
surcharge to maintgis, the fiscal integrity of the Workers' Compensation Administrative Fund and
the Second Injury i ld@ g aendn P@fafdﬁﬁ@of Missouri will
assess a workers' compensation ad ministrative tax of 2.0 percent, and a Second Injury Fund
surcharge of 4.0 percent.

The revenue from the administrative tax is used to fund the administrative expenses of the
Division of Workers' Compensation (Division). State law requires the director of the Division to
estimate the amount of revenue required to administer the workers' compensation program each
year and to determine the rate of tax to be paid in the following calendar year. If the estimated
available balance of the fund on Decemrber 31, of the year the tax rate determination is made falls
below 110 percent of the previous year s expenses, the director must impose a tax not to exceed
2.0 percent. Based on the Division dire:tor's assessment of the fund balance and projected
expenditures, the 2.0 percent tax levy i3 needed for calendar year 2003.

The revenue from the Second Injury Fuid surcharge assessment is used to pay benefits from the
fund. The amount of surcharge assisse 1 must be adequate to generate, as nearly as possible, 110
percent of the amount projected to be jaid from the Second Injury Fund in the ensuing calendar
year, minus the balance contained n the fund at the end of the previous calendar year.

State law requires the director of tlhe D vision to estimate the amount of benefits payable from the
Second Injury Fund during the ensling calendar year and to calculate the total amount of the
annual surcharge to be imposed. Biised on the Division director's assessment of the fund balance
and projected expenditures, this assessment will be set at 4.0 percent for 2003. Self-insured
employers have been placed on the¢ sarie payment plan as insurance carriers. The surcharge
notice received by self-insured emj:loye rs for the March payment will be reconciled in the second
quarter surcharge notice. For more detiils check the Division website under Information for
Employers and Insurers at http://ww ~.dolir.state.mo.us/wc/employers/.

Insurance carriers will continue to use the Second Injury Fund surcharge forms that are available
on the Internet at http://www.dnlir. state.mo.us/wc/forms/forms.htm. To order a mailed
copy, please call (573) 526-5756. ""he “Division will mail self-insured employers their Second
Injury Fund surcharge forms.





