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MEMORANDUM
TO: All Workers’ Compensation Insurance Companies, Self-Insured Employers,

Group Trusts and Third-Party Administrators

FROM: Todd Smith, Director
Missouri Department 6t Labor and Industrial Relations

Linda Bohrer, Acting Director
Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and
Professional Registration

DATE: October 29, 2008

SUBJECT:  Workers’ Compensation Administrative Tax, Administrative Surcharge and
Second Injury Fund Surcharge for the 2009 Calendar Year

As required by FRBSBAGRA ARG LIRORELIIVE e

impose a workers’ compensation administrative tax, administrative surcharge and Second
Injury Fund surcharge. For calendar year 2009, the administrative tax will be 0.5 percent,
the administrative surcharge will be 0.5 percent and the Second Injury Fund surcharge will
be 3.0 percent.

Section 287.690 RSMo authorizes the imposition of an administrative tax not to exceed two
percent. Section 287.716 RSMo authorizes the imposition of an administrative surcharge at
the same rate as the administrative tax. The revenue from the administrative tax and the
administrative surcharge is used to fund the expenses associated with the administration of
the Missouri Workers’ Compensation law.

The revenue generated by the Second Injury Fund surcharge is used to pay benefit and
expense liabilities of the fund. Pursuant to section 287.715 RSMo, the Second Injury Fund

surcharge shall not exceed three percent.

Additional information about the functions and services of the Division of Workers’
Compensation and the Second Injury Fund may be found at www.dolir.mo.gov/we.

The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations and the Department of Insurance, Financial
Institutions and Professional Registration look forward to working with you in 2009. If you have
questions or need additional information, contact the Division of Workers’ Compensation at 888-
837-6069 or the Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration at
800-394-0964.
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